Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Trumpet

Jam on transport

21 posts in this topic

The jam action ,do you put two stress on a ship or just one it says something like upto two can someone explain a little further please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the target has a Yorr (or some future card) who absorbs a stress from a friendly, they may absorb the stress then the target gets two as well. There also may be abilities where someone discards or passes the first stress toke they receive, they would do so then get two.

It's cool that FFG specifically worded it like that.

Edited by Sanchez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the target has a Yorr (or some future card) who absorbs a stress from a friendly, they may absorb the stress then the target gets two as well. There also may be abilities where someone discards or passes the first stress toke they receive, they would do so then get two.

It's cool that FFG specifically worded it like that.

 

Well it's also that way so that it caps at two stress. A needed power limiter since otherwise you could pile on five stress onto someone over three turns (assuming they shed one a turn while you were doing so). That would just be mean...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL - I actually expected to see a pic/vid of someone pouring Jam over their Transport, or at least something related to Spaceballs. My bad, I apologize... Please carry on.

 

Cheers

 

[EDIT] Yes, you place 2 Stress Tokens on the target. Just think of all the Stressy goodness, with the Transport and a fleet of A-wings with Fletchett's... Ouch. [/EDIT]

Edited by DarkFather

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So am I getting this right ,the ship I'm targeting gets two stress whatever?

 

If it starts with 0 stress, yes. If the ships starts with 1 stress, you only give it an additional 1. If the ship starts with 2 or more stress, you don't give it any.

Engine25 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

So am I getting this right ,the ship I'm targeting gets two stress whatever?

 

If it starts with 0 stress, yes. If the ships starts with 1 stress, you only give it an additional 1. If the ship starts with 2 or more stress, you don't give it any.

 

 

Yup, the target gets a MAXIMUM of 2 stress, including stress it already had beforehand.  Others have mentioned that if they have a way to pull stress off of the ship such as Captain Yorr, then you keep adding stress until the target has 2 stress after Yorr's ability takes effect.

 

If they already have 2 stress when you take your jam action, choose another target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You keep adding stress tokens to it until it has two. Say you jammed Porkins and he used his ability to dodge a stress token, you'd just add another. They get two and there's no way around it, if other ships take the stress with abilities you just stick more on the jammed ship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

probably telling my age but Jam on made me think of this.... lol 

 

LOL. I thought of a variation on the theme.  Visualize a Rebel Transport bouncing like a low rider.

Swedge likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You keep adding stress tokens to it until it has two. Say you jammed Porkins and he used his ability to dodge a stress token, you'd just add another. They get two and there's no way around it, if other ships take the stress with abilities you just stick more on the jammed ship.

 

Actually Jam won't operate in this fashion. You would Jam first, assign the two stress tokens, then Porkins ability would trigger. You could not continue with the Jam ability to add more stress back on to Porkins. That would go against AROO (Abilities Resolve Once per Opportunity, FAQ pg4) and it would be the same action twice if you tried to Jam again.

Engine25 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You keep adding stress tokens to it until it has two. Say you jammed Porkins and he used his ability to dodge a stress token, you'd just add another. They get two and there's no way around it, if other ships take the stress with abilities you just stick more on the jammed ship.

 

Actually Jam won't operate in this fashion. You would Jam first, assign the two stress tokens, then Porkins ability would trigger. You could not continue with the Jam ability to add more stress back on to Porkins. That would go against AROO (Abilities Resolve Once per Opportunity, FAQ pg4) and it would be the same action twice if you tried to Jam again.

 

 

Yes, this is how it works because Porkins ability occurs after the token is assigned.  He CAN choose to remove both tokens, but based on my understanding of the rules you cannot keep jamming him in the same fashion as you could with an effect like Captain Yorr.  Otherwise, you could, in theory jam Porkins until he blows up from the damage.  Then again, Yorr's ability and Porkins ability are both optional anyway, so the player may deem it better for them to just accept the stress, given the situation.  Unless its an interceptor, I'd probably elect to take the stress as opposed to having 2 stressed ships from the same effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Yes, this is how it works because Porkins ability occurs after the token is assigned.  He CAN choose to remove both tokens, but based on my understanding of the rules you cannot keep jamming him in the same fashion as you could with an effect like Captain Yorr.  Otherwise, you could, in theory jam Porkins until he blows up from the damage.  Then again, Yorr's ability and Porkins ability are both optional anyway, so the player may deem it better for them to just accept the stress, given the situation.  Unless its an interceptor, I'd probably elect to take the stress as opposed to having 2 stressed ships from the same effect.

 

The Jam action goes off and you pick how many stress tokens you are going to give the target ship. That stays fixed. AROO comes into play because of similar situations, such as elusiveness (You hit me with 2 damage so I choose to take 2 stress tokens at the same time and make you reroll 2 attack dice. AROO prevents this)

 

You pick how many to assign with Jam, Porkins triggers and removes 1. You can't go back and add more because of AROO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Yes, this is how it works because Porkins ability occurs after the token is assigned.  He CAN choose to remove both tokens, but based on my understanding of the rules you cannot keep jamming him in the same fashion as you could with an effect like Captain Yorr.  Otherwise, you could, in theory jam Porkins until he blows up from the damage.  Then again, Yorr's ability and Porkins ability are both optional anyway, so the player may deem it better for them to just accept the stress, given the situation.  Unless its an interceptor, I'd probably elect to take the stress as opposed to having 2 stressed ships from the same effect.

 

The Jam action goes off and you pick how many stress tokens you are going to give the target ship. That stays fixed. AROO comes into play because of similar situations, such as elusiveness (You hit me with 2 damage so I choose to take 2 stress tokens at the same time and make you reroll 2 attack dice. AROO prevents this)

 

You pick how many to assign with Jam, Porkins triggers and removes 1. You can't go back and add more because of AROO.

 

 

In the case of Porkins, he gets one Opportunity for each stress token, so he can remove both if he chooses. AROO still applies because each stress token is a separate opportunity for his ability. If he activates it twice, he has to resolve his ability twice and risk taking two damage.  With Elusiveness, the card specifically says one die for one stress, you can't use it if you already have a have a stress token anyway.  If the card text allowed for two, then it could work twice.  The Text for Jam says assign stress tokens to a ship until it has 2.  I was agreeing that it didn't work for Porkins.  Given the Yorr situation, I think it requires an additional FAQ to outlaw it, because the text says "until it has a maximum of two tokens," not "Assign it up to two stress tokens."  These are not the same.  Previous rulings for Yorr have stated the stress pull happens so soon that other abilities that rely on it don't occur, such as Soontir's focus token.  I also mentioned how this is probably a bad strategy in that, if it works the way it seems, it stresses two ships.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0