Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kev Targaryen

Card Types Clarifications

4 posts in this topic

Can a card have 2 different types at the same time? i.e. Be a Character and a location or a Location and an attachment.

 

If not, how does the outfitted for war and longship maidens bane work out when it becomes a character?

 

Also, if I have Milk of the Poppy on a character and that character is killed. Is the card still blank in the moribund state?

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Check out the FAQ Entry 3.25 found on page 11 of the FAQ.

 

(3.25) Card Type Changes to Character 

Any time a non-character card type becomes or counts as a character, it loses all other card types it might possess while it is a character. If for any reason, a non-character card that is functioning as a character is killed, said card is placed in the discard pile instead. Effects that trigger from said card being killed may still apply. 

 

Similarly, if a non-character card type becomes a character and claims power, that power counts towards your victory total. If at any time said card is no longer a character, the power that it has claimed thus far is not discarded, but it no longer counts 

towards your victory total. If said card once again becomes a character, any power it has claimed will again count towards its controller's victory total.

 

 

So a card is only one type of card, that is whatever type it currently is, basically.  

 

As for Milk of the Poppy, the attachment doesn't leave the character until Step 6, the same time the character itself leaves play, so yes - Milk still blanks a character - even if they are moribund.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Short-hand version:

 

--> Cards can only have one type. That type is whatever it is currently functioning as. So if a location becomes a character, it is only a character. If a character becomes and attachment, it is only an attachment. Etc.

 

--> Attachment restrictions must always be met, or else be discarded. So in the case of Outfitted for War (which says to attach to a location) on LMB, when LMB becomes a character, it stops being a location. That means the restriction on OfW is no longer valid and so the attachment is discarded.

 

--> Killing the character makes you discard all attachments on it when the character becomes moribund. However, all of those attachments become moribund, too, so they stick around on the character, continuing to function, until all moribund cards leave play at the same time. (So Milk of the Poppy - though moribund itself - continues to blank the moribund card it is attached to until they both leave play together.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0