Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
garygoodjob

"Across the Jundland Wastes" Question

5 posts in this topic

So my friends and I haven't seemed to be clear on the understanding of this.  When a unit is focused to strike the rules say to place the token on it THEN to resolve the icons in order.  However, for the objective set Across the Jundland Wastes, it says "when a Character unit is focused to strike, place 1 focus token on that unit."  So when a unit is committed to the force do you place the 2 tokens on that unit and then 1 more for that Forced Reaction and THEN resolve the icons?  I'm a bit confused on if a focus token is placed on a card when focused to strike and still gets the other 1 or 2 focus tokens on it for striking whether it is or isn't committed to the force.  Thanks all!

Edited by garygoodjob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

focusing to strike its like a cost, you focus and strike after that, without being interrupted.

 

so you put two focus to strike (apply damage) then reaction put an other focus.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

focusing to strike its like a cost, you focus and strike after that, without being interrupted.

 

so you put two focus to strike (apply damage) then reaction put an other focus.

Not quite the correct timing.  Reaction and Interrupt abilities can indeed happen in the middle of the strike process.  In this case, Across the Jundland Wastes has a Reaction to focusing to strike, so it happens immediately after the unit focuses and before resolving the icons.

 

For the original question:

- If the unit is not committed, you'll place a single focus as part of the strike, then a single focus from Jundland Wastes, then resolve your combat icons (ends with 2 focus tokens)

- If the unit is committed, you'll place 2 focus tokens as part of the strike, then a single focus from Jundland Wastes, then resolve your combat icons (ends with 3 focus tokens).

PBrennan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stand corrected. That's the same reason why, with a Dark Memories, you could die before applying damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stand corrected. That's the same reason why, with a Dark Memories, you could die before applying damage.

Yep, which is why I even bothered correcting as it usually won't matter when the extra focus token is placed from Jundland Wastes (unless Dark Memories is present).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0