kaosoe

FFG Developer Answered Questions

312 posts in this topic

Developer Answered Questions Episode II

 

Vehicular combat, actions, and starships

Vehicular Maneuvers as Actions

Question asked by  Jegergryte:

My questions concern pilot (planetary/space) checks.

 

1) As vehicle movement is a manoeuvre and doesn't normally require a check unless there's some sort of terrain or navigational hazards, I wonder if the Fly/Drive manoeuvre is "upgraded" to an action when speed, silhouette and terrain enters the equation. Or if such a pilot check is exempt from the skill check = Action convention?

2) This is sort of based on a negative response on the above, that manoeuvres stay as manoeuvres: Does the navigational hazard rules, either setback dice and/or the speed/silhouette rules, also come into play with other manoeuvres that involve movement, like evasive manoeuvres? Stay on target? Accelerate/decelerate? Punch it!? Basically any pilot only manoeuvre which in some way entails ship movement, whether relative to other ships or not.

 

3) Would it be within the intentions of the rules to add terrain modifiers, setback dice only (or silhouette or speed as upgrades too?), to the Gain the advantage action?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

To answer your first question, generally you would “upgrade” the maneuver to an action when piloting is something crucial to the plot, such as piloting through terrain. In this situation, a GM might have the vehicles in question make piloting checks on the first round, then have a chance to shoot one another on the second round (which would also give advantage to the PCs who have the Master Pilot talents). However, if the GM wishes to handle this differently, he is of course free to do so.

 

This should answer your second question. As to your third, it would absolutely be within the intentions of the rules to add terrain modifiers in the form of Setback dice to the Gain the Advantage action, or any other piloting action that might come up (it could conceivably be added to the Copilot action, for example). 

 

Question asked by  Jegergryte:

I guess the following rationale is tied to this quote "In this situation, a GM might have the vehicles in question make piloting checks on the first round, then have a chance to ...": Would a fair interpretation then be that when entering a hazardous area one is required to make a piloting check, which then allows manoeuvres and actions to be performed by the pilot until the end of the next round without further pilot checks (barring moving out of/through the area and using Gain the Advantage)?

 

So, for instance:

I'm flying my YV-545 into a 2 setback dice asteroid field terrain using the fly/drive manoeuvre, this then becomes an action and I make a piloting check.

I could then, for two system and character strain (or the copilot could so that it only requires 2 system strain) perform an Evasive Manoeuvre without this requiring a check (or of course the copilot could attack any targets)?

 

The second round I could perform a Stay on Target manoeuvre and then attack, or accelerate or evade without requiring a pilot check, even when within the hazardous terrain?

The third round then, it seems if I take you very literally, would require a pilot check, whether I'm moving out of the area or still within the area as long as I'm moving, which of course I am, since I haven't decelerated to 0 speed.

 

And one last question concerning Gain the Advantage. Am I being too literal when I interpret that Action to only apply to the Pilot (as the wording specifies), or should it also apply to any and all gunners aboard the starship? Considering the attack will happen in one round (unless you have the Master Pilot talent), the gunners cannot this round pick and choose defensive zone, unless the Pilot has to pick zone now - which opens for the defending starship to move angle deflector shields in between this action and the pilots attack action next round (if the target fails or cannot perform Gain the Advantage).

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Your interpretation of flying through difficult terrain is a fair one. Spending the first round making a piloting check, while performing evasive maneuvers as a maneuver that does not require additional checks, is completely reasonable (after all, your ability or inability to fly through the asteroid field has already been determined, so there's no reason to check it twice in a round). Then in the second round, as the GM has already established that you're flying through terrain, you could fly and fight as normal.

Whether you needed to make another piloting check during the third round is really up to the GM. If the situation is fairly dire (such as the Millennium Falcon flying through the Hoth Asteroid Field) then the GM could require multiple piloting checks to reinforce the idea that just staying in the asteroid field is extremely dangerous. However, if the encounter is over, and the GM feels that there's no need to keep testing, he can simply have one piloting check be enough.

 

The important thing in this situation is to remember that you don't always need to stick with the rules, when doing so could result in a tedious or even ridiculous encounter. If the GM and players like the idea of lots of piloting checks (which increases the odds of failure) then by all means, have them test often. If the GM and players feel that this is slowing down the combat too much, then maybe one piloting check the first time the pilot enters the terrain is enough.

 

To answer your final question; RAW does state that the pilot is the one who benefits from Gain the Advantage, however the GM would be well within his bounds to rule that gunners (especially gunners in a two-seater Y-wing, for example) benefit from it as well.

 

Minion pilots, ships, and system strain.

Question asked by Lupex:

Do starship minions still have system strain? If the answer is no, how can they ever do two starship Maneuvers? And an additional question, can you exchange a starship action for a starship maneuver?

Answered by Sam Stewart:
Starships would be piloted by minions, but they would not be minions themselves. So starships have system strain, even when piloted by minions. However, generally a starship piloted by a minion cannot perform two starship maneuvers unless the minion downgrades their action into a maneuver. If he does so, the second maneuver can also be a starship maneuver.

Remember, the starship itself isn’t an NPC, it’s just a complex tool. It’s the pilot inside that follows the rules for NPCs.

 

Starchip Sensors and Comms

Question asked by Dakkar98

On page 239 it describes Sensors and Comms, and state that Comms have a range equal to that of the sensors.

Is it always tied to that or just initially, and does that work both ways?

If you purchase the Upgraded Comms array attachment does that also increase the range of the ships sensors?

Or is it just supposed to be the Comms?

If you have a weapon with a range greater than your sensors can you not target things outside of your sensors range, or can you and there is just a penalty (Upgraded or increased difficulty, or setback dice)?

Example: YT-2400, Sensors: Short, Upgraded turrets have heavy laser cannons with advanced targeting arrays with sniper shot. Do you have to use the sensors in active mode (to boost them to medium range in a single arc) to be able to utilize the sniper shot mode to hit targets at medium range (in that arc)?

 

Answered by Max Brooke:

Starship Sensors and Comms On page 239 it describes Sensors and Comms, and state that Comms have a range equal to that of the sensors.

Is it always tied to that or just initially, and does that work both ways

 

Increasing the range of a vehicle’s comms does not increase that of its sensors. However, increasing that of its sensors would increase that of its comms.

 

If you have a weapon with a range greater than your sensors can you not target things outside of your sensors range, or can you and there is just a penalty (Upgraded or increased difficulty, or setback dice)?

Example: YT-2400, Sensors: Short, Upgraded turrets have heavy laser cannons with advanced targeting arrays with sniper shot. Do you have to use the sensors in active mode (to boost them to medium range in a single arc) to be able to utilize the sniper shot mode to hit targets at medium range (in that arc)?

 

Sniper Shot already includes an upgrade to the difficulty of the check, which reflects the difficulty of firing beyond optimal range. Further, keep in mind if something is outside of the sensor range of a ship, those aboard the vessel frequently do not know that it is there to shoot at it.

 

However, if they do end up in a situation where they are attempting to fire at something they cannot “see”, without the aid of Sniper Shot or a similar ability, the GM is certainly encouraged to add a number of setback dice to the check to reflect the negative circumstances (in this case, the inability to see the target).

 

Evasive Maneuvers for the Gunner

Question asked by Yepesnopes (Paraphrased):

Evasive maneuvers is clear:

"Executing Evasive Maneuvers upgrades the difficulty of the dice pool once for all attacks made against the ship (...)

