Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
OhBee

Darth Vader+Extra Attacks

Recommended Posts

Can a player activate Darth Vader for two attacks (say from Cluster Missle), even if Darth Vader's ability caused enough damage to destroy the ship after the first attack? Or, to put it another way, can a player voluntarily suffer damage after it's already suffered enough damage to be destroyed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the FAQ (p 8)

 

Darth Vader
A ship equipped with Darth Vader can use this ability if
it has at least 1 hull remaining.
If a ship equipped with Darth Vader can attack twice
in one round (such as a ship equipped with Gunner or
Cluster Missiles), it can use Darth Vader after the first
attack. If Darth Vader destroys the ship to which he is
equipped, it can still perform its second attack.

Going by that I'd say you can not use Vader on the second attack if his ship is destroyed after the first use. At that point it doesn't have the required "at least 1 hull remaining".

 

Being a bit picky, one could say the FAQ doesn't make any sens since going by the core rules, a ship never loses hull, it gains damage cards. Once it has a number of damage cards equal to or greater then it's hull valöue it is destroyed. But that's an other discusion :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you talking about the darth vader crew?

If so, the FAQ says you can't continue to use him once his ship drops below 1 hull point. The ship he is on would still get the second cluster missile attack though, even if darth destroyed the ship with the first attack.

Interestingly, the vader FAQ has a bit of a problem with its wording. It says

A ship with darth vader can use this ability if it has at least 1 hull remaining.

But ships don't loose hull, they accumulate damage cards equal to their hull value.

Sigh, ninja'd on all counts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But ships don't loose hull, they accumulate damage cards equal to their hull value.

 

 

Gamers worldwide are used to lose hit points, life, stamina, vital force, blood, structural points, armor, hull when damaged.... Basically, every traditional game resolved damage as losing something.

 

Now, FFG comes and instead of losing something, they resolve damage by accumulating damage cards... Who do they think they are to break away from the ortodox way?  :)

 

In short, even the very own X-Wing devs are 'betrayed' by the traditional way of doing things. Either that, or they purpousefully chose that wording to make it more easily understable for the the 'average' gamer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The problem with wording it in a way to make it "easyer for the average gamer" to understand is that it can make it harder for every one to understand.

Take the new Flechet Torpedos f.ex. they give stres to the target is it has a hull value of 4 or lower. If you go by the FAQ entry for Darth Vader you might think a Y-wing would recive stress if it had 1 damage card or more. But going by the actual rules it can never get stressed from Flechet torpedos as its hull value doesn't change. So the FAQ actulay mudies the waters instead of clearing them up.

So in my opinion it is important to stick to a strick language that adheres to the actual rules even if it goes against the common enterpretation of things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only way you can do vader with cluster missiles is on a firespray, and generally putting vader on a firespray is not seen as a good idea.  I suppose if you save him until you're about to die anyways it might be worth it, but only then IMO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...