Jump to content

Sir_Blacksoutalot

Members
  • Content Count

    22
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Sir_Blacksoutalot

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 03/11/1965

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Diego
  1. It was close, but Roland and Wendy pulled off a V for this one!! Barely. I do believe it's time to advance to The Midnight Masks. I ABSOLUTELY FREAKIN LOVE THIS GAME.
  2. Thanks "rice". Wendy has actually moved on to the Parlor. I just want to be sure I'm correct that the Ghoul Priest automatically reengages during the Upkeep Phase. I think this is correct because the Ghoul Priest enemy readies in the same location as an Investigator, which in this case is Roland. It's relevant because it means Roland will be subject to an Attack of Opportunity if he tries to move to the Parlor next round.
  3. New guy back with another very basic question. I want to make sure I understand this correctly. So I just completed the Investigation Phase. Roland is in Hallway with Ghoul Priest, who Wendy just exhausted. The priest is disengaged from Roland. There are no other active enemies, so nothing happens during Enemy Phase while Ghoul Priest is exhausted. Now I enter Upkeep Phase. Investigators return to ready position. And so does the Ghoul Priest. Question: Since the Ghoul Priest readies at a location with an Investigator, it automatically moves to Roland's Threat Area--correct? It won't attack until next round, but I want to confirm that it does indeed engage Roland. Can someone please confirm I'm correctly applying the rules?
  4. Thanks to all for sharing how you go about card storage. It's great to see such a variety of clever solutions!
  5. Here's what looks to be a very reasonable option that uses an insert for the Core Set box bottom: https://www.etsy.com/listing/780524307/sleeved-card-game-organizer?%243p=e_et&%24original_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.etsy.com%2Flisting%2F780524307%2Fsleeved-card-game-organizer&%3Fcampaign_label=ac_abandonedbrowse&utm_source=lifecycle&utm_campaign=etsy_lifecycle_abandonedbrowse_organic&utm_medium=email&_branch_match_id=791672561983362012 I'm just not so confident the Core Set box will hold up over time. Still, this seems like a great starter option.
  6. Keeping campaign scenario cards in their respective expansion box seems like a fine idea. It's managing the ever-growing player cards that seems to be a challenge. I've been checking out this option from Tesseract Games, their Infinity Box plus dividers that are sold separately: https://www.etsy.com/listing/871173535/the-infinity-box-flat-packedself-build?ref=shop_home_active_1&crt=1 https://www.etsy.com/listing/818375973/player-card-set-arkham-horror-lcg?ref=shop_home_active_2&crt=1&variation0=1594181215&variation1=1498852651 Woah, except I just read that Infinity Box requires assembly. For that quite spendy cost, I don't want to have to build the darned thing! It sure seems like there should be better options that are easier to find out there. I'm honestly surprised this is so tough.
  7. Pretty basic question: What are you all finding to be the best way to store/organize your cards? When I started searching online, I figured there would be a plethora of great ways to organize AH cards. But I have yet to find the perfect storage case/box/whatever. I'd be interested to hear what's working best for you veteran players. I'm sure there's more than one "best way" to go about this.
  8. Thanks, I appreciate those very succinct and spot-on responses. I now recall reading that you can use free-triggers cumulatively (+1, +2, +3, etc), provided you have the resources. I really wish it stated this "cumulative application" on cards like Hard Knocks, because it seems like almost a hidden rule. Maybe on my fifth play-through, some of these more nuanced rules will finally start to sink in. These forum discussions certainly help!
  9. I just finished my fourth run through The Gathering. I've put myself on a rinse-and-repeat cycle until I quit bungling the rules. Getting smoother every time. There's a certain morbid sense of humor in how things can go from okay to bad to really horrible in this game. Like in my last play-through. I drew three Ancient Evils in a row. How is that even possible? And I swear those cards were very, very thoroughly shuffled. My only solace is that the odds of that happening again must now be fairly low, if the laws of the universe work as I think they do. So those Ancient Evils put three doom on the agenda which unfortunately was enough to advance it to Agenda 3b. I'd never had the agenda advance that far in my previous games. I have a few questions about the last two agenda cards. QUESTION 1 In Agenda 2b, the card reads "Shuffle the encounter discard pile into the encounter deck. Discard cards from the top of the encounter deck until a Ghoul enemy appears. The lead investigator draws that enemy." So if I had