Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
GongShowHost

Trandoshan Security Team

Recommended Posts

I played against a friend of mine today and he was under the impression that the Trandoshan Security Team cannot strike from outside of the engagement at an attacker unless you also have another unit in the engagement. His reasoning was that an engagement ends when all participating units have been focused to strike. This is true, but it seems like the whole point of the security team is to do tricks like this. I really hope it doesn't work this way because this dudes just halved in use if so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All is explained if you follow the flowchart at the back of the rules precisely. The check to see whether all units are focused only happens AFTER both the edge winner has had an opportunity to strike AND the edge loser has had an opportunity to strike. Even if there are no units in the engagement, both sides have that opportunity.

 

You just need to be careful that the TST strikes before you get to that check and the Resolves Strike step finishes. For example, if the DS is attacking with two units and strikes with the first, and then the LS strikes and tactics/focuses the other, the Resolves Strike step will finish at that point because everything is focused and TST will not get another opportunity to strike. So you might want to do TST first up in low unit count battles to ensure it gets its strike in.

Edited by PBrennan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, but I'm still not clear what happens if I have no defending units. Can I still strike with the Trandoshans from outside of the engagement?

Yes, you still get a chance to strike and use them then. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...