Sign in to follow this  
Annaamarth

Slicer talent tree

So, I'm new to the game and system- just got the core book, and I found something that seems... wonky.

You have to start off buying talents on the first tier, right?  Well, on the slicer tree in my printing- 1919NOV13, page 91- three of those four talents do not connect to the second tier.  In the case of the one talent which does, it's not until the fourth tier that the talents connect from column to column.

Does that mean that the Slicer is pretty much locked into a single early progression? Is Codebreaker basically required?

So, I'm new to the game and system- just got the core book, and I found something that seems... wonky.

You have to start off buying talents on the first tier, right?  Well, on the slicer tree in my printing- 1919NOV13, page 91- three of those four talents do not connect to the second tier.  In the case of the one talent which does, it's not until the fourth tier that the talents connect from column to column.

Does that mean that the Slicer is pretty much locked into a single early progression? Is Codebreaker basically required?

Yeah, the Slicer talent tree is wonky that way, and has caused no small amount of concerns/complaints that a PC is pretty much "locked in" to a single progression path for much of the early going.

Trader is similar, in that if you want to get to the higher rows, you've got to follow a fairly linear progression up the left hand side of the talent tree, although each talent in that first column has a branching off point to the rest of the row.

It's pretty awful, (just in my opinion) I was really unimpressed with the progression and the talents themselves, Slicer's one of those careers I think make for a very good '2nd pick' later on in your character's advancement.