 

(...) Executing Evasive Maneuvers likewise upgrades the difficulty of the dice pool once for all attacks made by the ship (...)"

 

but on the other hand Gain the advantage:

"(...) If the check succeeds, the pilot ignores all penalties imposed by his own and his opponent's use of the Evasive Maneuvers starship maneuver until the end of the following round.(...)

(...) In addition, the pilot also chooses which defense zone he hits with his attack. (...)"

 

Does that mean that the gunners of the YT-1300 do not get any benefit from the pilot's Gain the Advantage action?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Actually, any shooting from the ship that has "gained the advantage" benefits from this action, including that of gunners. 

 

Hard Points and Ship Weapons systems

Question asked by Yepesnopes:

In the core book, on page 271, it says "Hard Points Required: 0 if replacing an existing weapon system. 1 if adding a new weapon system. Weapon systems combining two or more weapons always cost 1 hard point, even if replacing an existing weapon system."

I am confused by the last statement.

1st question. If my ship comes by default with a Medium Laser Cannon, and I want to use the Upgrade Weapons attachment to replace the Medium Laser Cannon by a Two Medium Laser Cannons with the Linked 1 quality. Ho many HPs does it cost?

2nd question. If my ship comes by default with a Two Medium Laser Cannons with the linked 1 quality, and I want to use the Upgrade Weapons attachment to replace them by a Two Concussion Missile Launchers with the Linked 1 quality. Ho many HPs does it cost?

3rd question. If my ship comes by default with a Two Medium Laser Cannons with the linked 1 quality, and I want to use the Upgrade Weapons attachment to replace them by Three Concussion Missile Launchers with the Linked 2 quality. Ho many HPs does it cost?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

1. 1 Hard Point.

2. 1 Hard Point.

3. 1 Hard Point.

 

Damage Control

Question asked by Venthrac (Paraphrased):

How does the Damage Control action work. Does it just repair one hull truama  on a success or one hull truama per success. Can you use it more than once? What about for system strain?

Starship Repairs.
 

Answered by Sam Stewart:
The amount of hull trauma Damage Control repairs is equal to the number of successes scored on the check, in the same fashion as a medicine check. If used to repair system strain, it is also equal to the number of successes scored on the check.

To your second point, technically you'd have to make repair checks to fix system strain until repaired. However, with enough "narrative down time" the GM can certainly rule that you fix it without making checks. After all, you'll be able to fix it eventually anyway; it's only interesting to track if you are going to be quickly thrust into another combat encounter or chase.

 

Personal-Scale Talents and Startship Combat

Question asked by Lupex:

You said the sniper shot talent doesn't work in starship/vehicle combat, however the Advanced Targeting Array attachment has Innate Talent (Sniper Shot) as a Modification Option, is this correct?

Answered by Sam Stewart:

To answer your other questions; generally the Sniper Shot Talent shouldn't be used in Starship combat, but in that particular instance, it can be. I apologize that it's not called out, though, I can certainly see the confusion. However, yes, the idea is that in general, the Sniper Shot Talent shouldn't be used with starship scale weapons (because the ranges are that much bigger) but that mod should let you if you get it. I should add, if you'd like your players to use Sniper Shot in Starship Combat, it shouldn't break the game to let them do so. It does decrease the viability of starfighter dogfights, however (when the PC can shoot their opponents before they get in range, it may take some of the challenge out of dogfighting), so just be aware.
 

Closing Range Bands in Planetary Scale

Question asked by Lupex:

You answered a question about slow ships and long range but it still isn't clear how many manuevers it would take a slow ship to move toward something that is at long range (so from long to medium) or away from something?
 

Answered by Sam Stewart:
If you're talking about a Speed 1 ship, it's going to take them 2 maneuvers to move to short range with whatever's in short range. At that point, the long range target is now in medium range of them. Next turn, they can continue to slog slowly forward, spending two maneuvers to move one range band, and now the target's in short range. Finally, the next turn allows them to close the distance. The same principle holds true with faster ships, they just take less time to close the distance."
 

Question by Lupex:

Sorry but I'm still a bit confused about the ship range, so it basically takes a speed 1 ship 2 Maneuvers to cover one range band?

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Glad to hear that clears things up a bit. In regards to your confusion of ship range, yes, it does take a speed 1 ship (or a ship moving at speed 1) 2 maneuvers to cover one range band. It's a really simple way of looking at it. If you were speed 2-4, it would take you two maneuvers to move to medium in one turn, then you'd be within short range, and it would take you one maneuver next turn to move to short. (Or you could spend one maneuver that turn to close one range band, one maneuver next turn to close one range band, and one maneuver in the third turn to close one range band).

 

Executing Vehicle-scale Maneuvers Twice

Question asked by Ceodryn:
1) Can personal combat maneuvers be doubled and stacked by a character during his turn? What about space combat maneuvers?
For example,
Can "guarded stance" be executed twice?
Can "evasive maneuvers" be executed twice?

2) Can "evasive maneuvers" and "stay on target" be executed by a Pilot during the same turn?

3) Are Co-pilot meant to be able to execute all the Pilot Only maneuvers?

For example, a Pilot executes fly/drive, then the Co-pilot executes fly/drive as well. The ship will however gets 2 strains.

Answered by Sam Stewart:
1. Yes, in some cases personal and space combat maneuvers can be "stacked." There are, of course, certain limitations (PCs must obtain the additional maneuver by suffering strain or downgrading their action, and starships must be below a certain silhouette and must suffer system strain). Also, it depends on the maneuver. However, in the cases you list, both can be stacked.

2. Yes, although that's quite tricky flying! In practice, performing both maneuvers basically keeps the odds of success or failure roughly the same (within a few percentage points of original odds of success, discounting other factors), while heightening the chance for a Triumph or Despair.

3. No. Pilot Only means that the person flying the ship is the only one who can do it. That's not the co-pilot (if he was flying, he'd be the pilot, after all).

 

Increasing Defense Zone limits

Asked by Ghostofman

Vehicle defenses (typically provided by shields) are limited to 4 points in any given zone. (EotE CRB pg 228)

Talents like Defensive Driving increase a vehicles defenses in all zones.

Is Defensive Driving intended to allow you to exceed the 4 point cap or is 4 intended to be a hard cap?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The limit of 4 is intended to be a hard cap.

 

Loronar E-9 Explorer

Question Asked by HappyDaze:

Should the "turret-mounted medium laser cannon" on the Loronar E-9 Explorer (from Enter the Unknown) have the Linked 1 quality? If so, should they then be called "turret-mounted twin medium laser cannon"?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The starship profiles are correct, even if their names are a bit off. So yes, the laser cannon should be linked, and no the concussion missiles do not have Slow-Firing.

 

YV-929 Light Freighter

Question asked by HappyDaze:

Should the concussion missile launchers on the YV-929 (from Dangerous Covenants) have Slow-Firing 1?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The starship profiles are correct, even if their names are a bit off. So yes, the laser cannon should be linked, and no the concussion missiles do not have Slow-Firing.

 

Personal Scale combat

Strain and Second Maneuver

Question asked by Dakkar98

During combat, each character gets to perform one maneuver and one action by default. However, if one wanted to gain a second maneuver on the same turn, the Rulebook mentions that this can be achieved most commonly either by downgrading the action (thereby losing it) or by voluntarily suffer two strain. Are these two options mutually exclusive?

