Jump to content

Spritz Tea

Members
  • Content Count

    41
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Spritz Tea

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. 1. Yes. (Unless, of course, she was evaded that round and the investigator activating the ability was chosen to be exempt from her attacks.) 2. The instruction on the act is to "move Atlach-Nacha clockwise X times" which certainly reads to me as saying that she leaves her starting location and every location she travels through. So I believe she attacks (or places doom) as she goes.
  2. I'm guessing Ildirin is a playtester for FFG.
  3. Slap down Perception, spend a turn discovering clues, and draw three cards for free. Use Vicious Blow with the upcoming Mind Over Matter (2) and become a competent fighter at the drop of a hat. Throw down Eye of Truth, test at 6 or higher for a round, and hopefully pin a treachery next Mythos phase.
  4. From the FAQ: Obscuring Fog triggers and is discarded during Step 6; Crack the Case would be played during Step 7 after the last clue is discovered. It's honestly pretty unintuitive. Flashlight creates a lasting effect for the investigation which means, I think, that the −2 shroud expires at Step 8. So the shroud reduction would be active when Crack the Case is played. There's one other thing. From the Rules Reference under Automatic Failure/Success: So if we use Three Aces to pass an Ancient Stone test, I believe we have to record a (0) in our campaign log.
  5. That's one of the interesting things about the Black Cat — she can make you think about campaign choices in a new way because she cares which tokens are in the bag. There is a path through TFA, for example, where she only ever covers one negative token, and other paths through the same campaign where she covers three or four negative tokens by the end. There may also be cases where it's worth taking Black Cat as an answer to hard/expert Elder Things in late scenarios because they can be very, very bad.
  6. I was trying to say that if Open Gate allows us to resolve the entire ability — or even just the effect (which in this case is everything after the colon) — as if the locations are connected, then the "as if" is active while checking for a connecting location. But I agree that that might not be the most natural reading. Edit: I should clarify my position — I think that Shortcut, Track Shoes, Pathfinder, and most movement abilities do work with Open Gate because Open Gate interacts with them in the same way as it does with the move action. I think it's not clear whether Safeguard works with Open Gate but until we know more, 'probably not' is our best answer.
  7. Correct on both counts. That, at least, seems unambiguous.
  8. I did get the impression from the AMA that FAQ entries about thorny rules issues are in the works, and "as if" seems like the community's biggest query at the moment, so we may learn more with the next update. To play devil's advocate: Open Gate doesn't specify a move action — so it should allow any ability that moves an investigator to resolve as if the locations are connected, which includes Safeguard's ability. After all, the definition of a move action states that the destination must be marked as connected just as Shortcut and Safeguard specify a connecting location.
  9. Kleptomania is a pretty serious problem for Mandy, or really for any Mr "Rook" deck — that is one of the most sensible uses for Versatile I have seen! If it is or becomes the kind of deck that cycles multiple times a scenario, this puts you better off that you would be with a normal weakness. And Kleptomania becomes a nearly perfect defense against Lost in Time.
  10. Just one: Calling in Favors. Or Inspiring Presence/Hallowed Mirror via Versatile I suppose.
  11. Well, if you have 1x Daredevil stranded in your hand there are four possible draws that activate it — or rather there are five because, now that I think about it, 2x Daredevil also works — which doesn't seem too bad given Rogue's strong card-draw and the fact that DoN tends to wait around in hand anyway for the right time to be played. If you draw three or four of the skills then Daredevil is still pretty useful — it's another copy of one of your skills that also thins your deck and has an extra icon or two. But perhaps my sense of the likelihood of finding specific cards has been distorted by playing too many Mr "Rook" decks recently — three in a row (and none were Seekers)… I didn't notice that, even as I was transcribing it. But now it seems really glaring...
  12. One use for Daredevil would be to build a deck with Double or Nothing and Quick Thinking as the only other Rogue skills; the point would be to combine them and reap two extra actions on top of Double's other benefits. You only need to have a copy of any two of your three Rogue skills in your hand to make the combo work since Daredevil, if it is one of the two, find the third. The awkward thing is that this combo relies on the fact that both Double or Nothing and Quick Thinking have the text "Max 1 committed per skill test." And Quick Thinking doesn't... unless you are using Taboos. Luckily, I think this is balanced out by the fact that the combo costs six more experience with Taboos (since Doubles cost three each). In theory you could do the same thing with All In and Double, but that's a very hefty experience investment and would often result in overfilling your hand and losing cards in upkeep. A more sensible one-of All In, two-of Daredevil, and no other Rogue skills seems more appealing. A peculiarity of Seeker 'side-quest' cards is that as long as one investigator completes the side-quest, anyone in the campaign can take the upgrade, although they do need to have the lower level version in their deck to upgrade from. I mention this because Daisy has