Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Wolfgar

Do Children of Abhoth go to the Outskirts?

4 posts in this topic

Like it says in the title. I was playing a game of Arkham Thursday against Abhoth (Joe Diamond, Sister Mary, and Hank Samson; Win by Final Battle) and the children kept getting sent to the Outskirts because we were all in the Other Worlds at the time. So, my questions are

 

1) Do they go to the Outskirts if they appear if they would exceed the monster limit?

 

2) Are they placed before or after the monsters from the surge are placed?

 

3) Do they count as part of total monsters that appear, or are they separate?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll state right up front that Children of Abhoth are Spawn monsters, as indicated by the red circle on the front of the monster. Spawn monsters have a few unique properties, the most relevant of which is that they don't count against the monster limit and never go to the outskirts. So:

 

1) They don't go to the Outskirts, period.

2) The order doesn't matter because they can't be sent to the Outskirts

3) They are independent of the monsters placed. You place the monsters produced by the surge and then add the Child.

Edited by Tibs
The Professor likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wolfgar,

 

     Tibs has this one answered 'spot-on' from myriad sources.  For some reason, this question regarding Spawn monsters is asked with fairly great frequency in different forms.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

See, I didn't think them winding up in the Outskirts seemed right, but I couldn't place my finger on the exact rule. Thanks guys!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0