Jump to content

MadTownXWing

Members
  • Content Count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About MadTownXWing

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. The phrasing "that ship can modify only 1 [focus] result" as written clearly states that the ship can NOT modify any results other than the single [focus] result. However, they've added in the parenthesis text stating that they can still modify their other non-[focus] results. Up until now I believe that all text in parenthesis has been intended as clarifying/reminder text but not actual rules. Is this the only case where without the "reminder" text the effect would entirely change? IMO the text should have been "that ship may modify all of its non-[focus] results but can modify only 1 of its [focus] results".
  2. I agree with the others that this was meant to allow you to measure range to all friendly ships first. I wish they had worded this card such as "During the End Phase, you may measure range to each friendly ship. If you do, you must choose up to 3 friendly ships at range 0-3. Each of these ships does not remove 1 calculate token". In my mind this accomplishes 2 things: It clarifies who you can measure range to BEFORE deciding after effects. It clarifies that if you measure range then you MUST follow through on the ability. In this specific case, #2 doesn't matter because the MUST applies to choosing UP TO 3 friendly ships and 0 is a valid value so the MUST is an empty requirement. However, if this were the standard wording then it would make certain that other similar abilities would not provide a means for free information without some level of risk. As an example, this might matter for snap shot depending on whether it's worded the same as in 1.0. In 1.0 I used to measure range from my snap shot ships to enemy ships every time they moved because there was no requirement that I perform the attack if they were actually in range 1.
  3. I'm 100% certain that you do not attempt to suffer the first and then suffer the second if you are unable to suffer the first. The reason being is that there is another fear card that says something like "Suffer .... if you cannot then suffer ....". I'm certain that you are meant to choose one of the effects my questions was more about whether you can "choose" to suffer one of the effects if you cannot complete it in full.
  4. One of the fear cards says something like "Discard 1 prepared skill or suffer 2 facedown fear". I've been playing that if I don't have any prepared skills then I HAVE to suffer 2 facedown fear under the assumption that I have to fully resolve one of the 2 options. Is there anything in the RRG that spells this out? I think it's a safe assumption that you can't choose to discard a prepared skill unless I have at least 1 prepared skill.
  5. I don't know how I missed this. Yes this does help, I think this clarifies it. If they had intended for "then" to work the way I was asking then (I think) they would have phrased this rule as "... a hero must [fully] resolve the effect that occurs before the word "then," [in order to trigger] the effect that occurs after the word "then."" Their phrasing definitely makes it seem like "then" is simply meant to provide the player with a specific order to effects and nothing more as @Uninvited Guest mentioned above for Imperial Assault.
  6. While playing a prompt came up that was something along the lines of "Suffer 1 facedown [damage]. Then become emboldened." Based on my experience with other FFG games the word "then" usually implies that the first effect must be completed in full in order for the second effect to trigger. Is that true for this game as well? I wasn't able to find anything regarding the word "then" in the RRG. The reason this matters is that I want to know if I prevent the 1 facedown damage do I still become emboldened?
  7. Am I missing something or is it really necessary to make a weakness "deck" and randomly pick your weakness(es)? Based on the section in the RRG (112 Weaknesses pg 27) it seems like there is absolutely no mechanical difference between the 20 weakness cards and so in my mind there shouldn't be any need for randomization. I'm aware that there might be differences in the future and/or effects that reference specific weakness cards but I don't believe any of that exists right now (I've only played the first 4 adventures if that makes a difference).
  8. What about in the rare situation that the buzz droids are launched in such a way that 2 enemy ships are simultaneously overlapping them? Would the controlling player first have to declare which ship they are attempting to relocate the buzz droids to before checking to see if they fit or are they able to check all 4 locations between the 2 ships before deciding? My thoughts are that they would have to first pick a ship before checking.
  9. It's interesting that the RR says fleeing triggers AFTER you execute a maneuver yet in both the boost and barrel roll sections it says you fail the action if it "would cause it to be outside the play area (and therefore would cause that ship to flee)". Why would performing a boost or barrel roll in this situation necessarily cause you to flee if fleeing is only checked after you execute a maneuver? It seems like there's some inconsistency within the RR on when fleeing is triggered. It seems like fleeing should be checked after a ship moves not after a ship executes a maneuver.
×
×
  • Create New...