a very easy time "interpreting the dreams" but the upgrade has no synergy with her ability and I'm not sure she wants it. (I'm not sure whether to consider hand slots more or less precious in Daisy than other Seekers with respect to Tomes: she has her Tote Bag and the tools to find it, but getting it into play is a non-trivial ask and without it she's dealing with the Necronomicon and the fact there are even more hand slot items she wants than most Seekers so.) Of course, it's an unusual team that includes Daisy Walker and another investigator with level 3 Seeker access. Lola comes to mind, but the Dream Diary doesn't play nice with role restrictions or with Crisis of Identity, and non-neutral skills become very difficult to use in Lola's hands. But perhaps somewhere out there a cluver Daisy and a Calamitous Blade-"Dreams of a Madman"-Combat Joe Diamond are struggling together against the Mythos.
  13. I also love Heroic Rescue's art, it's one of my favorite pieces. It is a significant reason (though by no means the only reason) that I'm exited to try out the new version. Regarding Haste and action types, here is the relevant rules text as far as I can tell: Activate Action "Activate" is an action an investigator may take during his or her turn in the investigation phase. When this action is taken, the investigator initiates an ability that specifies one or more -> icons as part of its ability cost. The number of -> icons in the ability's cost determines how many actions the investigator is required to use for this activate action. When performing an activate action, all of that action's costs are simultaneously paid. Then, the consequences of that action resolve. An investigator is permitted to activate abilities from the following sources: A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her investigator card. A scenario card that is in play and at the same location as the investigator. This includes the location itself, encounter cards placed at that location, and all encounter cards in the threat area of any investigator at that location. The current act or current agenda card. Play Action "Play" is an action an investigator may take during his or her turn in the investigation phase. When an investigator takes this action, that investigator selects an asset or event card in his or her hand, pays its resource cost, and plays it And from the FAQ: 'If I play an event with a Fight ability, like Backstab, does it provoke attacks of opportunity? No. Abilities with a bold action designator (like Fight, Evade or Investigate) count as an action of that type. In this case, since Backstab counts as a Fight action, no attacks of opportunity are made, because Fight actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The same goes for Fight abilities on assets, like .45 Automatic.' 'Does the ability on Ursula Down's allow me to take an investigate action on an asset or event card? Yes. Ursula’s reaction allows you to take any investigate action, including those performed via the activate action or via the play action.' When you use a gun or play a Backstab, you are certainly taking an Activate or a Play action. One could interpret the statement: "Abilities with a bold action designator (like Fight, Evade or Investigate) count as an action of that type" to mean that they count only as that type for effects that care about types of action, but absent an explicit statement I favor the interpretation that they count as both.
  14. I believe that triggering Haste off its own Play action (after another Play action) is allowed. "[reaction] After you perform the same type of action twice in a row, exhaust Haste: Take another action of that type again." By the time you would trigger the ability, Haste is in play, and you have satisfied its condition by taking two Play actions in a row. It is a similar interaction to using Uncage the Soul to play Double, Double before triggering Double, Double to replay Uncage the soul -- I have never seen the legality of that interaction disputed. A few other things about Haste that might be worth mentioning: (edit: this is not as clear cut as I thought, see Allonym's post below.) Playing an event can count as both a Play action and another type of action. Using Backstab, for example, is a Play action and a Fight action. Likewise, activating an action triggered ability (the arrow) can count as both an Activate action and another type of action. Shooting a monster with a Derringer, for example, is both an Activate action and a Fight action. Activate actions are also used for action triggered abilities on Acts or Agendas, on Locations or Enemies (most Parley actions are Activate actions), or on Treacheries. Haste looks very powerful and, as awp832 said, it gets better with other sources of extra actions. It's probably good for anyone who can take it and especially strong for Tony. But I want to try it in "Skids"; and this is the first time I've wanted to play Skids since, um... Eldritch Horror.
  15. I wouldn't be that excited about running Extensive Research in Joe. I think it's a bit situational for his hunch deck given the hand size requirement, which is significant even with a two resource discount. But if you can regularly have seven or eight cards in hand, go for it. Practice Makes Perfect in Mark however (The Home Front is Practiced, by the bye)... I'm not sure whether to call that exciting or worrying. To change topic abruptly: While Mandy could help a Mystic find two spells with Word of Command, they would need to be two copies of the same spell. 'Name a Spell' only resolves once. Allonym, I wanted to say that I really appreciate your write-ups. I read every word of them; and if I often don't reply it's only because they are so thorough and well-thought-out that there's nothing left to add.
×
×
  • Create New...