Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jedidude

Counter-Stroke - Interrupts

4 posts in this topic

A question came up yesterday while playing:

I wanted to play Force Lightning, but opponent had Counter-Stroke, which cancels an event card as it is played.

- As I have read and understood it from the FAQ, the Force Lightning has to be discarded - why is that so, since the Counter-Stroke just cancels the event?

- Do I have to pay the cost for playing the Force Lightning card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A question came up yesterday while playing:

I wanted to play Force Lightning, but opponent had Counter-Stroke, which cancels an event card as it is played.

- As I have read and understood it from the FAQ, the Force Lightning has to be discarded - why is that so, since the Counter-Stroke just cancels the event?

- Do I have to pay the cost for playing the Force Lightning card?

Counter stroke cancels the effects of the event, the rest of the process, including paying for it and discarding it, is still completed. It is also still considered to have been played, which means Reactions to the event being played (eg Darth Vader) can still be used.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Read Counter-stoke carefully - "When an event card is played, cancel its effects".

 

In this game, its always careful to cancel an effect, not the card itself. The two are not the same. A card contains an effect but also contains other things, like cost.

 

In the event initiation sequence (check out the 6 step process in the FAQ), all that counter-stroke cancels is step 6, the resolution of the effect. That's why the cost is still paid, and the card is discarded - because everything happens EXCEPT the resolution of the effect, which is cancelled.

 

If the card had instead said "cancel the card" or some such, then all 6 steps might be cancelled. But the game never does that, it only ever cancels an effect, as above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0