Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Steve-O

Encounter question (from Curse of the Dark Pharaoh)

6 posts in this topic

So I drew this encounter the other day, and it raised a question in my mind. I'm wondering if the question has been raised before, or if the card was maybe altered in the revised edition of CotDP (since I'm still using the original printing.)

 

The encounter is from the Administration Building, and it reads as follows:

You meet a research assistant who is quite taken with you. Roll 1d6. You gain that many free movement points, to be used immediately on any Tome or other item that requires an expenditure of movement points to use.

 

 

The question is this: Assuming I have such an item and I roll enough MPs to make ends meet, but I don't want to use that item right now, am I required to do so?

 

We typically play that when an encounter gives you a choice, you can choose one way or the other, but if it doesn't give you a choice, you must do what it says.  I'm not sure if that's an official rule or a house rule, to be honest, but I know it's a common way of playing for many people, from I what recall of past forum discussions.

 

Obviously I must roll the die, that much is clear.  If I don't roll enough MPs to activate my item then the question is moot.  However, if I do roll enough MPs, must I activate my item even if I don't want to?

 

I played that I must (because we also play with Arkham's Razor in full effect) and it made no difference in the end, but I'm curious to hear your opinions.  Also, was this encounter removed/edited in the revised version of this expansion?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Steve-O,

 

     I would suggest that you must use the points immediately as each encounter should be resolved in its entirety.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my opinion you don't have to use the movement points. Just like all other movement points you can choose whether to use them or not. The only difference in this case is that they must be used immediately or not at all. The wording of the encounter, though not perfect, appears to do nothing more than prevent you from saving the movement points till later.

 

As Elvis would say: It's now or never. :D   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's tricky. Normally you have to resolve everything unless, as Joe stated, there is a "may" or a "if" clause scattered somewhere in the card. This card here uses a bizarre wording: "to be used", which is an implicit statement that seems to suggest you have to.

 

BUT.

 

(know, my brother once told me that nothing someone says before the word "but" really counts - Benjen Stark)

 

Considering that the wording on the Curse of the Dark Pharaoh cards is not top notch; considering the implicit form could be contested in any Arkham court; and considering that thematically it's difficult to force someone using a book (unless you're in company of a madman or such), I'm more inclined to follow Lee's suggestion: you gain the points, but then, whether spending them or not, it's up to you

Lee418 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, it's nice to know the Arkham community is as divided on this as we were. =P

I can certainly see Lee's logic, as well. Really, the only thing preventing me from happily accepting that logic is the desire to keep this game as difficult as possible by favouring the game whenever we can't be sure of something.

I suppose it will be rare that this particular encounter will be the deciding factor, though. It certainly wasn't in the end for our game the other night. So I guess in future we'll play that spending the points now is mandatory (use 'em or lose 'em), but the option of using or not using your items is still something you can decide.

Julia and Lee418 like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0