Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LoneWolf2k1

Question about "The Dawnblade", Encounter 2

4 posts in this topic

Hi,

 

just finished "The Dawnblade", but I noticed something curious...

The heroes had pretty much stomped out the open groups but in doing so did not kill off a red shadow dragon at the entrance  of the Dragon's Lair and I happened to have a "Dash" on hand.

 

Said dragon was able to reach the Entrance, thus winning the scenario for the OL, in 3 move actions (2 moves + dash), making this victory taste quite hollow...

 

Is this supposed to be possible? I looked it up online but, seemingly, noone had this "problem" yet. Not that I'd mind winning once in a while (the heroes in our campaign only lost 1 scenario so far with only 1 left in act II) but this "Oh.. you did not completely block the path. Oops. Insta-Death" really seems strange to me...

Edited by LoneWolf2k1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I can tell, the Shadow Dragon, even with Dash can only just barely reach the Entrance via expanding onto it, but would then have no more movement points with which to move off the map. (Be sure to read the section "Moving Off The Map" on p. 9 of the rulebook)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Must agree with Lonewolf2k1, is a weird victory condition. Since this victory for the OL would make the the Heroes go, "Whoops this Dawnblade that they have in our hands, I'll just hand this over to the OL as a Dragon had got away". Just doesn't sit quite right.

 

When this happened to our group. We decided to play on. With the OL allowed to use the Shadow Dragon as one of his open group. But the fate of the Weird stone decided which side won or lost the encounter. Worked for us :)

jadedbacon likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like this quest was written before they had thought of having bonus objectives like what you see in LoR and Trollfens.  House ruling that the OL can use Shadow Dragons if one escapes, but isn't used as a victory condition seems like a fine alternative imho.

Edited by jadedbacon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0