Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Conandoodle

If you could give the new guy one piece of advice .. what would it be?

56 posts in this topic

As the title states .. I'm new to the sport, have read some tutorials, forums, etc. but thought I would throw an invitation out there to offer some advice. Maybe a trick you picked up, a mistake you made, a resource that has been invaluable, so on and so forth.

So my friends, what one piece of advice would you pass on to the guy who just joined fighter school?

Get a better paying job... you're gonna need it!

Remember unique pilot skill on their cards, the amount of times people forget those (i always do!) actions and spend time getting used to templates so you have a rough idea where you'll end up.

Although if flying a turreted ship just fly onto asteroids ALL the time, seriously, you'll be doing anyone who flies TIE Interceptors a massive favour and you'll be liked universally! ;-)

*note only the middle option is serious! although it does cost a lot when you really get into the game!

AdmiralThrawn and Conandoodle like this

Try every ship in all types of combos. The overall meta has changed a lot over last couple of years. With new waves its always worth changing things up.

The main thing for starters is movement. As been stated already just fly a few different ships around some asteroids try going maximum and minimum speeds see where they end up.

Conandoodle likes this

The best thing you can do for yourself is to learn to fly. 

I have started several people this way, and they can usually avoid the common pitfalls of hitting asteroids or blocking themselves afterwards. 

Set up a table slap full of asteroids and coke cans and whatever else, and practice flying the ships through the field. When you first start out, lay out the templates before you pick, so you can get an idea of what they will do. 

As you get better, make the spaces smaller, try flying multiple ships together.