 

For example: if a player chooses to voluntarily suffer two strain for a second maneuver, is the character still able to perform their free action, thereby allowing a character to perform up to (a maximum of) two maneuvers, plus the default action, in any one turn?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

You are correct, you can suffer two strain and gain two maneuvers in a turn, plus one action. You cannot perform more than two maneuvers in a single turn, however.

 

Cool or Discipline to recover strain

Question asked by GM Knowledge Rhino:

On page 220 of the Edge of the Empire Core Rule Book it lists a rule about strain recovery. The text reads "At the end of an encounter, each player can make a Simple (-) Discipline or Cool check. Each Success recovers one strain. There is some debate if this means the advantages / triumphs mean nothing in this check (like an initiative check). Is this true?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

That is correct; only successes matter for this check (although the GM is welcome to come up with other benefits for large numbers of Advantage or Triumph)

 

Blast and Minions

Question asked by Darth Pseudonym:

Should a group of minions be treated as a group of individuals who happen to share one wound pool, or as a single entity?
That is to say, if a blast goes off in the middle of a group of minions
-- should each minion, individually, take the blast damage, soak it, and apply the remainder to their shared pool, or
-- does the group as a whole get hit by the blast, take the damage, soak it once, and then apply the remainder (and if so, then does the group being the primary target exclude the group from being affected by the blast)?
Or is there some other methodology?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:
The first option would be more thematically appropriate. That being said, if the minions were particularly spread out (if you had a group of four with two each behind two separate barricades, for example), I'd rule that some of the minions couldn't be hit by the blast damage. It does make grenades quite effective against minion groups; but that's sort of the idea in any case.

 

 

Question asked by Venthrac:
How does blast damage work against minions?
 

Answered by Sam Stewart:
How blast damage works against minion groups depends on whether the minions are engaged with each other or not. If a group of minions is spread out across a room, and I throw a grenade at one, then the Blast quality cannot affect the group. In that case, the grenade deals direct damage to the minion group's combined wound threshold (if it deals 9 damage, and the minion has a soak of 3 and wound threshold of 4, then one minion drops, and the group still has two additional damage. This may represent random flying shrapnel, but could just as easily represent the stress of seeing a comrade killed).

If multiple minions are engaged with each other, then the damage from the Blast quality can do damage to as many additional minions as are engaged with the first minion. (Grenade hits a three minion group who are all engaged with each other. The grenade deals 9 damage, plus 7 blast damage, against the same minions as described earlier. Since the blast damage hits each individual separately, they apply their soak to it in every case, but the damage is still enough to wipe out the entire minion group with 2 damage left over).

All in all, grenades are a great way to take out tight clusters of faceless mooks; as they should be.

 

Stacking Boost Dice

Question asked by Talley Darkstar:
Player A rolled 2 Successes along with 4 Advantages, he gave the 4 Advantages as 2 Boost Dice to Player B . With the 2 Boost Dice, Player B Aimed for his Maneuver and then shot, so the player ended up having 3 Boost Dice to his shooting roll in addition to his regular dice roll of 1 Ability Die and 2 Proficiency dice.

My overall question is, is accumulating that many Boost Dice manipulating the system or is it as what is intended through the rules?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

I don't really see the situation as against the rules. Advantages (and what you spend them on) are meant to be somewhat nebulous, so that the advantages (lowercase) they give to the players make sense to the narrative at the time. I'd say the more important part is that the narrative reason for adding those Boost dice was something that made sense and was fun given the situation.
 
If Player A did this while his character drove the target out of cover and into the open with sustained gunfire, shouting to player B "Take the shot!" and player B slowly but surely lined up his blaster, took a deep breath, and fired, then I'd say that sounds pretty interesting, narrative-wise.
 
The only thing I'd caution against is if your players are always defaulting to Boost dice because they can't think of anything else to do. The first shot could have also triggered a critical hit on the target for example, or any number of other options found in Table 6-2 on page 206. But there are plenty of options that aren't on the table, especially for 4+ Advantages. If you find your players defaulting to tons of Boost dice, next time suggest "well, you can do that....but instead, you could just knock the rival off the gangplank and send him plummeting to his doom/hit the fire extinguisher next to him and cover all the enemies with foam (and give them some Setback dice)/create an opening to grab an incapacitated ally and drag him to safety/attract the attention of a local police patrol, giving the group a distraction to escape.

 

Stacking Cover

Question asked by Lupex:

On page 213 the rules for cover state they you increase a characters defense by 1, however pg 202 states that cover grants ranged defense of 1, which is correct?
 

Answer
The cover action (page 202) is correct

Follow up question by Lupex:

Do you mind if I ask why the change from the Beta?

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The reason we changed defense slightly is we wanted to balance defense with, on the one hand, being useful to the players and allowing them to increase it, with, on the other hand, avoiding really bloated dice pools. We ret-conned the change in the Beta after we decided (post-Beta) to make Sixth Sense and Superior Reflexes not Force talents (leaving them potentially open to more characters in the future). Now armor and cover don't stack, but the "defensive" talents do."

 

Aiming

Question asked by Dakkar98:

Aiming to target a specific item carried, or a specific part of the target. I understand how it is written. The question concerns whether or not you can target a specific item, or a specific part of the target without taking a maneuver (or two to aim). Is it outright impossible to target a specific item, or a specific part of the target unless you have at least the one maneuver to spend or is the base difficulty without using a maneuver for targeting 3 or 4 setback dice, or 1 or 2 upgrades instead of setback dice? What are your thoughts?

 

Thus far we have been allowing the successful targeting of a specific body part to allow a roll on the critical hit table of 40 or less (reroll if higher) that is not an actual critical hit. We did this based on the option to allow the spending of 3 advantages in a similar manner. Is that close to what you intended?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

It isn’t possible to target a specific body part or item without spending at least one maneuver to aim. As for the effects of targeting specific body parts, these are generally narrative in nature, and thus we leave them up to the players and GMs to decide. If you want to put a specific mechanical effect on it you’re more than welcome to, but the intention is to allow for “shooting the bad guy in the kneecaps,” where the damage probably still incapacitates a target, but the player can narrate that it wouldn’t kill them.
 

Two-Weapon Fighting

Question asked by OggDude:

I have a question about two-weapon combat. In many cases, certain skills or certain weapons will have various modifiers applied to them, such as boost dice, setback dice, or the ability to remove setback dice. How are these applied when you use two-weapon combat?

 

Example 1: You're shooting two blasters. One of them has the actuating module, while the other one doesn't. For the first weapon, you add a setback die to all attacks, but not for the second weapon. How would this apply if 1) the first blaster is your primary weapon, or 2) the second blaster is your primary weapon? Or does it matter?

 

Example 2: You're attacking with both a vibroknife and your fists (unarmed). The first uses Melee, the second uses Brawl. For whatever reason (talent, weapon mod, etc), your vibroknife attack removes a setback, and your unarmed adds a boost. How would these features be applied, again, with 1) the vibroknife as your primary, or 2) unarmed as your primary?

