Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
azato

Falcon Question

12 posts in this topic

Lets say that there is a battle, the dark side declares attacker and the light side declares the Falcon as a defender. The dark side damages the Falcon and the falcon initiates the ability to put a character or droid into play.  Since attackers and defenders have been previously declared, does that mean that the unit brought into play cannot be part of the same conflict that the Falcon just left?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends on the unit.

 

For now, any unit drop shipped by the Falcon during an engagement is not a participant.

 

However, in the future there may be a unit with text similar to Kyle, Cloud City Operative, Bothan Spy, or Admiral Ackbar that allows it to join an engagement as a participant later, upon entering play.

Edited by Demas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's just put into play. It would have said put it into play as a participating unit in the engagement if it was part of the engagement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No problem, the best reaction example for a future ambush participant is a tweak on DS's Backstabber..."After this unit enters play during an engagement, it may be a participating unit on your side."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another Falcon question. Is it not targeted by the new FAQ ruling that you can't do X if you can not do Y?

 

So if I pull the Falcon up, do I have to put a character/droid into play?

 

If this still works, how is it different than the Ewok objective and Killing Cold? Maybe I am missing something.

 

Thanks.

 

 

JS

Edited by Rogue 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Rogue 4

The Falcon has been essentially errata'd with the new FAQ. The new rules state that you have to be able to resolve at least part of the text on a card. Because there is not two separate parts and it is all one single effect, you must have a character or droid unit in your hand to put into play when you use the Action on the Millennium Falcon.

dan.roettgen likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Rogue 4

The Falcon has been essentially errata'd with the new FAQ. The new rules state that you have to be able to resolve at least part of the text on a card. Because there is not two separate parts and it is all one single effect, you must have a character or droid unit in your hand to put into play when you use the Action on the Millennium Falcon.

It's not so much that the Falcon was errata'd as it is that the rules were errata'd in such a way that the Falcon (as well as a handful of other cards) now work differently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's worth using the terminology. Returning the Falcon to your hand is the "cost" of its ability. If you can't put something into play, you would be triggering the ability just to pay the cost - which is what that new FAQ entry is prohibiting more than anything else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

@Rogue 4

The Falcon has been essentially errata'd with the new FAQ. The new rules state that you have to be able to resolve at least part of the text on a card. Because there is not two separate parts and it is all one single effect, you must have a character or droid unit in your hand to put into play when you use the Action on the Millennium Falcon.

It's not so much that the Falcon was errata'd as it is that the rules were errata'd in such a way that the Falcon (as well as a handful of other cards) now work differently.

 

Why I said the word essentially. If I had just stated that the Falcon itself was errata'd, then I would have been incorrect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0