Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jabberwoky

Dual-Wielding Hellpistols

24 posts in this topic

I am led to believe that a Hellpistol is a powerful laspistol connected to a battery pack by a thick cord where it draws power, usually held in place like a backpack.

 

Thus, is it possible to dual-wield Hellpistols? Since each weapon has a cord and backpack to power it, would that make them too cumbersome to dual-wield?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is allowed. I remeber that in one book, some badass storm trooper sarge, wielded two hellguns with pistol grips or recoil gloves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is nothing preventing this. You just need to keep in mind that there's two small backpacks, which might take up space, limiting your mobility or how much you can carry.

But there's realistically nothing preventing you from dual-wielding Hellpistols at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, a large backpack ammo pack holds 200 rounds...

(Although I houserule that it holds 200 heavy weapon, 300 basic weapon, and 400 pistol weapon rounds.)

But I don't see why not, honestly. It would take a bit of jury rigging, but totally doable.

Although the idea of reloading those things has alsays been weird to me. I mean, who walks around with multiple backpacks? At that point you might as well just have 1 big backpack and save yourself the trouble.

El_Jairo likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would infer they get hooked to the same backpack in most cases. Would halve your ammo, but...

That is how I would do it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure the hellpistol battery isn't so much a backpack sized object as it's more a quart sized belt mounted object.

Well, in The Inquisitors Handbook (it was the one closest to me) has a little dagger symbol next to the weight of both the hellgun and hellpistol, which says "not including power backpack".

Then again, it's DH. Might be changed in newer books.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure the hellpistol battery isn't so much a backpack sized object as it's more a quart sized belt mounted object.

There's both kinds. For example, Stormtroopers with full Hellguns and equipment regularly have backpack-sized batteries.

Hellpistols, afaik, usually have belt-mounted batteries the size of a small car battery.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am led to believe that a Hellpistol is a powerful laspistol connected to a battery pack by a thick cord where it draws power, usually held in place like a backpack.

 

Thus, is it possible to dual-wield Hellpistols? Since each weapon has a cord and backpack to power it, would that make them too cumbersome to dual-wield?

 

its an excellent idea; in my old campaigns the RT's PA had a pair of packs hooked to HPs he could duel weild.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no reason why you wouldn't be able to dual wield Hellpistols.  Though if memory serves I don't think you are REQUIRED to have an external power supply for it.  I remember I had an old Explorator that ran with hellguns and I was very excited when I was finally able to procure a backpack power supply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm looking into a similar situation.  I would like to twin-link hellpistols.

 

I'm assuming you could use just the one 10kg powerpack, but the clip size would still be 40.  So you would be using 2 shots everytime (or 4 shots with semi-auto?)

 

My question is how would you do a semi auto burst using twin-linked? Also does red-dot sight bonus stack with the twin-linked bonus?

 

Semi-auto burst states (+10 to BS, additional hit for every two degrees of success.)

 

twin linked states (A weapon with the Twin-linked Quality gains a +20% bonus to hit when fired and uses twice as much ammunition. In addition, the weapon may score one additional hit if the attack roll succeeds by two or more degrees of success.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Red Dot only works with single shot, but should work with Twin-linked.

 

As for the Twin-linked Burst, here's what I get:

+30 to BS (burst +10, twinlinked +20).

Degrees of succes - result

failure - nada.

Success - 1 hit

2-3 DoS - 3 hits (1 base +1 for BF +1 for TL)

4-5 DoS - 4 hits

etc, to a max of RoF+1

 

makes sense?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also Motion Predictors are a scope designed to give +10 to BS on Semi/Full-Auto only which would be a better scope choice.

 

Incidentally, how do you/your group handle the Twin-Linked upgrade? Apart from an Orkish upgrade, I haven't found any rules that indicate how you would make a weapon Twin-Linked, so I've assumed they have to be deliberately designed that way. Am I overlooking something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think motion predictors are actually a scope.

Depends on which version you are reading. In Rogue Trader, it doesn't count as a Sight, but in Deathwatch, it does.

When it comes to the "one sight only" rule, I would recommend going with the house rule I use myself. Rather than to restrict a weapon from having a single sight, restrict the characters from using more than one at any one time.

That way, you can have a Red-Dot Laser Sight and a Scope at the same time, but obviously, the Red-Dot Laser Sight would give no bonus bonuses when using the Scope (and vice-versa; frankly, at extreme ranges, why would the Red-Dot Laser Sight give a bonus at all?).

Similarly, the Motion Predictor would not be usable with other scopes, and consists of a small display at the side of the weapon, used for auto-targeting and tracking.

 

By RAW, though? If Rogue Trader only, then no, you are entirely correct. Motion Predictor is not a Sight.

Lynata likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also Motion Predictors are a scope designed to give +10 to BS on Semi/Full-Auto only which would be a better scope choice.

Incidentally, how do you/your group handle the Twin-Linked upgrade? Apart from an Orkish upgrade, I haven't found any rules that indicate how you would make a weapon Twin-Linked, so I've assumed they have to be deliberately designed that way. Am I overlooking something?

Dark Heresy's Ascension has rules for Combi-Weapons, which are.. a bit wonky. Combi-Weapons are basically Twin-Linked weapons that consists of two different weapons, whereas Twin-Linked weapons are two weapons of the same kind.

There are no specific rules anywhere for the creation of Twin-Linked weapons.

I would say that the creation of a Twin-Linked weapon or Combi-Weapons are involved processes, perhaps doubling all negative Acquisition modifiers (Very Rare -10 becoming -20) and halving all positive Acquisition modifiers.(Negligible Scale +30 becomes +15). Similarly, creating a Combi-Weapon or Twin-Linked weapon would likely require not only access to the weapons, but several hard Armourer Skill Tests.

Then I'd use the Twin-Linked Special Quality rules from Only War. I don't remember if they're identical to the Rogue Trader rules, I just remember that the rules have changed a couple of times throughout the books, and that I made the call to use the Only War rules because some of the other rules (such as Black Crusade) were utterly retarded.

But that's just me.

I'm looking into a similar situation.  I would like to twin-link hellpistols.

 

I'm assuming you could use just the one 10kg powerpack, but the clip size would still be 40.  So you would be using 2 shots everytime (or 4 shots with semi-auto?)

 

My question is how would you do a semi auto burst using twin-linked? Also does red-dot sight bonus stack with the twin-linked bonus?

 

Semi-auto burst states (+10 to BS, additional hit for every two degrees of success.)

 

twin linked states (A weapon with the Twin-linked Quality gains a +20% bonus to hit when fired and uses twice as much ammunition. In addition, the weapon may score one additional hit if the attack roll succeeds by two or more degrees of success.)

I have a very hard time seeing Hellpistols being Twin-Linked without becoming a Basic weapon or something. In fact, I have a hard time seeing most Pistol weapons being Twin-Linked.

I also don't think that the standard 10kg Power-Pack would be enough - the Power Packs used by Hellpistols (and Hellguns) are more than just charge packs strapped together. They're capacitors and specialized equipment. If you plug two Hellpistols into a single Power Pack, I'd expect some difficulties, especially if they fire at the same time.

As for Red-Dot Laser Sight stacking with any potential bonus from Twin-Linked, that's a yes. That's only for single shots, though (brought up to two shots by being Twin-Linked).

I'm not sure if I understand what you mean with the question about Semi-Auto Burst, though. You simply do the attack as usual, applying the effects of Twin-Linked independently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0