Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joshmp1985

a question about large monster movement

51 posts in this topic

Agreed, otherwise a 3x2 figure could expand after every step to gain an extra 2 spaces for each movement (assuming the could legally expand, of course).  Thus, a move of 3 would translate into about a move of 9, which would be insane :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?

They can combine the MP. It would go:

 

-Shadow dragon takes a move action (gets 3 MP)

-Before spending any, OL plays "dash" (monster has another move action, takes it for 3 more MP)

-Dragon moves 6 spaces without expanding in between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Though remember that generally speaking, it's rare you'll want to NOT expand in the middle of the move actions because you can cover more distance by using that extra expansion. There are times when you won't be able to because of other figure placement, but it's rare.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?

They can combine the MP. It would go:

 

-Shadow dragon takes a move action (gets 3 MP)

-Before spending any, OL plays "dash" (monster has another move action, takes it for 3 more MP)

-Dragon moves 6 spaces without expanding in between.

 

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. This is important to note because sometimes you will want to play dash after your monster has killed a hero so he is able to move through, however its actually too late to play the card by this stage as you have gotten past the activation stage. Therefor you need to play dash before attacking the hero, betting on the fact that you will need to kill him so you can move past him, if you miss... you just wasted your dash card.

See unofficial ruling below.

 

The card also says the monster may perform an additional move action, it does not say when that move action has to be taken. So you could:

Play the dash card while activating your monster.

declare a move action

move 3 spaces

expand

declare a move action

move 3 spaces

expand

declare a move action (this one is using your free dash movement action you got from dash)

move 3 spaces

expand

 

That is to say that the dash card does not immediately afford you 3 movement points, it just gives you the option of being able to declare an extra movement action.

Edited by BentoSan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

 

Really? Is this for real? That's a tremendous change and there is no way you can back this new ruling with the printed text on the card. Okay about errata:ed cards bringing some limitations or clarifications about the rules which somehow still relate to the printed text on the card, but we're talking about a different text here practically speaking. The current text clearly emphasises on the "when activating a monster" which is by definition before executing its actions. Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?

 

 

Its called "Descent Second Edition Unoffcial FAQ" so no, it is not official :)

It is a compiled list of questions that have been answered by FFG just as you suspected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?

 

 

Its called "Descent Second Edition Unoffcial FAQ" so no, it is not official :)

It is a compiled list of questions that have been answered by FFG just as you suspected.

 

 

You're killing me, man :) My hero players are very strict in terms of rules, this unofficial FAQ is nothing they will trust. But I mean, shouldn't this be in the official FAQ for a change of that scale? That changes a lot of things for me as the OL.

Edited by Indalecio

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You're killing me, man :) My hero players are very strict in terms of rules, this unofficial FAQ is nothing they will trust. But I mean, shouldn't this be in the official FAQ for a change of that scale? That changes a lot of things for me as the OL.

 

 

Its still rulings from FFG so its the best we got really, though I agree that FFG should put all of their rulings into some kind of official FAQ instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

That's not necessarily true about the wording. "When activating" doesn't mean "at the beginning of the activation" anymore than "when moving" means "as you take your first step," or "when attacking" means "immediately after you declare your target." The phrase "when activating" could very, very conceivably be taken to mean "during a monster's activation," and that's how my group has been playing (based on the unofficial ruling cited above on BGG.)

Edited by Zaltyre
griton likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm kinda surprised at that change, myself - those cards are already VERY powerful, I don't see why they wanted to make them MORE powerful by allowing the OL to play them mid-action.

 

We probably will continue to play it the other way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

 

 

Thank you for correcting me on that one, i was not aware of this ruling. This certainly does change things alot.

 

I personally play by the rulings in the unofficial FAQ so i will implement this into my games.

Edited by BentoSan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is kind of a big deal, BentoSan, especially since you can reserve "Frenzy" for when your normal attack action misses. None of my hero players had a problem with the wording of that card, and they get quite specific about rules.

