• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
IXIMrPinkIXI

Ghaston grey

6 posts in this topic

Nope.   Returning the character to your hand is a cost.  Whether the card text has "cannot be saved" or not, you cannot save from the cost to initiate an effect.

 

Step 1: Initiate cost - by paying all costs.  Your character becomes moribund:hand and you target your opponent's character.

Step 2: Save/Cancel - your opponent attempts to either cancel the location effect or save from the leave play effect.

Step 3: Resolution - your character returns to hand.  Assuming the effect was not cancelled or saved from, your opponent's character also becomes moribund:hand.

Step 4: Passives

Step 5: Responses - play things like Parting Plow

Step 6: Clean up - all moribund cards leave play.

Edited by Slothgodfather

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So why do some cards say cannot not be saved and some do. If you save the character it stops the effect shouldn't they all say cannot be saved.
PS. Thanks for the quick reply

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It's more that none of them need to say "cannot be saved" because there is no place in the timing structure to save a card that leaves play as a cost. However, not a lot of people realize that from the rules themselves and need to be told. So the "cannot be saved" functions more as reminder text, especially on earlier cards and/or effects that people are going to be more likely to try to "rig" by trying to "save the cost." Ghaston Grey falls into both of those categories, I think. Edited by ktom

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If returning the character to hand is the cost then even if the action is cancelled wouldn't the character still be returned to hand - you cannot cancel the cost of something

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0