Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Chav

Multiple attacks

7 posts in this topic

Hey guys

So it just came up today, the vulcrux reavers or how they are spell have skirmish, move 3 spaces and make an atrack. Can they make an attack action as well for a total of 2 attacks a turn?

We though yes, as the rules state you can only make one attack, as in one attack action each turn. Thats also why say an element using fire can make an attack and fire the same turn, but with the reavers we aint sure.

So whats true, and why?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since in the skirmish action the reavers make an attack. It would count as their attack for that turn (except for the master who has ravage).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any skill monsters have that includes an attack takes up their attack action, as people have said, so only the master reaver can do so (since he has Ravage).

 

Skirmish is best used to move forward and attack, then a move action to move away from the heroes, forcing them to waste fatigue or move actions to keep up with the reavers, or to hide the reavers behind a large, tough enemy like a shadow dragon or ettin or some such creature, forcing them to kill the creature while being slaughtered by the reavers.

Atomsmasher and rfisha like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats also why say an element using fire can make an attack and fire the same turn, but with the reavers we aint sure.

 

As far as I know Elementals cant do this. All actions marked with an "action arrow" counts as the monsters one attack action per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thats also why say an element using fire can make an attack and fire the same turn, but with the reavers we aint sure.

 

As far as I know Elementals cant do this. All actions marked with an "action arrow" counts as the monsters one attack action per turn.

 

 

This is correct.

 

EDIT: sort of, only if it says it counts as an attack in the arrow action, which Fire does.

Edited by Whitewing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thats also why say an element using fire can make an attack and fire the same turn, but with the reavers we aint sure.

 

As far as I know Elementals cant do this. All actions marked with an "action arrow" counts as the monsters one attack action per turn.

 

 

You are correct, but for the wrong reasons.

 

Elementals can't attack and use Fire because fire specifically says that it is an attack.

 

If an action (which by necessity will be marked with an action arrow, because it is an action) doesn't mention that an attack is made, then it doesn't count against the "1 attack per turn" limit. So for example, an Elemental can either:

 

Do 1 of Fire or a normal Attack and 1 of Earth, Water, Air, Move, Open Door, etc.

Do 2 of Earth, Water, Air, Move, Open Door, etc.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0