Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
The Professor

Consolidate Power Inquiry

9 posts in this topic

Lords and Ladies of Westeros,

 

     I've read through the rules and have one question in multiple parts (at the moment) regarding Consolidate Power rules.   The examples used on-line and in the rules seem to indicate that if a player places a Consolidate Power token in an area containing the "Crown" icon, the player receives 2 Power Tokens.   Here's the question, with multiple parts:

 

How many Power Tokens does a player receive if the player places...

  • a Consolidate Power token in an area with no "Crown" icon?
  • any other (or no) token in an area with a "Crown" icon?

     I'm trying to reconcile the various answers...it seems evident to me that there must be a way of garnering 0 or even 1 Power Token, but it's not completely clear.

 

     Thanks in advance for your assistance.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Edited by The Professor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A player placing a CP Order in a space with no crown symbol printed there receives 1 PT.

A player placing a CP order in a space with 1, or more, crown symbols, receives 1 PT + 1 PT for each

crown symbol in the space.  If a CP Order token is placed in King's Landing for example, that player would

receive 3 PT's; alternatively if a CP Order token is placed in a space with 1 crown symbol, the player placing the CP Order token would receive 2 PT's.

 

Ships in ports, if the adjacent sea space is friendly-controlled, or free of opponent ships, generates 1 PT when

a CP Order token is placed there.

 

All of the above assume the CP Order token is not raided, and survives to the resolve CP Order step of the Action Phase.

 

The CP* Order token (or "Special" CP Order token), presuming the given player is allowed to place Star Order tokens, when placed in a space with a Castle or Stronghold, allows the placing player to muster units based on the muster points of the respective Castle or Stronghold: a Castle renders 1 muster point, a Stronghold renders 2 muster points.  Again, the CP* Order token must survive to the resolve CP Orders step of the Action Phase; ie, it must not be raided nor removed due to the space being successfully invaded by an opponent player.

 

You are probably already aware of this, but remember that Order tokens may not be placed in spaces that do not have units in them, a garrison or a PT placed on the game board to establish control do not allow the placement of Order tokens, only when a unit is present may an Order token be placed in a given space by the respective player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
How many Power Tokens does a player receive if the player places...
  • a Consolidate Power token in an area with no "Crown" icon?
  • any other (or no) token in an area with a "Crown" icon?

 

If you place a CP Order in an Area with no Crown, you get 1 Power

 

If you place any other Order (or no Order) in an Area with a Crown, you get 0 Power.

 

If you place a CP Order in King's Landing (2 Crowns Printed), you get 3 Power.

 

During the Consolidate Power Orders Step (Step 4 of the Action Phase), CP Orders are resolved.  If you have no such Orders, you do not resolve them, which means you get no Power.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

kauai1964,

 

     Thank you for your response.  Again, I didn't see it as clearly in the text as what you've provided here.

 

SFRR,

 

     I appreciate delving a bit deeper into other examples, as well!

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question about the special consolidate power token: If it's placed on a castle or stronghold like King's Landing or Dragonstone and the player chooses to use it's mustering ability:
1. Does the player get the points of mustering provided by the castle or stronghold (2 points in the cases of King's Landing and Dragonstone) AND also the additional power tokens from the icons that are printed on the areas of the castle/stronghold that would be gained plus the one power token for the consolidate power token if it had used it's normal ability? OR
2. Does the player get the points of mustering, and then ignore the printed power icons despite having played a consolidate power order?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also have a question about pillaging:
1. Does one get only 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token (and your opponent must then discard one if they are able to) OR
2. Does one get 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token AND 1 power token for each power icon printed on the area that is being raided (just as your opponent would have if they had been able to resolve their token)?
For example, if one raided a consolidate power token from King's Landing, do you get 1 power token for the pillage, or 3 power tokens total for the 1 token and the 2 printed icons (and does your opponent then discard 1, or 3, of their power tokens)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question about the special consolidate power token: If it's placed on a castle or stronghold like King's Landing or Dragonstone and the player chooses to use it's mustering ability:

1. Does the player get the points of mustering provided by the castle or stronghold (2 points in the cases of King's Landing and Dragonstone) AND also the additional power tokens from the icons that are printed on the areas of the castle/stronghold that would be gained plus the one power token for the consolidate power token if it had used it's normal ability? OR

2. Does the player get the points of mustering, and then ignore the printed power icons despite having played a consolidate power order?

Rulebook says Muster OR Consolidate.  If you Muster, you get no Power.

Edited by kauai1964

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also have a question about pillaging:

1. Does one get only 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token (and your opponent must then discard one if they are able to) OR

2. Does one get 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token AND 1 power token for each power icon printed on the area that is being raided (just as your opponent would have if they had been able to resolve their token)?

For example, if one raided a consolidate power token from King's Landing, do you get 1 power token for the pillage, or 3 power tokens total for the 1 token and the 2 printed icons (and does your opponent then discard 1, or 3, of their power tokens)?

RULEBOOK, PAGE 14:

 

If a Raid Order is used to remove an opponent’s Consolidate

Power Order token, the raiding player is said to be pillaging his

opponent. After resolving the Raid Order, the pillaging player

receives one Power token from the Power Pool and the opponent

discards one of his available power tokens to the Power Pool, if

able. The pillaging player always gains one token from the Power

Pool, even if the opponent has none available to lose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0