already defeated the Icy Ghoul and placed it in my Victory Display, does the Icy Ghoul get shuffled back into the encounter deck? I would think not because page 21 of the Rule Reference states the Victory Display is an out-of-play game area. Just wanted to get confirmation. QUESTION 2 In Agenda 3a, the card reads "Forced -- At the end of the round, place 1 doom on the agenda for each Ghoul enemy in the Hallway or Parlor." That's clear enough for the end of that round. But the the Mythos Phase follows right after. So do I need to then add another doom to the agenda at start of Mythos? It would seem so, as brutal as that is. Again, just looking for confirmation. QUESTION 3 More of a general question related to skill tests, is it legal to use a free-trigger ability and also commit a card? For example, with Hard Knocks (an asset) I can spend 1 resource to gain a +1 combat. Can I also commit a card since Hard Knocks is a free-trigger? Hmmm....seems like this would require two separate actions. Could use a little help here.
  10. As a new player, I understand that players can choose when to advance the Act Deck. In other words, once the requisite number of clues are collected, Investigators can decide to either immediately advance the Act Deck or--assuming Agenda Deck is not close to advancing--continue under current act in order to play additional cards, earn more resources, move to specific location, and so on. The choice to delay would be most applicable to the final act when Investigators need to be prepared for the big bad stuff about to come their way. With that said, is there an optimal phase/time to advance the Act Deck? Maybe that's too general of a question and really more scenario specific, but I figured I'd at least put it out there.
  11. I'm here to make you guys feels good about your bad selves by helping a hapless newbie. Here's another hopefully basic Evade question. Let's tee it up! To illustrate by example, let's say Roland and Wendy are at same location with an enemy. During Investigation Phase, Roland spends his three actions, then Wendy exhausts the enemy on her last action. Wendy removes the enemy from her threat area and places it on the location card. Next comes the Enemy Phase. Assuming the exhausted enemy is the only one in play, nothing happens and we move to the Upkeep Phase. During the Upkeep Phase, the enemy changes its state from exhausted to ready. Since it's at same location as our investigators, it immediately engages. If the enemy has a Prey instruction, it's simple to determine who it attacks. But what if the enemy doesn't have a Prey instruction? Does the Lead Investigator decide who it attacks? Does it attack the same Investigator who just exhausted it? Or should I randomly determine who it attacks? I kind of favor the third option, which can be handily resolved by the roll of a d20. But is there an actual Rule Reference for how to cover this situation?
  12. Agreed. This clears up a lot of confusion - thanks guys! Looking forward to a second solo run of The Gathering this weekend. Maybe now I'll only get spanked down half as bad, since on my first run I ignored exhausted enemies rather than following up by attacking. This has been a critical clarification.
  13. Thanks SGP, it definitely does help! So by the same logic, if Wendy were to successfully evade on her first action, then she could also spend the the next two actions to attack the exhausted, unengaged enemy - right? Now, I grasp that Wendy's combat ability is way too low to make this a viable strategy, but it might work well for a more balanced character. Could you possibly identify the rules reference that allows investigators to attack an exhausted/unengaged enemy? Still not sure why I'm not seeing this. I feel like this rule is staring me right in the face.
  14. I tried my first solo game this past weekend. Ran Roland and Wendy through first scenario of The Gathering. It did not end well, but I'm happy to report that my countless hours of studying up beforehand really paid off because I was able to fluidly apply the rules. But there's one logistic--which seems like it should be so obvious--for which I am having trouble finding a definitive answer. I'll use character names just for ease of description. Let's say Wendy spends her third action to exhaust an enemy. That enemy is then disengaged. The card is moved from Wendy's threat area to the location card. It's Roland's turn next--and this is where I get confused. Let's say he's at same location as Wendy, and he wants to attack the exhausted enemy. Does Roland need to first engage the exhausted enemy in order to attack it and inflict damage? Or can he attack the exhausted enemy without spending an action to engage it, based on the fact it is at the same location? I think I'm kind of brain-fried after trying to assimilate so many rules. I'm sure this seems like a really dumb question, but I'd sure appreciate some clarification.
×
×
  • Create New...