 

The same question could go for multiple modifier dice. If one attack adds 2 boosts, and the other adds 1, which applies? If one adds 2 setback, and the other 1 setback, which applies? Or maybe there's a combination of boosts, setbacks, and the ability to remove setbacks, divided out in different numbers between the attacks. How are these situations resolved?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The weapon used sets the pool. The second weapon is only used if you gain two Advantage to trigger the second hit. So only the first weapon sets the pool. So if the second weapon has penalties or bonuses that would affect the pool, such as adding Boost or Setback dice, these would not apply. However, if the second weapon has penalties or bonuses that are applied after the pool has been rolled, then those penalties or bonuses do apply if you trigger the second weapon to hit. So If your second weapon is Accurate, you won't get Boost dice. But if your second weapon has a laser sight that gives you an Advantage on a successful attack, then if you're successful and you trigger the second hit, then you gain the additional Advantage as well.

 

Question asked by Yepesnopes:

Does a character wielding two Ryyk Blades (or two superior vibro swords) gain automatically two advantages with his melee checks? or just one?

Does he gain 2 points of melee defence (one per weapon) or just 1?

 

Answered By Sam Stewart:

Just one advantage, and just one melee defense.

 

Question asked by Jegergryte (Paraphrased):

... <Note from the editor, not sure what Jegergryte asked specifically>...

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

1) You can use Brawl weapons with two-weapon fighting.

 

2) Brawl is intentionally open to interpretation, but yes you can use it with the two-weapon fighting rules as a kind of "flurry of blows". Sam does point out the increased chance of failure doing this however.

 

3) Therefore you can also use two-weapon fighting for a knife and fist/foot attack.

 

 

Question asked by Archon007

Help understanding two weapon fighting. If I am using 2 blasters damage 7 and roll 3 successes with 2 advantages trigger my second weapon, does the 3 successes add damage to both blasters (10 damage for each hit), or just the first blaster, or do I split the successes up?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

To answer your question, the three successes would add +3 damage to both hits with blasters, the same as blast damage, auto-fire, and linked (or any ability that lets you generate multiple hits with one attack). Dual-wielding blasters is more difficult, but the tradeoff is you can do some serious damage to a person. 

 

Multiple Critical Rolls with Autofire

Asked by 2P51:

Can you roll multiple critical hits with a single attack, if the attack lands multiple hits, ie, you get 3 hits on an auto fire attack and theoretically have enough advantages for 3 critical hit results.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Criticals are generated on a "per hit" basis. So if you've got multiple hits, you can have multiple crits, just one per hit.

 

Cybernetics

Stacking of Cybernetics

Question asked by Braendig:

Do Cybernetics stack? If a character were to purchase two +1 agility cybernetic arms, would their agility be increased by 2? What if it were an arm and a leg? Do +1 brawn cybernetics -also- increase the number of cybernetics capable of being implanted on a character? If so, then they're essentially "free" cybernetics -- character starts at 2 brawn, 2 cybernetics available. Add 1 brawn from cybernetics, now brawn 3 with 1 implant, 2 cybernetics available.

 

Answered By Sam Stewart:

Bonuses from multiple cybernetics do stack, to the maximum bonus of 7 for characteristics, and 6 for skills. +1 brawn cybernetics also increase your cybernetics cap.

 

Question asked by Bishop69:

I'm looking for some clarification on cyberware. In an earlier 'question to the developers', you stated that "multiple cybernetics DO stack, to the maximum bonus of 7 for characteristics and 6 for skills." However, in the EotE Core Rulebook, under cyberarms, it states the following: "If a character replaces both arms with cybernetic enhancements, he must use the same model, as they are designed to work in tandem. However, the modifiers from both arms do not stack." Specifically - if a character expends two cybernetic slots to install two +1 Agility arms, does the character receive the bonus from both arms and increase Agility by +2? Thanks for the great game, and your answer.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Cybernetics that have to be bought in tandem (or otherwise must be designed to work together to provide benefits) do not stack with themselves. However, they would stack with some other cybernetic that is entirely different, but provides the same mechanical bonus. So a cyberarm with +1 Brawn would not stack with another cyberarm, but it might stack with a cyber-heart that also provided +1 Brawn.

 

Follow-up  Question asked by Bishop69:

So, a pair of +1 Agility arms only nets a character +1 Agility, and per RAW, that character cannot install a +1 Agility Arm and a +1 Brawn arm.

But, +1 Agility Arm(s) DO stack with +1 Agility Legs. Is that right?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

That is correct.

 

Follow-up Question asked by Bishop69:

What about the case of a droid who wants to install multiple arms - say a total of 4 (two pairs)?

Would you suggest capping the total Agility at +1, or allow two pairs of arms to provide a total Agility bonus of +2? or perhaps something else, equivalent to the Xexto Racial Bonus?

Given that this would chew up 4 of a droid's 6 cyber slots, it feels like they should get something back for the investment

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Hm, that one’s total house-rule territory, so nothing I say here would be in any way considered an “official ruling.” But if I was running the game, giving the droid the Xexto or Besalisk species bonus makes sense to me.

 

Follow-up Question asked by SEApocalypse:

What about using 4 blasters together or 4 lightsabers, is this just like dual wielding? (after all, 4 arms are natural for those who have them). Can you trigger 4 hits when you have a blaster in each hand and roll just enough advantages? General Grievous build with 4 light sabers confirmed? Pong Krell style fighting possible?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

There are no rules for quad-wielding specifically. However, you could extrapolate the rules for dual wielding out to handle 3 or 4 weapons. In that case, you would follow all of the same rules, but you would be able to trigger up to 4 hits total. This would be a house-rule, of course, and would therefore be subject to your GM’s approval. (It would also require 8 advantage to get all four of those hits).

 

Species

Correllian Humans

Question asked by Blackbird888:

Quick question regarding Corellian Humans found in Suns of Fortune: they start with a rank in Planetary Piloting or Space Piloting, and they have the ability to train Piloting to rank 3 during character creation. Can they train BOTH Piloting skills to rank 3, or only the one they choose to get a free rank in?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The can train both ranks to rank 3.

 

Player Resources and Special Rules

Obligation
Question asked by 2P51 (Paraphrased):
When taking on additional obligation during character creation, can the options only be purchased once? Or can you receive the same benefit multiple times.

Answered by Sam Stewart:
Yes, it means that you could take each of those options once. However, from a practical standpoint, you also cannot take more additional Obligation than your starting Obligation. If you refer to Table 2-2, you’ll see that the maximum total additional Obligation you could take is 20, and that’s only if there are two PCs in the game. So there is no scenario in which you could take +15 XP and +3500 credits.

 

Homestead

Question asked by Desslok:

Lets assume that the party has a business (in this case, a bar), and they've invested in the upgrade where they're actually turning a profit every month. Does the Entrepreneur talent +10% Wheel and Deal bonus have any effect on that monthly profit?

The player is selling, but its only in an abstract sort of way. It's a "This is how many drinks we sold over the month" instead of one "You can have this crate of blasters" transaction.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

That's a decision I would leave firmly in the hands of your GM, although if the amount of money isn't ludicrous (and I don't think it would be), I wouldn't have a problem with it at my table. It certainly makes sense that an Entrepreneur (or Trader) is good at selling things!

 

Master Merchant when purchasing a homestead

Question asked by Dakkar98:

When you are purchasing a business or homestead using the rules presented in Far Horizons, can you use Master Merchant to reduce the 50,000 credit price by 25%? Can you use it to reduce the Obligation by 1?

