• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Triggering Responses

3 posts in this topic



I got stuck with my responses lately. I know I can trigger multiple at the same time and that I can choose in what order I use them.

Example 1- Theodred + Aragorn:
1. Use Theodred to pass resource to Aragorn
2. Use resource you got from Theodred to ready Aragorn

Example 2 - Ancient Mathom + Elf-Stone
1. Use mathom to draw 3 cards
2. Put 1 ally into play that you just got from Ancient Mathom

Example 3 - Legolas + Blade of Gondolin
1. First use 1 progress of Blade of Gondolin to pass Quest card
2. Use Response of Legolas to put 2 progress on new Quest card

I find all these examples very clear and I know how to handle them.

Now the problem I encountered when you use the responses it is because something just happened. So therefore you could use a response (or multiple).  But I got stuck with using conflicting responses, can you use them? Examples:


Example 1: Valiant Sacrifice



If you have 2 of these I find you can use them both if you can pay 2 resources. But when you only have 1, and you draw the 2nd by Valiant Sacrifice can you use it instantly?

Example 2: Foe - Hammer


When I kill something and I use Foe-Hammer. Can I use another copy (as long as I have weapons available to exhaust for this attack) of Foe-Hammer for the same kill if I draw it by Foe-Hammer?



I couldn't find anything for this very specific case in the F.A.Q. 1.6., but I personally think it shouldn't be possible since it seems awkward to me to use responses of cards you didn't have when triggered. If you had all cards in hands already there is no problem to me since you can trigger all responses in the same response window (the order of execution is up to the players).



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The game still has not moved forward, from a mechanical point of view, from the window where responses are triggered after you have drawn the cards. So yes you can stack Valiant Sacrifice and Foe-Hammer that you have just drawn on that same triggering event on which you used the first event.


The question was answered like this a few months back iirc

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup, NM is right and it's a legal play, clarified in antiquity by Nate:


Response effects are resolved completely before the next response is 

Situation 1

Play and resolve the first copy. (Draw 2 cards)

Play and resolve the second copy. (Draw 2 more cards)

Situation 2

Yes, you can play the copy you just drew.

Nate French
Senior Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


source thread here.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0