• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nerdmeister

Sacked! cancellation

7 posts in this topic

med_sacked-catc.jpg

 

The when revealed effect of this treachery card cannot be cancelled, as is plainly written.

But can the shadow effect be cancelled?

The shadow effect states that one must resolve the when revealed effect but should that be taken as though that effect´s text is in the shadow effect area and thus be immune to cancellation or do you apply shadow cancellation only to what is physically written in the shadow effect area?

 

NB: Would be nasty for both the obvious Hasty Stroke but also something like A Burning Brand if it is not able to cancel this.

tactician93612 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that you can cancel it, but maybe you should wait that bit more experienced player that will answer in here, because my english is so bad that i cant explain how this thing goes and not 100% shure about this  :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It still says "this effect cannot be cancelled".

If we are meant to assume that the treachery text proper is to be in the shadow effect area then the wording "shadow effect cannot be cancelled" is irrelevant, because the word effect would be a catch-all phrase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Official ruling quoted at the bottom of this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/710418/sacked-as-shadow-card-a-test-of-will

 

Q: If "Sacked!" is dealt as a shadow card to an attacking Troll enemy, can "Hasty Stroke" be used to cancel the shadow effect? The 'When Revealed' text on "Sacked!" states that it cannot be canceled.

A: Good question. You can cancel the shadow text on Sacked! since it is only the "When Revealed" effect that cannot be canceled. If you cancel the shadow effect, then you never have to resolve the "when revealed" effect, including the "cannot be canceled" portion.

Nerdmeister and tactician93612 like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0