Could you suffer 4 strain to both reduce the cost by 25% and the Obligation by 1?

Can you use it to reduce the cost of the upgrades? Can you use it to reduce the obligation gain of the upgrades?

If so, is the minimum Obligation gained 1 or 0?

 

For the homestead, I noted that you are limited to purchasing 3 of the 4 available security upgrades. Is there anything to stop someone from purchasing every security upgrade except the security droid, then going out and purchasing the security droid separately for it's 9600 price tag (7200 with a successful use of Master Merchant)?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

To the first part of your question; you would only be able to use Master Merchant once since the purchase of a Homestead is one purchase. Master Merchant may be triggered once per acquisition, so you could only suffer 2 strain to reduce the cost or the Obligation, but not both.

 

When you purchase upgrades, these are additional purchases, so the same rules apply. You can reduce the Obligation, or the cost for each upgrade, but not both.

 

And yes, you can find a security droid and purchase it, although finding it requires you to use all the usual rules for finding and buying something. Taking it as a homestead upgrade does not.

 

Followup Question asked by Dekkar98:

Is there a minimum obligation increase when using Master Merchant to purchase an upgrade for a business or homestead?

 

Some of the upgrades for a homestead or business are x credits or +1 obligation (NPC Ally or Landing Bay for a homestead, and special orders or wholesale prices for a business).

 

For those upgrades can you only use Master Merchant to reduce the credit cost by 25%, or could you choose take on the obligation and use Master Merchant to reduce it to 0 or is it a minimum of +1 obligation?

 

Essentially, going the Obligation route could you use Master Merchant to convince someone that it is in their best interest to help your business or homestead, by applying x upgrade and have the obligation increase actually be +0?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

RAW, you could potentially reduce it to 0 Obligation. However, the GM would be perfectly within his rights to argue that you can’t take on no Obligation for those upgrades. After all, the +1 Obligation also represents the time and resources (and upkeep) you have to spend on the upgrades, not just the money.

 

So overall, I’d say it depends on your GM. If you come up with a good narrative reason for it, then it’s fine. But if the GM says “no” then I think he or she has a good basis for that.

 

 

General production related Questions

Errata in future book printings

 

Question asked by Venthrac (Paraphrased):

Will the latest printed copy of the Star Wars Roleplay game core rule books include any errata or rules clarification?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

We endeavor to include the most up to date errata in all subsequent printings of books, although obviously there is some lag time between beginning the publishing process and release. As long as the errata was released before we began reprinting, it should be included.

 

Combat Difficulty Design
Question asked by Josep Maria:
I understand that game is focused on cinematic style, thing that I enjoy so much. You should see my player and me every time we roll looking exited ot the dices waiting that the result tell us an awesome story XD Its and incredible sensation that we forgot long time ago. Mechanics isn't just only the way, with Edge is also the STORY! Sorry my question XD

I told you before, but I love the concept that a character gets incapacited/killed just with only 1-4 shots (generally). No more HP200 barbarians or elite soldiers with d12 XD

But also I have to say that hit% seems so high. I understand that every combat roll can be easily a movie scene about 1-3 minutes long, but hit% seems so high.

In general therms a "pseudo Boba Fett" can be hit easily by a pack of Storm Troopers because he only is a 2-3 Purples and above 2-3 Setbacks.

Force Sensitives can stand a bit more thanks to Sense Commit upgrades (that can be stacked?) but the difference doesn't seems so much higher.

I know that spending Strain with Dodges, Side Steps and other talents you can gain some upgrades. Also there is the armor/cover bonuses, but, in general therms (based on a forum sample XD) naked uncle Lars and naked pseudo Boba have the same defense. Get more than 2 Dodges is pretty difficult to achieve, so Boba would be (paying 2 Strain) 2 Reds instead 2 Purple. He would be hit but would get more Threats.

I'm seeking for some point of view to understand if there is any reason to this. Not a mechanical reason, a CONCEPT reason.
Mechanics are almost pretty clear (only there a are a few confusing things like the Commit one), but in generals therms is pretty clear,so, probably I need some designers concept point of view to interpretate that situations. I'm wrong?

Thanks again for all to your team and yourself, and please continue creating those awesome things.

Answered by Sam Stewart:
As far as your question goes, conceptually there were several reasons why we made combat values static numbers, although as you point out, there are quite a few mechanical reasons why we did so as well! However, as per your request, I won't delve too deeply into the mechanical reasons.

Conceptually, the dice system fits our vision of combat, because we see Critical Injuries as proper injuries, and wounds more as wear, tear, minor cuts, bruises, sore muscles, grazes, and minor burns. Basically, wounds are being battered, but Critical Injuries are the actual injuries that can put you on your back.

So by keeping the difficulty of combat checks simple, we acknowledge that it may not be too hard to get hit, but being hit isn't the same thing as being badly injured. Being hit more easily also creates interesting choices and combat dynamics. If a PC gets injured, the player has to decide whether to spend his next turn getting to cover, using a stim pack, or taking the riskier approach of continuing to fight and hoping to overcome his opponent.

Another conceptual reason is that we wanted basic combat rules to be simple and intuitive, while complexity would be added as PCs grew in ability. A PC's first combat will probably be fairly simple; allowing him to learn the basics of how to fight. Then, as he starts purchasing talents such as Dodge, Side Step, or Sixth Sense, he can introduce them to subsequent combats.

Edited by kaosoe
billw2, whafrog, Liloki and 9 others like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't intend to type up a manuscript of all the questions and answer given from the Order66  or podcast or any other podcast, but I did dig up the work that Venthrac has already done.

 

A note to Venthrac: I am not trying to cheat you out of the hard work you have done. I just wanted to get this in one place rather than revive the thread you had started.

 

ITEMS

Q: Do missile tubes come preloaded with 6 missiles?

 

A: Yes, all the weapons come preloaded with ammo.

 

Q: How much do missiles cost? (Referring to buying reloads for the missile tubes.)

 

A: 100 to 200 credits, depending. The missiles should all be highly illegal, however.

 

Q: If a droid with cybernetic enhancements is hit with an ion weapon, do the cybernetics stop working as described on page 173? Or do they simply suffer the normal droid effects of such attacks?

 

A: Per the RAW, the cybernetic would stop working, as well as the other effects that the ion

weapon would have.

 

Q: How do jetpacks work exactly? Does a character flying a jetpack operate at the planetary scale for movement speed, or at the personal scale?

 

A: It depends on the situation. In personal combat a character moving via a jetpack will operate at personal scale. Because of the jetpack's great speed, in personal scale it might allow a character to get from extreme range all the way to short range in possibly one maneuver, if the GM thinks that makes sense. If that same jetpack-flying character is chasing a vehicle such as a speeder, however, then it might operate at planetary scale. It basically takes GM adjudication. No pilot check is necessary if the player is simply moving from point A to point B and there are no consequences for failure. A check might be warranted if there's terrain or other risks involved in flying the jetpack.

 

Q: Why does the weighted head attachment, which is the only attachment for bludgeoning weapons, require two hard points when none of the bludgeoning weapons in the book have any hard points?

 

A: Per Sam: "Some of the things we did in the book, we did... with forward compatibility in mind. Just because the attachment may not work with any of the weapons we have right now, that's definitely not going to be the case later on."

 

Q: The Inventor talent grants a benefit "When constructing new items...." Where can I find the rules for item construction? They don't appear to be in the core rulebook.

