Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MavolentBrosa

Just need a little clarification

3 posts in this topic

While playing a game the other day, ran into a differing of opinions with the other player.

 

1) R5-D8.  

   Opinion A.  As it's repair ability is prefaced with "Action:", you must spend your one action per turn to activate it's chance to repair damage, and therefore cannot take a different action, unless you have a free action from something else (i.e. PTL.)

   Opinion B. The action is taken by the Droid and you may take any other actions as normal.

 

2) Expert Handling.

    Opinion A. Similar to #1. You take an action to preform the barrel roll. Cannot take another action, etc etc.

   Opinion B. It's a free action and you may take another action normally.

 

3) Direct hit. (critical damage card)

   Opinion A. You leave the card face up when drawn as a crit. And you just count it as two damage (cannot be repaired by R5-D8.)

   Opinion B. You turn the card face down and draw another damage card face down

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While playing a game the other day, ran into a differing of opinions with the other player.

 

1) R5-D8.  

   Opinion A.  As it's repair ability is prefaced with "Action:", you must spend your one action per turn to activate it's chance to repair damage, and therefore cannot take a different action, unless you have a free action from something else (i.e. PTL.)

   Opinion B. The action is taken by the Droid and you may take any other actions as normal.

Opinion A, hands-down. "Action" is a very specific term in this game. Upgrades don't get activation-phases to themselves ;-)

 

2) Expert Handling.

    Opinion A. Similar to #1. You take an action to preform the barrel roll. Cannot take another action, etc etc.

   Opinion B. It's a free action and you may take another action normally.

Opinion A again. You get an action, wherein you perform a barrel roll and shake off an enemy Target Lock. Then, if you have no Barrel Roll icon in your action bar, you gain a stress.

It's already strictly better than a standard Barrel Roll. Making it actionless is just....broken..

 

3) Direct hit. (critical damage card)

   Opinion A. You leave the card face up when drawn as a crit. And you just count it as two damage (cannot be repaired by R5-D8.)

   Opinion B. You turn the card face down and draw another damage card face down

Opinion A for the hat-trick.

If it auto-drew a second card, Saboteur (which flips up face-down cards) would be played more often. The only cards that resolve themselves into a face-down card tell you to do so.

Note: Direct Hits, and other ship-based crits, can be repaired by the R5 Astromech, into a single generic damage.

haslo, oneway and SableGryphon like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0