Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AussieJedi

Removal from the force and subsequent bonuses

7 posts in this topic

I have a unit committed to the force, lets say a Force Wraith  and also have The Imperial Inquisitor out whose card text reads: " Reaction: After an enemy unit is removed from the force by a card effect, remove 1 focus token from this unit."

 

A card that killed The Force Wraith was played, I think it was Force Lightning, therefore technically removing the Wraith from the force as he is no longer contributing his two Force icons to the struggle in each phase.

 

My question is that does The Imperial Inquisitor's reaction trigger? OR will it need to be a card played that SPECIFICALLY says remove from the force struggle.

 

It didnt have an overbearing effect on the game, as it was over in the very next turn, so I didnt resolve the reaction, but it could be important.

 

Some help would be great.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The unit was removed from the Force as a result of being killed. It was an indirect result of playing Force Lightning, not a direct result. So the Reaction ability cannot be used in this instance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed,

 

The key here is "After an enemy unit is removed from the force by a card effect".

 

It isn't being removed from the force by a card effect, the unit is killed outright, and the Force card is put back into the pile as per the normal rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only reason I ask was because the Card effect of Force lightning did actually remove the card via the damage dealt. 

 

Just trying to think outside the box.

 

Thanks for the clarification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0