 

A: Basically, see previous answer. This is more forward-compatibility stuff.

 

CHARACTER CREATION

Q: If I buy a rank in a non-career skill and it later becomes a career skill, do I get refunded the additional "out of career" cost I paid when I purchased that rank?

 

A: No, you do not get a refund. You are better off buying the specialization first and then putting ranks into its skills afterward.

 

Q: [insert question about whether the talent tree layouts, including specific link placements, have any errors, or is everything in the book as intended.]

 

A: The talent tree layouts you see in the core rulebook are all as intended. There are no layout errors or incorrectly-placed links. This includes the Slicer specialization tree.

 

Q: [insert question about whether a change from the final beta update to the release of the core rulebook was in error, or was intended, such as the change to the Twi'lek's starting wounds value .]

 

A: Where there are conflicts between the final beta update and the core rulebook, the core rulebook is correct in all such cases. Mentions of the Surveillance skill, however, are errors and not intended.

 

COMBAT

Q: Since initiative checks are Simple (i.e., no difficulty) skill checks, can Advantage and Triumph (or Threat and Despair, if the GM upgrades the check's difficulty somehow) generated by initiative checks be spent as normal?

 

A: Yes, but with the caveat that since Advantage is the tiebreaker for initiative, it's best to leave it as is. Triumph could be spent to maybe get the drop on someone or get in a free maneuver either before combat begins or during the first round.

 

Q: By rule, the benefit of the Aim maneuver is lost if the character takes damage. If a character voluntarily suffers strain to take an additional maneuver on his turn, would the strain loss count as damage that cancels the bonus from Aim?

 

A: When a character voluntarily suffers strain to take an additional maneuver, that is not considered "taking damage." Therefore the answer is no, this does not nullify the bonus for aiming.

 

Q: Can you hold an action in Edge of the Empire?

 

A: There is no rule as such for this. A character who wishes to act later should simply take a later slot in the initiative, but there is no rule for acting "just before" an enemy does something. The GM might call for an opposed roll in such a circumstance if he deems it appropriate, perhaps using Cool to resolve a pistol duel, for example.

 

Q: The rulebook states that different sources of defense don't stack. Is this referring to different sources of personal defense, such as multiple layers of armor, or to any sources of defense, such as armor and cover.

 

A: Unless a source of defense specifically states that it stacks with other sources of defense, then it does not stack. Armor and cover, for example, do not stack; a character can only benefit from one of these sources of defense at a time.

Edited by kaosoe
Talley Darkstar and Aluthin77 like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had one for Quickdraw

 

Hello 2P51,

 
Quick Draw may only be used to draw a single weapon or item. If one is duel wielding weapons, you may draw one as an incidental, and then draw one as a maneuver. 
 
Hope this helps!
 
Sam Stewart
Senior RPG Producer
Fantasy Flight Games
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also had one for Resolve but deleted the email, essentially though it was that Resolve could be used to lower the Strain cost of Stim Application.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At some point I will add spoiler tags to each major group for easy of reading.

 

Both of 2P51's questions have been added. I recall the Resolve/Stim Application combination being discussed on the Order66 podcast so it's not the first time I heard that one talked about.

 

I also added the following questions asked by HappyDaze and sent to me via a private message.

 

 

 

Question asked by Happy Daze:
How much does it cost to reload the Missile Tube?

Does Prepare 1 on the Missile Tube require one preparation maneuver before each shot, or one preparation maneuver and then the weapon can be fired until it's empty (when it would need a reload maneuver followed by a preparation maneuver)?
 

Answered by Sam Stewart:
It costs 500 credits to purchase a clip of six missiles for the tube.

Prepare states that it is a number of maneuvers that must be performed before each attack. Therefore, you must make a preparation maneuver before each shot.


Question asked by Happy Daze:
Can a single character with Brawn 5 carry and use a heavy repeating blaster in combat in the manner of a very large rifle (but using Gunnery skill)?

The weapon lists Encumbrance 9 and Cumbersome 5. The description of the weapon mentions that the weapon needs a second operator to handle the power coupling and generator. What are the Encumbrance values of the power coupling and generator? Are the power coupling and generator included in the Encumbrance 9 of the weapon or in additional to it?

The text description for the heavy repeating blaster indicates that the included tripod takes three actions to deploy. It also says that it works like the tripod mount attachment which takes two preparation maneuvers to deploy. Which of these is correct?

Answered by Sam Stewart:
The power coupling and generator are included in the encumbrance of the weapon. Most military units include a second operator to improve efficiency and help in moving the thing around and getting it set up quickly, since it's a heavy piece of machinery. The heavy blaster's 3 actions to get set up include and supersede the two preparation maneuvers required for setting up the tripod.

Edited by kaosoe
Seiito, Sturn, 2P51 and 3 others like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Corellian Compound Bow

Question asked by Kaosoe (Paraphrased):

Page 95 of Suns of Fortune lists The Corellian Compound Bow as using the skill Ranged (Heavy), but the alternate ammunition for the bow, the Stun arrows and Explosive Tipped Arrows, utilize Ranged (Light). Is this intentional? or is this a typo?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Thanks for your question, and I apologize for the confusion. As it turns out, this is not an error, but reflects the very different ammunition types (and skills required to use them) in this unique weapon. 

 

Firing a regular arrow from a bow relies a great deal on the user's physical strength, both to draw the bow and to keeping the draw taut while aiming and firing. Thus damage and accuracy are related to the user's strength, hence the Ranged Heavy skill and Cumbersome rating.

 

However, both explosive-tipped and stun arrows are very different from "regular" arrows. Each of these arrows replaces the low-tech broadhead tip of the arrow with a sophisticated payload. In the case of the explosive-tipped arrow, this payload is essentially a small frag grenade. In the case of the stun arrow, it is a stun-discharge "pad." Neither has the same aerodynamics as a regular arrow, and neither relies on the user's strength in the same way (in essence, as long as the arrow can be drawn enough to be fired, it doesn't matter how hard it hits the target; the explosive damage or stun discharge does all the work).

 

To reflect this, we used two different skills.

 

This makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.  It's not suddenly easier to pull back a bowstring just because you're firing an arrow of a different type.  The mechanisms of how a bow works do not fundamentally change, although if you're firing an arrow that is longer it might be possible to draw the bow back further.

 

The only thing that should change based on the type of arrows you're firing is the damage that is done.  Everything else about firing and handling the bow should be the same, regardless of the type of arrow.

 

 

I'm sorry.  I've got a lot of respect for the game developers, and I know that sometimes they do things for game balance or forward compatibility reasons.  However, sometimes they simply say or do stupid things.

Zar likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have any comments, suggestions, or wish to submit an answer to me but you do not wish to clutter the threat, feel free to PM me.

 

Added the following question and response asked by me after it came up by a player:

 

Overwhelm Emotions and Converting Force Die Results

Question asked by Kaosoe:

Overwhelm Emotions.

Can a character convert Lightside results to Darkside results in the same way described in the section on Force Powers?

Or is the option to convert Light - to - dark only available when using force powers?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Overwhelm Emotions is a special case, where you're not generating "Force Points" with the Force die off the results, but using the result itself. In any case, if you converted Light Side results to Dark Side results, the talent wouldn't work because the results can add success or failure, depending on the result and the check.

