Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
awp832

"Timed" on Search For Mugash and Orc Hunter

3 posts in this topic

So,   on the Search For Mugash card it reads:  

Time 2:  Forced:  After the last time counter is removed from this stage, shuffle the discard pile into the encounter deck and reveal 2 cards per player.   Place 2 time counters on this stage.

So,   Am I correct to say that the 2 cards/player you reveal are not added to the staging area?   Only their "when revealed" effects are triggered.    It does not say that they are added to the staging area, in contrast to say:  Ambush on the Shore 3b:  which reads:  "Reveal 2 encounter cards per player and add them to the staging area."

I figured since these cards are not revealed during the staging step of the quest phase, they are therefore not added to the staging area.   

What about Orc Hunter?  Again it says "Reveal an additional encounter card" but it does not say anything about it being added to the staging area.   Assuming you choose this option,  would the revealed card be added to the staging area?    Orc Hunter might be revealed during the staging step of the quest phase,  or he might not  (say, if he were a result of the 2 cards/player revealed after Timed2 on search for Mugash runs out).    

Is the revealed card being added to the staging area therefore dependent on what effect revealed Orc Hunter in the first place?

I find a lot of this quest to be very poorly worded and confusing,  I am a new player.
 

-thanks,

a.w.p.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Reveal" and "Reveal and add to the staging area" are the same -- Caleb (designer) confirmed this awhile back (sorry, don't have a link, just memory).  Whenever a card is "revealed" you have to follow the standard procedures... for Locations and Enemies, resolve When Revealed effects and keywords, and add them to the staging area.  

Edited by GrandSpleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's in the FAQ:

"(1.45) “Reveal” vs “Reveal and add”
Any time encounter cards are “revealed” from the 
encounter deck, the players should follow the rules for 
staging as explained on page 14 of the rulebook and 
rule (1.39) of this document.
If a card effect uses the phase “Reveal and add to the 
staging area”, it means the same as simply using the 
word “reveal”, and the above steps should still be 
followed (i.e. treachery cards should still be discarded 
after resolving its effects, unless otherwise indicated by 
the card’s text)."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0