Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
The Hunter

Crypt Keeper question

5 posts in this topic

An evil defeats the crypt keeper and draws the top 5 cards from the adventure deck.

Only one object is drawn, which is the holy grail.

Since evil characters can not take this, what happens to the object.

Does this get discarded, or ditched on the space where the crypt keeper was defeated?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

An evil defeats the crypt keeper and draws the top 5 cards from the adventure deck.

Only one object is drawn, which is the holy grail.

Since evil characters can not take this, what happens to the object.

Does this get discarded, or ditched on the space where the crypt keeper was defeated?

 

Crypt Keeper

If you kill the Crypt Keeper you may search his tomb for treasure. Draw the top 5 Adventure Cards and take 1 Object of your choice. Discard the remaining cards. It will remain here until it is killed.

 

Checking the card's wording, it says that any remaining cards are discarded. If you cannot take any Object, then all Objects are part of the "remaining cards" and must be discarded.

Edited by The_Warlock

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We play it the other way. You've to choose the holy grail, but as you can't have it you have to ditch it on your space, as if you had drawn it normally. Tough luck either way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We play it the other way. You've to choose the holy grail, but as you can't have it you have to ditch it on your space, as if you had drawn it normally. Tough luck either way.

 

This is of course the other possible interpretation, but I tried to point out that this one is not correct in this particular case.

 

The Keeper reads "take 1 Object of your choice", not "choose 1 Object to take"; if all available Objects are Objects you cannot take, then you can neither take nor choose them. They all stay in the group of "remaining cards" and get discarded.

 

Of course if this was clear as the sun, probably the question won't have been asked, but I think that treating those cards "as if you had drawn them normally" is going a bit over the instructions as written on the card. These are not cards drawn normally, they're drawn to grant a special reward which might be either one Object or even nothing. I don't think a character can take 1 Object of his choice that he cannot have, so in that special case he cannot choose an Object and must discard everything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0