Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
grimmjow06

income and inmunity???

17 posts in this topic

Hi....

My question is:

1.- only the active player can count income??? Or both players as a global action like draw phase???

2.- a card with non-plot inmunity can be target or affected by a global effect for example westeros bleeds???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only the Active Player counts income. Each player, in turn, must wait until they're the active player before they count their income. This matters because there are cards that can be played that will affect the income count of the next player.

 

A card that is immune to non-plot card effects CANNOT be targeted by a global effect like Westeros Bleeds. You should read the Scope of Immunity section in the FAQ to get a better understanding of how far immunity extends because there are specific exceptions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just want to be careful about terminology here. "Target" has a very specific definition in this game. An effect has to use the word "choose" in order for it to have a target. Whatever you "choose" is the target. If there is no word "choose," there is no target.

Most global effects do not have any targets. I can't think of one that says "choose all characters in play," for example.

That said, immunity does two separate things:

1. You are not allowed to "choose" the immune card as a target for an effect it is immune to, and

2. The immune card ignores the effects of whatever it is immune to, targeted or not.

So, for example, a character that is immune to non-plot effects would be safe from an event like "No Quarter!" because #1 says you cannot "choose" it as a target. That same character would be safe from Westeros Bleeds because of #2. Even though the event chooses no targets when it initiates, the character still ignores it when it resolves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most global effects do not have any targets. I can't think of one that says "choose all characters in play," for example.

 

Field of Fire reads "choose all participating, non-Dragon characters". To my knowledge, it's the only targeted global effect in the LCG. This event cannot be played if one immune participating non-Dragon character exists, since it would be an illegal target.

Edited by Khudzlin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 This event cannot be played if one participating non-Dragon character exists, since it would be an illegal target.

 

 

I think you meant to say "if one immune participating non-Dragon character exists", no? And it's a very good point. I bet most of the Targ Summer players out there, and their opponents, aren't aware of this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To me that event is targeting all non-Dragon characters that are participating.  That being, a sub-set of participating characters that are non-Dragons.  It isn't reading to me like you have to choose all participating characters as long as all of them are non-Dragons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bomb - I'd have to agree with Khudzlin there. The event does explicitly say "CHOOSE ALL participating non-Dragon characters" - if you have a single participating non-Dragon character that is immune to the effect, you could not fulfill the explicit target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bomb: they're not saying all the participating characters have to be non-dragon. They're saying all the non-dragon participants have to be legal targets for then event.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My brain thought I was reading from them that you can't have a participating Dragon in order to trigger the event.  I totally misread their posts and didn't even see that they were talking about immunity on non-Dragon characters.

 

I don't know how I misread it that badly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And of course I apologize to both Khudzlin and Ratatoskr for me being dumb.

Don't worry. Personally, I don't apologize for being dumb as a matter of principle, or I'd do nothing else. You're a lucky man that for you it's an isolated enough incidence to be able to indulge in it. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0