Jump to content

Yank01

Members
  • Content Count

    28
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Yank01

  1. This one, I think. RR pg 5: 4. Neutralize Results: During this step, pairs of attack and defense dice neutralize each other. Dice are neutralized in the following order: a. Pairs of 󲁄 (evade) and 󲁧 (hit) results are canceled. b. Pairs of 󲁄 (evade) and 󲁨 (crit) results are canceled. The attack hits if at least one 󲁧 (hit) or 󲁨 (crit) result remains uncanceled; otherwise, the attack misses. This (and step 5 Deal Damage) are the first places "cancelling" results are mentioned during the attack phase. I think this supports cancellation of the hit or crit (and spending of the charge) after defense dice are rolled.
  2. Has anyone considered the possibility that it's purple and the only way to use it is for BB-8 to equip the "Darth Jar Jar Binks" crew card?
  3. Locks remain until something breaks the lock (like a jam or other ability) or the lock is spent. From the RR regarding end phase: “The End Phase is the fifth phase of the round. During the End Phase, all circular tokens are removed from all ships.” Since a lock is not a circular token, it persists over multiple rounds and while you have to be at range 0-3 to acquire the lock, it persists even if the object subsequently winds up outside of range 3.
  4. Understood that these rules are specifically for attack. It was in response to the post about rules for lock. Neither fits the bill entirely. Specifically, it says you may choose 1 ship in your firing arc at range 1-2. Under the most literal read you select a ship before you know if it meets the firing arc/range criteria. If the chosen ship is not there it doesn’t say to choose another that is. By that read it would mean the ability fails at that point. I don’t know that I love that either, but it doesn’t say you have to keep looking for something that does meet that criteria. I get that there is an advantage to measuring early, but at the point this triggers, high init ships are about to start measuring range to any number of enemy targets. The advantage is there, but less so than if it were at the beginning of the planning or movement phases. I definitely lean toward the interpretation that you don’t need to attack yourself, but I agree that there is enough ambiguity there that it could go either way. Thematically, it’s not like Vader hasn’t force choked a friendly (“I find your lack of faith disturbing”; “You are in command now, Admiral Piett”)
  5. Maybe. But the rules for attack state: Measure Range: The attacking player measures range from the attacker to any number of enemy ships and determines which enemy ships are in which of its arcs. If there is no valid target for the chosen weapon, or if the attacker cannot pay the costs required for the attack, the attacking player either chooses a different weapon or chooses not to attack. During an attack, you may measure range and then if there’s no valid target you could choose not to attack. You wouldn’t be forced to cluster missile or proton torpedo yourself if there wasn’t a valid enemy target. Under this logic Vader shouldn’t have to force choke a friendly either.
  6. If I could consistently answer this question, I feel like I’d be in pretty good shape 🤪 I’d say I lean aggressive Wedge. I love it when I’m getting hits through and Thane is able to flip those damage cards face up by spending an eyeball. There’s nothing better! But then, when I’m rolling blanks I start wishing I were defensive Luke.... I think I’ll play both lists in my next few casual games and see which way it works better for me. Thanks for the advice on this one!
  7. Thank you both. @Everyday Ace, I saw your post on the other Lando thread. I like the Luke sub for Wedge. What do you think plays stronger Luke/R2-D2 or Wedge/R3 with a 9 point bid?
  8. Hello all! I'll be playing in my 1st tournament next month and I'm trying to decide between these two lists. Any help selecting or making modifications would be appreciated. Thanks! Rear Admiral Chiraneau (76) Intimidation (3) Darth Vader (14) 0-0-0 (5) Fifth Brother (9) Ship total: 107 Half Points: 54 Threshold: 8 Zertik Strom (42) Fire-Control System (2) Ship total: 44 Half Points: 22 Threshold: 3 Maarek Stele (46) Marksmanship (1) Fire-Control System (2) Ship total: 49 Half Points: 25 Threshold: 3 Total: 200 OR: Lando Calrissian (80) Nien Nunb (5) Leia Organa (6) Ship total: 91 Half Points: 46 Threshold: 7 Thane Kyrell (48) R4 Astromech (2) Servomotor S-Foils (0) Ship total: 50 Half Points: 25 Threshold: 3 Wedge Antilles (55) R2 Astromech (4) Servomotor S-Foils (0) Ship total: 59 Half Points: 30 Threshold: 3 Total: 200
  9. RR pg 13. Maneuver ship then check difficulty. The ship moves first then the difficulty is checked and a stress token is added or removed depending on the color of the maneuver. Flying through debris gives a stress AFTER the check difficulty step.
  10. A ship can not perform the same action more than once during the round. Tua’s ability says to perform the action. This would be different if the ability said to “gain a reinforce token” RR PG 3: There is no maximum limit to the number of actions a ship can perform over the course of a round, but a ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single round, or perform an action it has failed this round.
  11. RR Page 9 (the rule I think @thespaceinvader is referencing): If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed. It seems that the first player triggers their Darth Vader "At the start of the engagement phase" and then the second player triggers their Darth Vader "At the start of the engagement phase" immediately before the ship is removed.
