Jump to content

steve83

Members
  • Content Count

    38
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About steve83

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. My question is, does Rossiel's ability target a card or not? Looking at the FAQ, it seems to me that her ability works similar to Pippin's response (the example given in the FAQ), and therefore her ability should work. In the case of Pippin, you read the engagement cost from the immune card and compare it to your threat, and if the first is higher than the second you can draw a card. In Rossiel's case, you read the trait on the immune card and compare it to one in the victory display, and if it matches she gets +2wp/def. Does this sound right?
  2. Thanks. I thought as much. Rather than switching to Steward of Gondor, I think my best bet is to just ditch resource generation altogether, and rely on King of Dale and playing a bunch of cheap, non-restricted attachments on the hero I attached it to, so as to get a discount on the first Dale ally I play each round (likely free). The rest of the resources can be used for buying other cards. I guess they had King of Dale in mind when they designed this particular scenario.
  3. I'm playing through Lost in Mirkwood with a Dale deck I built where there is a treachery card that punishes you for having resources (you have to discard them all then raise your threat by the number discarded). I was using Necklace of Girion for resource generation (and willpower boost): Can the ability of Necklace of Girion be ignored if I decide I have too many resources or is it mandatory? (Steward of Gondor has to be exhausted to generate resources, so you can effectively turn it off if you start accumulating too many.) And if I can, will I also lose the willpower boost?
  4. I saw that before I asked. I think my concern was whether an "objective ally" specifically counts as an "ally" (since the cards specifically have "objective ally" written on them). But thinking about it now, when an encounter card has you discard an attachment, it typically says something like "discard a non-objective attachment that you control", which implies that non-objective attachments count as attachments. I don't think the RR specifically says this, though. I think I was making it out to be more complicated than it really was. But thanks for quoting that for me, because reading it again, I see that it implies that the Ents are kept in play, and so can be won back again ("Objective cards remain in play unless the game instructs the players to remove them from play. " And I was only instructed to remove any during the first stage.).
  5. When a card prompts you to "discard an ally" can you discard an objective-ally? (I am assuming you are playing a scenario where an objective ally can be discarded without instantly losing the game). I was playing The Road to Isengard last night, where the first stage allows you to "bid" for up to four Ent of Fanghorn objective-allies. I won all four, but if I hadn't I would have had to remove the rest from the game. Much later in the game I was forced to discard an ally, so I discarded one of these ents (the least valuable card in the game to me at that time), and placed it in the discard pile. I lost two more of these ents a little later, and again placed them in the discard pile. A while later I had to reshuffle the encounter deck, and a bit later drew an Ent of Fanghorn, which I placed in the staging area and immediately started "bidding" for it (thanks to a lot of readying and Eowyn I won it back the same turn I drew it!). So did I play this correctly? (I really hope so, as it took about 2.5 hours to play, and at one point I dumped 21 points of damage on Saruman in one go, so I could concentrate on questing to win the game, which I did! Though Pippin died, so I will have to replay, anyway.)
  6. Thanks for that! I think the key bit from the Rules Reference was in the sentence just before the one you quoted: Which is what I was missing. And you're right, I forgot that the same wording was on Hasty Stroke. Thanks again!
  7. Round Shield from the Mount Gundabad AP is an armour attachment with the following response: If I flip the shadow card and activate the response on round shield, can I then cancel the shadow card with (say) Hasty Stroke, and keep the +2 Defence bonus from round shield? Also, does this card work for attacks outside of the combat phase? (Wondering about the wording "during combat".) Thanks!
  8. Thanks. My question was only theoretical, anyway, as I intend to split my hobbits up as per the story, when the time comes (and then Butterbur loses his ability). I also don't think I actually have any other cards that would be affected (though a few show up with a quick search on ringsdb).
  9. I think this is probably unintended, but when playing those Saga quests that use either version of Fellowship Aragorn, with one player using three Hobbit heroes, then due to the wording on his card, Barliman Butterbur seems to become useless whenever that player is the first player (which is permanently in the case of playing singlehanded solo). Both versions of Fellowship Aragorn include the text "The first player gains control of Aragorn." which seems to neutralise Barliman Butterbur's ability. There may be other cards similarly affected by this situation (though thankfully Thicket of Spears is immune for monosphere tactics decks). Am I reading this right?
  10. Just to tidy up this thread for anyone who might find this in the future: unlike Core Gandalf, OHaUH Gandalf (as Alonewolf87 correctly says above) would, like Elfhelm, remain in play (without having to increase your threat by 2, until the next turn), as his response activates at the "end of the refresh phase", rather than the end of the round. I hadn't really thought about this subtle difference between these two versions of Gandalf until now, as I always just discarded him (or paid the price) at the end of the round. The "end of the round" and "end of the refresh phase" under most circumstances being essentially the same thing (even if technically they are not).
  11. I think I've found an answer to my question about tactics Elfhelm (and also sneak attacking allies after this burden had been revealed). From the FAQ: And it goes on to cite an example of a treachery that blanks the text box of any ally with damage placed on it, an effect which lasts until the end of the combat phase (rather than the round, but much the same effect here). If an ally takes damage, the text box is blanked, if it is completely healed, then it unblanks. So, as I understand this: Any sneak attacked ally will have its text box blanked by the burden discussed in the OP, since it becomes "in play" (the game state has changed, and the effect is recalculated), and the same applies to Elfhelm, who then avoids being discarded at the end of the phase he was played and is not discarded in the same way Core Gandalf would be (since Elfhelm would ordinarily be discarded at the end of the phase rather then the end of the round).
  12. I believe I have found a ruling from Caleb. First I found this thread, which contains a link to this thread (in French, which I can't read), which contains this quote (in English) from Caleb: The Nine are Abroad starts: "When Revealed: Treat the text box of each character in play as blank (except for Traits) until the end of the round. [...]" So it's basically the same thing and Gandalf is discarded.
  13. I interpreted "in play" as meaning just any ally in play, rather than "currently in play". So that once you play Elfhelm he is now "in play", and therefore the burden also affects him. But I could well be wrong. I was also wondering this, which was partly what prompted the OP, even though I was using OHaUH Gandalf at the time. (Should also apply to Elrond and Galadriel allies.) AFAIK, the player gets to choose the order. But I could be wrong. I shall go and have a look to see if I can find out... (Incidentally, I lost the game two turns after the above dilemma came up. I suddenly drew a slew of bad encounter cards, which forced two great-cave trolls and some orcs to engage me at once and wipe me out. I might throw some new cards into my deck to exploit this loophole, for the next play.)
  14. Thanks. If I sneak attack an ally after this burden is revealed, does it apply only to cards already in play, or also any newly played cards? I know if I sneak attack Gandalf I'll still have to return him to my hand at the end of the phase* (since the text controlling that is on the event card), but do I get his abilities? (*However, I think should be able to play tactics Elfhelm for 1 cost and keep him permanently, if the burden also applies to cards played after it is revealed. As he's not in play, I can still activate his action from my hand to put him into play.)
  15. I'm playing through the LotR Saga in campaign mode, and drew the burden card "Shadow of Fear" which reads: I had Gandalf* in play at the time. So my question is, do I get to keep Gandalf for an extra turn? * I'm actually using OHaUH Gandalf, so it's really only saving me raising my threat by an extra two to keep him. But I'll take what I can get!
×
×
  • Create New...