Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jedski

Question Regarding Bidding on Influence Tracks and Resolving Ties

7 posts in this topic

When bidding for influence tracks occurs during a game, what are the rules regarding ties between those players with no available power, or who choose to bid no power at all?

 

Here's a scenario that's come up multiple times.

 

Bidding occurs:

 

Baratheon wins and keeps Iron Throne.

In bidding for the Fiefdoms track, nobody is able to bid any power. Does Baratheon theoretically have to resolve a "tie" between zero?

So on and so forth for the King's Court Track, thereby giving Baratheon the Iron Throne, the Valyrian Steel Blade, and the Raven.

 

Does Baratheon choose to re-arrange the tie between all the houses as he sees fit?

 

We've been playing like that for a while, until some voices complained about how it seemed unfair, and how easy it was for someone to really dominate by taking all three tracks.

 

We changed it so that if you were unable to bid any power, the ties between zeros would not need to resolved.

 

So in the above example, none of the influence tracks would have changed since there was technically no "power" being thrown around.

 

Your thoughts on this are greatly appreciated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The player holding [The Iron Throne] token decides the outcome of all ties that occur in the game, with the exception of ties in combat (which are resolved by a player’s position on the Fiefdoms track) and ties in determining the winner of the game.

 

From page 11 of the rulebook.

 

If you view this as unfair, then make sure to always have power available.  The only time that I do not play at least one consolidate power token is when the westeros card indicates you cannot.

kauai1964 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had a situation once, we the last Clash of Kings Westeros card was resolved after only 3rd turn. Since we had a wildlings attack before, there was just one player left with 1 Power Token, all the other players had 0.

So he bid 1 on the Throne, won it and all the other tokens and held them till the end of the game.

We learn. Just have some PT ready everyday :-)
This is fair to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The holder of the IT decides all ties, including multiple ties, and when 6 players all bid "0" they are all "tied."  If no one has any PT's left after the bid for the Iron Throne influence track, then all bids are effectively "0."  The holder of the IT, in practice, could then certainly make themselves the holder of the Sword (Fiefdoms track) and the Raven (King's Court track).  This is perfectly legal for the holder of the IT to do so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In your example above, it's not unfair. It's just very poor strategy play from all the non-baratheon players.

This...."+1"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0