 

So short answer, no. It's not that the option is only available when using Force Powers, but it is not an option when using this talent specifically.

Josep Maria likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Added the following questions

 

Burn and Soak

Question asked by 2P51

Does soak apply to Burn effect?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart

Soak does apply to burn

 

 

Multiple Critical Rolls with Autofire

Asked by 2P51:

Can you roll multiple critical hits with a single attack, if the attack lands multiple hits, ie, you get 3 hits on an auto fire attack and theoretically have enough advantages for 3 critical hit results.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Criticals are generated on a "per hit" basis. So if you've got multiple hits, you can have multiple crits, just one per hit.

Edited by kaosoe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Corellian Compound Bow

Question asked by Kaosoe (Paraphrased):

Page 95 of Suns of Fortune lists The Corellian Compound Bow as using the skill Ranged (Heavy), but the alternate ammunition for the bow, the Stun arrows and Explosive Tipped Arrows, utilize Ranged (Light). Is this intentional? or is this a typo?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Thanks for your question, and I apologize for the confusion. As it turns out, this is not an error, but reflects the very different ammunition types (and skills required to use them) in this unique weapon. 

 

Firing a regular arrow from a bow relies a great deal on the user's physical strength, both to draw the bow and to keeping the draw taut while aiming and firing. Thus damage and accuracy are related to the user's strength, hence the Ranged Heavy skill and Cumbersome rating.

 

However, both explosive-tipped and stun arrows are very different from "regular" arrows. Each of these arrows replaces the low-tech broadhead tip of the arrow with a sophisticated payload. In the case of the explosive-tipped arrow, this payload is essentially a small frag grenade. In the case of the stun arrow, it is a stun-discharge "pad." Neither has the same aerodynamics as a regular arrow, and neither relies on the user's strength in the same way (in essence, as long as the arrow can be drawn enough to be fired, it doesn't matter how hard it hits the target; the explosive damage or stun discharge does all the work).

 

To reflect this, we used two different skills.

 

This makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.  It's not suddenly easier to pull back a bowstring just because you're firing an arrow of a different type.  The mechanisms of how a bow works do not fundamentally change, although if you're firing an arrow that is longer it might be possible to draw the bow back further.

 

The only thing that should change based on the type of arrows you're firing is the damage that is done.  Everything else about firing and handling the bow should be the same, regardless of the type of arrow.

 

 

I'm sorry.  I've got a lot of respect for the game developers, and I know that sometimes they do things for game balance or forward compatibility reasons.  However, sometimes they simply say or do stupid things.

 

I think you missed the point.

 

When you're using a bow normally, you aren't only concerned with connecting with the target, but also with penetrating power, whereas when you're firing one of those special arrows, all you care about is making contact. That could definitely change how you are handling the bow. That said, I think it's ridiculous to require two separate skills for this as well.

Icosiel and billw2 like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Added the following rules questions:

 

Heavy Repeating Blaster, and Setting it up

(Asked by Dbuntu)

Question asked by Dbuntu:

I have a couple questions about the HRB and the Tripod attachment detailed on pages 162 and 193 respectively in the core rulebook.

The HRB text states that "Setting up a tripod weapon requires the crew (presumably the two-man crew the text states is required to operate the weapon) to spend three actions."

Read on it's own, that seems to indicate that a two man crew could spend a total of three actions between both of them setting up the HRB on a tripod. However, the text goes on to state, "The cost of the weapon includes a tripod such as the one found on page 193".

The tripod found on page 193 states, "Setting up a tripod takes two preparation maneuvers".

So if the HRB comes with such a tripod, exactly how many actions and/or maneuvers should it take to set up and be ready to fire?

Related question: The HRB comes with four hard points. Is the tripod included with the weapon using two of those hard points or does it have four additional hard points?


Answered by Sam Stewart:
In this case, the three actions spent amongst the crew (each one spending an action, or one spending three, or some variation thereof) include and supersede the two preparation maneuvers needed to set up the tripod.

Also, the tripod should occupy two of the hard points.

 

Loronar E-9 Explorer

Question Asked by HappyDaze (Paraphrased):

I noticed that the Loronar E-9 Explorer-Class Armed Long-Range scout vessel lists its weapons as having linked 1, but it does no clerify that they are twin mounted medium laser cannons. Is this a typo? should they not have linked quality?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The E-9 is fitted with dorsal and ventral twin* medium laser cannons (identical to the base armament of the YT-2400) and thus should have Linked 1.

 

* Substitute Double or Dual for Twin if you prefer.

 

YV-929 Light Freighter

Question asked by HappyDaze (Paraphrased):

The YV-929 lists two forward and one aft mounted concussion missile launchers, but does not include the slow firing rating as it does in the Edge of the Empire core rule book. Is this a misprint or is the YV-929 supposed to have rapid firing concussion missile launchers.

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

The concussion missile launchers on the YV-929 are not supposed to have Slow-Firing 1. In effect, they are rapid-firing launchers. YIKES! Now we know why it's so freaking expensive.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify, Sam's direct answer was, "The profiles in both cases are correct."

 

The profiles being the game stats of the weapon that are set in parentheses following the name of the weapon system.

 

The answers in the previous post are not direct quotes from Sam, but were my reactions to his answers.

Edited by HappyDaze

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
When you're using a bow normally, you aren't only concerned with connecting with the target, but also with penetrating power, whereas when you're firing one of those special arrows, all you care about is making contact. That could definitely change how you are handling the bow. That said, I think it's ridiculous to require two separate skills for this as well.

 

Have you ever used a bow, with different types of arrows?  I have, and the process isn't materially different regardless of how long or heavy the arrows are, or what the arrows are carrying -- you're still aiming for appropriate distance, you have the same pull weight, etc....  Arrows that are configured differently will fly differently, and they will impact differently, and that's part of  your training.

 

But the bow itself operates pretty much the same, regardless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the compile of Q&A Kaosoe.

Some compulsory reading in all that... there's also some things which will get binned out of hand for 'nope, not in my **** game'

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Corellian Compound Bow

Question asked by Kaosoe (Paraphrased):

Page 95 of Suns of Fortune lists The Corellian Compound Bow as using the skill Ranged (Heavy), but the alternate ammunition for the bow, the Stun arrows and Explosive Tipped Arrows, utilize Ranged (Light). Is this intentional? or is this a typo?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Thanks for your question, and I apologize for the confusion. As it turns out, this is not an error, but reflects the very different ammunition types (and skills required to use them) in this unique weapon. 

 

Firing a regular arrow from a bow relies a great deal on the user's physical strength, both to draw the bow and to keeping the draw taut while aiming and firing. Thus damage and accuracy are related to the user's strength, hence the Ranged Heavy skill and Cumbersome rating.

 

However, both explosive-tipped and stun arrows are very different from "regular" arrows. Each of these arrows replaces the low-tech broadhead tip of the arrow with a sophisticated payload. In the case of the explosive-tipped arrow, this payload is essentially a small frag grenade. In the case of the stun arrow, it is a stun-discharge "pad." Neither has the same aerodynamics as a regular arrow, and neither relies on the user's strength in the same way (in essence, as long as the arrow can be drawn enough to be fired, it doesn't matter how hard it hits the target; the explosive damage or stun discharge does all the work).

 

To reflect this, we used two different skills.

