Sign in to follow this  
E-Talker

Good investments for beginners

Hi there

I'm completely new to X-Wing but very interested in the game none the less.

It was actually becasue of an impulse buy that I bought the X-Wing base game (+ 1 Y-Fighter ) in the first place. As a noob I think I run the risk of buying the wrong ships as we are already seeing ships of the 4th wave. Very nice ofcourse but this complicates things for beginners I would say. To give you an example: a noob like me would buy Advanced Tie Fighters while I read online that the normal Tie Fighters might be better. 

So long story short: Which ships of both the Rebels and the Imperial side are worth investing in? And how many would I need of each of them to build a nice 100 point army of each faction?  

I know many builds exist but I can imagine that some ships are kind of the "norm" while others are depending on taste. It's the ones no competitive army can go without that I'm really looking for here. That way I know that at least some of the ships I buy will have been worth the money when I enter competitive play.

There really is no ship that you should not get. For new players the regular advice is to invest in a second core set (for 3 ships, more dice, double movement templates) and then get expansions that you like. You could get the tie fighter expansion and x-wing expansion before that extra core set if you wanted more choice in pilots for each ship. At some point you are going to want one of each ship so you can see how they do.

The only ship that currently doesn't warrant more than one is the tie advanced. That is an argument for another day.

Ok so a second core set will become one of my next investments!
Are the pilots of the loose tie-fighter and x-wing expansions worth it?

And I think I will start investing in some Tie Interceptors & Bombers afterwards for the Imperial army. The Phantom looks very nice as well though... 

One of each

But in my opinion

2 awings

2 bwings

2 Firespray