Sign in to follow this  
beeble530

Online Play Best Practices

I have some experience gaming online with Google Hangouts and Roll20 and have had some mixed experiences. Sometimes it's technology failures or complications, but sometimes things just don't seem to vibe as well when playing with a virtual tabletop. However, I've heard of and watched (on YouTube) some great online play.

I was hoping that some people who have had success (either long-term or one-shots) with virtual tabletops or Skype/Hangouts could share what they find makes things easier and more comfortable during play, from both a player and a gamemaster's perspective.

Hi, well let me tell you my tips and experience. I am only playing online since I can't find local groups. I played and GMed WFRP3 on maptool and FG2, and now EotE on Roll20. My tips are:

Logistic/Technology:

1) Request that everyone use a headset, and know how to use “push to talk” or “click to mute” buttons. No one likes to hear sound feedback and no one wants to hear what's happening around you. Also, never, ever, eat while playing and not muting yourself. This is all fun to munch and play at a table, but not online. Drink all you want though, it'll make for more interesting narrative interpretations ;)

2) VOIP software: If you use Roll20 and Hangout, you are obviously using Hangout/Google Talk. It works. Skype is better at echo cancellation and sound overall, but takes more internet resources. Skype and FG2 don’t work well together. Skype and Roll20 work better. I still find it is better for the GM not to initiate the Skype call, but I am playing/GMing using a 3G internet. I found Teamspeak to be the best in average in term of sound quality and bandwidth (Skype quality is better, but bandwidth use is greater).