Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
any2cards

I have my copy of Shadows of Nerekhall. Questions?

43 posts in this topic

i havent had the time yet to go much further than look at the new cards and have a peak at the new tiles. but one thing i noticed is that some of the joiner tiles that go from one tileset to another have their weird green things, are they supposed to be portals ?  does that fit into the story line of the quests that use them ?

Edited by BentoSan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i havent had the time yet to go much further than look at the new cards and have a peak at the new tiles. but one thing i noticed is that some of the joiner tiles that go from one tileset to another have their weird green things, are they supposed to be portals ?  does that fit into the story line of the quests that use them ?

 

Yes.  Don't forget that not only does this campaign take place in Nerekhall, but in the Black Realm as well, which is the home of the Ynfernaels. 

BentoSan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did get my copy last week, but I have one thought if you want to use the roumer cards from Lair of Wyrm and Trollfens the Travel step will not work because you have new travel cards to Nerekhall that is not the same symbols.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

then let common sense prevail, its blatantly obvious what their ruling is going to be

Edited by BentoSan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess this means that with every mini expansion that uses city travel cards they are going to have to supply a fair few of these cards or players will be drawing from a measly sized deck if they do not own a city expansion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

quick question, in ACT 1 Rylan O. is controlled by the heroes a lot.  Do they use his lieutenant card for stats or does he just not have attack or defense options?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mines coming in on Thursday. Hearing the "no Splig" remarks will make my GF very happy... she hates that fat little bugger...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

quick question, in ACT 1 Rylan O. is controlled by the heroes a lot.  Do they use his lieutenant card for stats or does he just not have attack or defense options?

 

They use his lieutenant card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aw, jealous!

 

Does Lady Eliza or Belthir appear in the main quests, since they weren't in Labyrinth of Ruin?

 

 

I'm really disapointed about this, but only the new lieutenants appears on SoN. So, no Farrow members, no Splig, no Belthir, only Rylan and Thystaine Olliven, Verminous and Gargan Mirklace. That's really bad :(

 

Actually this is good.

 

If you buy the Lieutenant packs of your favorite Lieutenants then you can use them as Agents in any of the new quests offered by Shadows Of Nerekhall by swapping them with an open monster group.

 

Many of the Agents cannot be played in a quest and sometimes a whole campaign that normally features them. And Visa-versa you can use the Lieutenants from Shadows of Nerekrall in the other campaigns to add new spice and story elements to older quests that you many or may not have already played. The Plot cards, threat and fortune add great flavor to the game too. 

 

And you can always use the Quest Vault to design your own quest to slip into Shadows campaign using Lieutenants and items from the other expansions.

 

FFG are producing a great 'sandbox' product that scratches the itch that conventional RPG's don't scratch.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can use agent in campaign that features them, only the "boss" cannot.

So, Merrick and Eliza in Nerekhall wouldn't have been a mess, and could have been used as agents too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can use agent in campaign that features them, only the "boss" cannot.

So, Merrick and Eliza in Nerekhall wouldn't have been a mess, and could have been used as agents too.

 

Note that they specified (emphasis mine) "cannot be played in a quest and sometimes a whole campaign". You cannot summon Eliza as an Agent where she already appears as a Lieutenant, so if Eliza was in some Nerekhall quests, the utility of her Summon card is diminished compared to using a Lieutenant Pack for a Lieutenant that you'll never encounter normally in the quests since you know you'll have the option to use that Summon card in every quest.

Edited by griton

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0