Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Khamul The Easterling

Into Fangorn Setup

5 posts in this topic

So in Into Fangorn setup, it says to:

 

Add Edge of Fangorn to staging area - OK

Attach Mugash to Edge of Fangorn - Mugash is Guarded, but we are attaching him to an already revealed location (Edge of Fangorn) 

 

So, do I add Mugash to Edge of Fangorn and that is sufficient for his text "Guarded"?  Or do I attach him to Edge of fangorn AND add another guard making it 3 cards stacked?

Or do I attach Mugash to Edge of Fangorn, Explore Edge of Fangorn, Put Mugash back in staging area and reveal a new card for his guarded keyword?

 

Quite confusing to me......

Thanks,

Khamul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule Book p 24:

The guarded keyword is a reminder on some objective
cards to reveal and attach the next card of the encounter
deck to the objective when it enters the staging area
from the encounter deck
 
FAQ 1.01:
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be
resolved any time the card on which they occur is
revealed from the encounter deck, including during
setup.
 
Since Mugash is not revealed nor does he enter the staging area "from the encounter deck" during the setup then his guarded keyword technically does not trigger so you only attach him as instructed. I guess the guarded is for the eventuality that he gets shuffled into the encounter deck.
You do not attach a card to Mugash when you explore Edge of Fangorn. Mugash is not at this point being revealed so guarded does not trigger.
Edited by Nerdmeister

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm. OK. Still, I think it's odd he has Guarded JUST for the chance of being in the encounter deck AND being revealed.  That just doesn't seem right.........

 

Well, if that's how you guys are all playing it, I'll do it too.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm. OK. Still, I think it's odd he has Guarded JUST for the chance of being in the encounter deck AND being revealed.  That just doesn't seem right.........

 

Well it is quite possible in this scenario as Mugash will get shuffled back into the encounter deck if you run out of time counters on the quest card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, if the hero guarding him is damaged, Mugash pops back onto the top of the encounter deck, and is then revealed next staging and is guarded. It's a neat mechanic, and actually almost lost me a game one time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0