Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
SemiAddict

Encounters that Close Gates

7 posts in this topic

A KH encounter at the Science Building allows a player who passes its check to turn over the top three Mythos cards and choose one.  If the chosen card has an open gate as its gate location symbol, that gate is sealed.

 

This is obviously not one of the types of encounters referred to in the 12/12 FAQ, which allow the closing of a gate, but neither the taking of a trophy nor the sealing of the gate.  However, it raises a couple of questions:

 

(1) Since the gate is sealed, may the trophy be taken?  I lean towards yes, since we know that a trophy may even be taken after reading De Vermiis Mysteriis, which only closes a gate without sealing it.

 

(2) Are the three Mythos cards returned to the top of the deck, or discarded?  I feel that this is not like the use of Mythos cards as a location finder (such as for a Rift or a Servant of Glaaki), and is more like casting an Arcane Insight spell, only that the reward is the sealing of a gate rather than the opportunity to re-arrange the cards.  Therefore, I returned the cards to the top of the deck in the same order as I found them.

 

Any feedback on this will be appreciated!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sure! Here we go:

 

1. Nope, you cannot take the trophy. Ref: FAQ; pag 3 (emphasys mine):

 

Some encounters or other card effects state that a gate closes or that the investigator may close a gate if they wish. In such cases, the gate marker is not taken as a trophy, but is instead placed on the bottom of the gate marker stack. This gate cannot be sealed, even if the current player has an Elder Sign, sufficient Clue tokens to seal it, or both.

 

2. The Mythos are discarded. Ref: FAQ, pag 10:

 

Q: When a card or other game effect instructs a player to draw a Mythos Card outside of the Mythos Phase, does the card have any effect beyond that described by that specific game effect?
A: No. It is discarded without further effect.

 

Even though this entry refers to a single Mythos Card, I don't see any problems in considering the three Mythos pool in the same way: they are instructed to be drawn by a game effect and after resolving that effect they are discarded.

 

Hope this helps :)

 

JULIA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1:

Regarding that the gate may not only be closed but sealed this statement of the FAQ might be not enough. I don't know, but it does not match perfectly. But I cannot give any better advice here. :(

Edited by Schwaig
Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia, you were right on this!  Here's the FFG answer (Daniel Clark):

 

Even if the specific encounter overrides the rule that encounters cannot seal gates, the gate is still not taken as a trophy. This is true even of Other World encounters. 
 
If an investigator returns to Arkham through a different gate than the one he or she entered through, and the Other World encounter that returned him or her to Arkham also closed the gate he or she entered through, that gate is not taken as a trophy. However, the new gate that the investigator arrived at can be closed and sealed normally, since the investigator will have an Explored token. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...and having the patience to actually receive a response. :P  Seriously, it's great to have someone on the front lines asking these questions.  If you do get a chance, however, the FAQ, while massive, is complete and cogent with 95% of the answers agreed upon by the majority of players.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0