 

Also, (getting back to the topic of this thread,) a dash can be played later in the turn, allowing the monster to run away after the heroes think they may have it "trapped," (possibly exhausting cards or abilities that they may during the OL turn) since it may have spent its two actions.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's not necessarily true about the wording. "When activating" doesn't mean "at the beginning of the activation" anymore than "when moving" means "as you take your first step," or "when attacking" means "immediately after you declare your target." The phrase "when activating" could very, very conceivably be taken to mean "during a monster's activation," and that's how my group has been playing (based on the unofficial ruling cited above on BGG.)

 

Okay, "when activating" could reasonably be understood as "anytime during a monster's activation" (although "when" is not "while", I would have thought "when" referred to a specific moment in time, but I'm not a native english speaker so I'll leave that to you), but I was wondering about any other occurences of the wording "when activating" or "when you activate" on other cards or even quest rules. Can we extrapolate the new definition to any instance of the wording? I wish we had a PDF version of everything in this game so we could search for specific text and make sure we have everything covered.

 

But yeah, I mean that's a hell of an improvement. I was already championing these cards but now this errata makes the cards Frenzy and Dash even more viable. I really like the flexibility. I don't think this is going to improve my win/lose ratio by any means, but I'm going to use my cards more effectively from now on. Wish Expert Blow got the same errata ;)

Edited by Indalecio

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Critical Blow isn't bad- you get to wait to see the defense roll to know if you need to add surge: +3 wound. What's wrong with that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Critical Blow isn't bad- you get to wait to see the defense roll to know if you need to add surge: +3 wound. What's wrong with that?

Scratch that, I meant Expert Blow. My bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Someone needs to go through the rule book and rewrite all the erratas into it, including all the unofficial ones..... that would be awesome.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Someone needs to go through the rule book and rewrite all the erratas into it, including all the unofficial ones..... that would be awesome.

FFG generally does this when they make re-prints.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they proofread their games FIRST, and printed them with WORKING wordings, you'd have no reason to buy the new version, now, would you?

 

Not editing their games and then getting the people who love them to buy them over and over is basically FFG's business model.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Someone needs to go through the rule book and rewrite all the erratas into it, including all the unofficial ones..... that would be awesome.

FFG generally does this when they make re-prints.

 

I noticed in my latest playthrough of the Shadow Rune, the Quest guide has definitely been altered because in "The Man Who Would Be King," Splig is corrected to being on the other side of the door. Also, a couple of the OL cards have been reprinted (like Reinforce and Bloodlust.) In some cases, they are indeed updating the product to reflect changes, and I appreciate that- however, I didn't actually buy Descent until recently, as I had been playing with a friend of mine and his older copy.

 

Also, Indalecio- "while" probably would be more grammatically correct than "when"- but this is English we're talking about- who ACTUALLY uses it correctly?

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, Indalecio- "while" probably would be more grammatically correct than "when"- but this is English we're talking about- who ACTUALLY uses it correctly?

 

Yeah, that's a shame. Would be interesting to see if other languages are doing a better job for this particular point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Also, Indalecio- "while" probably would be more grammatically correct than "when"- but this is English we're talking about- who ACTUALLY uses it correctly?

 

Yeah, that's a shame. Would be interesting to see if other languages are doing a better job for this particular point.

 

In the French translation, there is the same errata in the original version, because it is made very early, as the French staff says. Sometimes it also happens that small additional errors occur and are not detected during the review phase. 
However, as the base box will be republished, the corrections will be incorporated.
Edited by Albrafeust

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know I won't get my rules book automatically replaced and free of charge, but I would gladly sink some money into acquiring the new version of the rules book if it ever gets released, and maybe some of the revamped cards as well. Unfortunateley I am not aware of any FFG game with that sort of product line, although it would actually be very useful for people like me. I don't see myself printing tons of erratas and FAQs and bring them to every session, the information needs to be centralized somehow otherwise there are too many sources with conflicting interpretations.

Edited by Indalecio

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0