Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
reynierotero

Zebulon Whateley Question

36 posts in this topic

Yup, sorry for hijacking the thread.

 

As said, rules seem to be pretty clear on how long a spell cast remains in effect, so that Zebulon seems to allow recasting of the same spell in case the usual conditions are met.

 

If you cast it and fail, you can't use that hand for that round of combat, but that's it, you can refresh & recast and use it with your other hand. Point is that using a spell "blocks" you one (or two hands), not having the card exhausted.

 

If you're still bothered by this, just play it the way you feel more comfortable with. Or use Ockham's razor and ask FFG, Tim usually is rather quick in covering Arkham questions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Semiaddict,

If I understand her position entirely, I'm in full agreement with Julia. While an Investigator with this Ally may fail to cast the spell and lose the ability of that hand AND exhaust the spell, he may un-exhaust it the very next round against the same monster in combat. Additionally, if an Investigator were to cast Wither and defeat a Cultist in the location, alongside a Ghoul, the Investigator, through the use of the Ally may unexhaust the Wither Spell and attempt to defeat the Ghoul. He's a great Ally.

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 3 of the official arkham FAQ version 2.0 states:

 

 
Weapons and Spell Limits
(page 15 in the first printing of the
Arkham Horror
rules)
A spell or weapon that gives you a bonus (even one that
says it lasts until the end of combat) only continues to give
you the bonus while you devote the required number of
hands to it. You can choose to switch weapons/spells in
later combat rounds, but as soon as you “release” a spell or
weapon, it stops working for you. Similarly, spells that are
refreshed (such as at the beginning of each combat round
in the Final Battle) cease to work and must be re-cast.

 

 
 
So yeah, using Zebulon on a wither in the middle of battle basically nullifies that wither.  But it can be used to recast a failed spell (though this takes up another hand if done in the SAME round of combat) or to use the spell again against a second monster.
 
Thanks for all the input :)
Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOL

 

I missed this part in the FAQ entry I quoted earlier

 

"Similarly, spells that are refreshed (such as at the beginning of each combat roundin the Final Battle) cease to work and must be re-cast"

 

Then you're totally correct (and Tibs was correct as well). Sorry guys for the misleading answer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia,

 

     No problem, my friend!  By the, I'm home safe and sound...Susan is still in Germany visiting a school friend from Hong Kong.

 

Reynier,

 

    I hope my post made sense as that's exactly what I stated and how I play it.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I took Julia's advice and went to FFG on this.  Here's the response (not from Tim but from Daniel Clark):

 

In the case of Zebulon Whateley refreshing a failed Shriveling spell, the hand is not now free to use a new item or spell - the rules on page 16 indicate that it takes up a hand even if the casting check fails and only refers to switching items in future combat rounds. However, the Investigator could attempt to cast the Shriveling spell again (paying all costs and making a new check). 
 
This would seem to indicate that though a failed cast takes up a hand, it can still be recast in the same round using Zeb's ability, and would also leave the other hand free, whether the recast for the first hand worked or not. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And this is in clear contrast with the quoted FAQ:

 

"Similarly, spells that are refreshed (such as at the beginning of each combat roundin the Final Battle) cease to work and must be re-cast"

 

This is the second time in few days that Daniel gives an answer not compatible with the rules. Really, I miss Tim

 

EDIT: I misread the implications of the answer. Thanks Tibs

Edited by Julia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia: I think you should scrutinize Dan's answer again. I don't think he's saying that refreshing it allows the bonuses to stack: I think he's saying that, by virtue of the fact that you failed the check in the first place, you're still forced to make the first combat check with that hand used up. Whether or not you get the +6 bonus will depend on whether or not you attempt to cast it again before making the combat check and pass.

 

Note that Dan is referring to if you failed the spell check the first time and would like another go at it. He has not indicated that you could pass the check, refresh the spell, and then immediately pass it again to get a +12 for the next combat round.

SemiAddict likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0