 

This makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.  It's not suddenly easier to pull back a bowstring just because you're firing an arrow of a different type.  The mechanisms of how a bow works do not fundamentally change, although if you're firing an arrow that is longer it might be possible to draw the bow back further.

 

The only thing that should change based on the type of arrows you're firing is the damage that is done.  Everything else about firing and handling the bow should be the same, regardless of the type of arrow.

 

 

I'm sorry.  I've got a lot of respect for the game developers, and I know that sometimes they do things for game balance or forward compatibility reasons.  However, sometimes they simply say or do stupid things.

 

I think you missed the point.

 

When you're using a bow normally, you aren't only concerned with connecting with the target, but also with penetrating power, whereas when you're firing one of those special arrows, all you care about is making contact. That could definitely change how you are handling the bow. That said, I think it's ridiculous to require two separate skills for this as well.

 

 

If that was the intent, then the simplest way to handle it would be for the "needs penetrating power" arrows to have the Cumbersome quality, reflecting that lack of Brawn will equate to higher difficulty in landing an effective shot, while "damage by contact" arrows would not have that quality.

 

Requiring two different skills is silly.  If they didn't want to add a Ranged (Bow) skill, then shots with the thing should default to Ranged (Heavy) since the design of various weapons and attachments always seems to indicate that Ranged (Heavy) is used for a weapon requiring two hands to fire and Ranged (Light) is used with one-handed weapons.  I expect this to crop up again when we see crossbows.  :-P

Edited by Haggard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

correct the answers given by Sam Stewart asked by HappyDaze on the Loronar E-9 and the YV-929.

 

Added the following Question asked by 2P51:

Question asked by 2P51:

When you buy a new specialization outside your career do you get just the bonus career skills for the new specialization as additional career skills, or the skills for the specialization and its parent career as well?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

You only ever get the bonus career skills from the specialization.

bradknowles likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Added the following lengthy question(s). Thanks to Jegergryte for formatting it for me.

Vehicular Maneuvers as Actions

Question asked by  Jegergryte:

 

My questions concern pilot (planetary/space) checks.

 

1) As vehicle movement is a manoeuvre and doesn't normally require a check unless there's some sort of terrain or navigational hazards, I wonder if the Fly/Drive manoeuvre is "upgraded" to an action when speed, silhouette and terrain enters the equation. Or if such a pilot check is exempt from the skill check = Action convention?

2) This is sort of based on a negative response on the above, that manoeuvres stay as manoeuvres: Does the navigational hazard rules, either setback dice and/or the speed/silhouette rules, also come into play with other manoeuvres that involve movement, like evasive manoeuvres? Stay on target? Accelerate/decelerate? Punch it!? Basically any pilot only manoeuvre which in some way entails ship movement, whether relative to other ships or not.

 

3) Would it be within the intentions of the rules to add terrain modifiers, setback dice only (or silhouette or speed as upgrades too?), to the Gain the advantage action?

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

To answer your first question, generally you would “upgrade” the maneuver to an action when piloting is something crucial to the plot, such as piloting through terrain. In this situation, a GM might have the vehicles in question make piloting checks on the first round, then have a chance to shoot one another on the second round (which would also give advantage to the PCs who have the Master Pilot talents). However, if the GM wishes to handle this differently, he is of course free to do so.

 

This should answer your second question. As to your third, it would absolutely be within the intentions of the rules to add terrain modifiers in the form of Setback dice to the Gain the Advantage action, or any other piloting action that might come up (it could conceivably be added to the Copilot action, for example). 

 

Question asked by  Jegergryte:

I guess the following rationale is tied to this quote "In this situation, a GM might have the vehicles in question make piloting checks on the first round, then have a chance to ...": Would a fair interpretation then be that when entering a hazardous area one is required to make a piloting check, which then allows manoeuvres and actions to be performed by the pilot until the end of the next round without further pilot checks (barring moving out of/through the area and using Gain the Advantage)?

 

So, for instance:

I'm flying my YV-545 into a 2 setback dice asteroid field terrain using the fly/drive manoeuvre, this then becomes an action and I make a piloting check.

I could then, for two system and character strain (or the copilot could so that it only requires 2 system strain) perform an Evasive Manoeuvre without this requiring a check (or of course the copilot could attack any targets)?

 

The second round I could perform a Stay on Target manoeuvre and then attack, or accelerate or evade without requiring a pilot check, even when within the hazardous terrain?

The third round then, it seems if I take you very literally, would require a pilot check, whether I'm moving out of the area or still within the area as long as I'm moving, which of course I am, since I haven't decelerated to 0 speed.

 

And one last question concerning Gain the Advantage. Am I being too literal when I interpret that Action to only apply to the Pilot (as the wording specifies), or should it also apply to any and all gunners aboard the starship? Considering the attack will happen in one round (unless you have the Master Pilot talent), the gunners cannot this round pick and choose defensive zone, unless the Pilot has to pick zone now - which opens for the defending starship to move angle deflector shields in between this action and the pilots attack action next round (if the target fails or cannot perform Gain the Advantage).

 

Answered by Sam Stewart:

Your interpretation of flying through difficult terrain is a fair one. Spending the first round making a piloting check, while performing evasive maneuvers as a maneuver that does not require additional checks, is completely reasonable (after all, your ability or inability to fly through the asteroid field has already been determined, so there's no reason to check it twice in a round). Then in the second round, as the GM has already established that you're flying through terrain, you could fly and fight as normal.

Whether you needed to make another piloting check during the third round is really up to the GM. If the situation is fairly dire (such as the Millennium Falcon flying through the Hoth Asteroid Field) then the GM could require multiple piloting checks to reinforce the idea that just staying in the asteroid field is extremely dangerous. However, if the encounter is over, and the GM feels that there's no need to keep testing, he can simply have one piloting check be enough.

 

The important thing in this situation is to remember that you don't always need to stick with the rules, when doing so could result in a tedious or even ridiculous encounter. If the GM and players like the idea of lots of piloting checks (which increases the odds of failure) then by all means, have them test often. If the GM and players feel that this is slowing down the combat too much, then maybe one piloting check the first time the pilot enters the terrain is enough.

 

To answer your final question; RAW does state that the pilot is the one who benefits from Gain the Advantage, however the GM would be well within his bounds to rule that gunners (especially gunners in a two-seater Y-wing, for example) benefit from it as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The important thing in this situation is to remember that you don't always need to stick with the rules, when doing so could result in a tedious or even ridiculous encounter. If the GM and players like the idea of lots of piloting checks (which increases the odds of failure) then by all means, have them test often. If the GM and players feel that this is slowing down the combat too much, then maybe one piloting check the first time the pilot enters the terrain is enough.

 

 

You should post this quote at the top of the list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

The important thing in this situation is to remember that you don't always need to stick with the rules, when doing so could result in a tedious or even ridiculous encounter. If the GM and players like the idea of lots of piloting checks (which increases the odds of failure) then by all means, have them test often. If the GM and players feel that this is slowing down the combat too much, then maybe one piloting check the first time the pilot enters the terrain is enough.

 

 

You should post this quote at the top of the list.

 

 

This is my favorite thing about this game, and my number one thing that I wish people would remember when they're nitpicking the rules. If it doesn't work for you in general, don't use it. If it doesn't work for you in the moment during a session, skip over it, ignore it, do something simple that will make the game fun and exciting!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now