Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ArchibaldStark

Ilyn Payne rule clarification

Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

Please help us with clarification about correct Ilyn Payne house card playing. Our situation: Lannisters play ser Ilyn Payne house card, and wins against Martells. As result Lannister chooses to destroy lone dornish footman in The Boneway, where is placed March Order, but exactly in The Boneway retreats losing Martell troops, so the question - what happens first, Martell retreat and accordingly March order stays OR first reveals Ilyn Payne ability and accordingly dornishmen loses his March order from The Boneway?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by ArchibaldStark

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the FAQ, Page 1

 

Q: If a House card’s text ability says “after
combat...,” when is that card resolved?

A: At the end of the Combat Clean Up step of
Combat Resolution (after played House cards are
discarded to their respective discard piles).

 

From the Rulebook, Page 20

 

6. Combat Resolution

The combat is concluded by performing the following steps:

1. Determine Victor
2. Casualties
3. Retreats and Routing
4. Combat Clean Up

 

---------------

 

Ilyn Payne's text doesn't say "After Combat", but does say "in addition to normal casualties", so my guess would be that the Footman is removed during Casualties step, BEFORE Retreat.

 

This would most likely be a moot point, because if the Boneway now contains only Routed units, they will not be able to March anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the FAQ, Page 1

 

Q: If a House card’s text ability says “after

combat...,” when is that card resolved?

A: At the end of the Combat Clean Up step of

Combat Resolution (after played House cards are

discarded to their respective discard piles).

 

From the Rulebook, Page 20

 

6. Combat Resolution

The combat is concluded by performing the following steps:

1. Determine Victor

2. Casualties

3. Retreats and Routing

4. Combat Clean Up

 

---------------

 

Ilyn Payne's text doesn't say "After Combat", but does say "in addition to normal casualties", so my guess would be that the Footman is removed during Casualties step, BEFORE Retreat.

 

This would most likely be a moot point, because if the Boneway now contains only Routed units, they will not be able to March anyway.

 

I agree with your ruling. It can be important, if fresh Martell troops are marched into the area later in the turn, which can then use the surviving march order. Or it is relevant for other orders like defence, consolidate, and perhaps support (depending on what rules interpretation you go with it).

 

edit - it was also an important distinction in a recent game where a player would have lost a unit due to suppply on the retreat, but didn't because the extra casualty lowered an army elsewhere.

Edited by Amin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...