  12. I think I may be overthinking this, but if a ship takes its final damage from the Vader crew ability when is it removed from the board? 1. Immediately? 2. After all ships of the ship carrying Vader's initiative have engaged? 3. Some other time? For reference: Vader Crew Ability - At the start of the Engagement Phase, you may choose 1 ship in your firing arc at range 0-2 and spend 1 (force token). If you do, that ship suffers 1 (hit) damage unless it chooses to remove 1 green token. From the RR: After a ship is destroyed in a phase other than the Engagement Phase, it is removed from the game. If a ship is destroyed during the Engagement Phase, it is removed after all ships that have the same initiative as the currently engaged ship have engaged, which is called simultaneous fire.
  13. Awesome! Thank you. I know it was an old thread, but I had a Quickdraw question (which this thread answered nicely) and came across your post. Having not flown her before, I didn't want to mess it up.
  14. Totally agree that it's a max of one bonus attack per round. If she performs her normal attack out the front, why couldn't she perform her bonus attack out the rear turret if it is the only bonus attack she is using this round?
  15. I just read the insert that comes with the Resistance Transport. Interestingly, the verbiage in the insert is slightly different from that of the rules reference: The insert states: "Some abilities reference a ship's revealed maneuver outside of that ship's Reveal Dial and Execute Maneuver steps. If a card ability references a ship's revealed dial, use the maneuver shown on the ship's dial." Vs the Rules Reference: "Some abilities reference a ship’s revealed maneuver outside of that ship’s activation. A ship’s revealed maneuver is the maneuver selected on its dial, which remains faceup next to that ship’s ship card until the next Planning Phase." The insert verbiage supports that the R4/Cova combo working better than the Rules Reference. That said, I agree with @JJ48:
  16. This is a false equivalency. Han has a specific timing window “After you roll dice.” That triggers whenever he rolls dice. You are correct that this interpretation breaks Hera/Nien
  17. Camp A argument - There are multiple rules which describe how to modify difficulty of a maneuver. This argument requires a single interpretation to assign a timing to something that has no explicit timing. Viewed as insane by Camp B. Camp B argument - Since the timing is not explicitly stated the maneuver's difficulty is always reduced. This argument is not supported by anything written anywhere and requires the belief that if it's not prohibited, it must be true. Clung to with religious fervor by Camp B. I am willing to admit that either could be the FFG intended effect. While I lean Camp A, I think there is a solid chance that Camp B is correct. Why is Camp B so rooted in their belief that it can be only one way? What combo specifically are they trying to protect (because I might want to start flying that combo 😀). My concern is this: I want the answer to be the right answer. Not the answer of the people who spoke the loudest or most often.
  18. No one is arguing that it's not. Just when R4 triggers.
  19. I'm not saying that it is. I am saying that in absence of something explicitly giving another timing window (e.g., while you move, after rolling dice, while attacking, etc), it is the default place to modify the difficulty of the maneuver. There's nothing in the rulebook that states the "Perform Action" step is the only time you perform an action. If are performing an action outside of that step it is because the card explicitly told you to (e.g., after you fully execute a maneuver, during the system phase, after a friendly ship does something, etc). In absence of explicit direction to perform an action outside of that step, the default place to perform an action is the "Perform Action" step.
  20. I agree with @JJ48 it is one of those 3 conditions. That was well said. However, it's not arbitrary, my read of the rules is that these events happen in order: Reveal dial, move, check difficulty. Is the main contention of the Camp B that the name of the step is "check difficulty" vs "modify difficulty"? If the "check difficulty" step is simply a stress or no-stress step and it is not where the actual modification to the difficulty occurs, then I could agree that the R4 condition (or damaged engine) essentially modifies the dial from jump street and the revealed maneuver is the decreased (or increased) difficulty of the maneuver. I think Camp A's position is that unless a timing window is explicitly stated on the card, the "check difficulty" step both checks and modifies the difficulty.
  21. Page 3 Activation: The Activation Phase is the third phase of a round. During this phase, each ship activates, one at a time, starting with the ship with the lowest initiative and continuing in ascending order. Each ship activates by resolving the following steps in order: 1. Reveal Dial: The ship’s assigned dial is revealed by flipping it faceup and then placing it next to its ship card. 2. Execute Maneuver: The ship executes the maneuver selected on the revealed dial. 3. Perform Action: The ship may perform one action. Page 13 - Maneuver: A ship can execute a maneuver by resolving the following steps in order: 1. Maneuver Ship: 2. Check Difficulty: Notes under Maneuver: Some abilities reference a ship’s revealed maneuver outside of that ship’s activation. A ship’s revealed maneuver is the maneuver selected on its dial, which remains faceup next to that ship’s ship card until the next Planning Phase. Camp A is saying that any modifications to the difficulty of a maneuver (unless explicitly timed differently on a card, e.g., before, at the start of, etc) occur during the check difficulty step. So there is a 3-step process in the rules: Step 1 - Reveal dial Step 2 - Move the ship Step 3 - Check difficulty (where the rules for modifying the difficulty is found) In the case of R4/Cova (an ability referencing a ship's revealed maneuver outside of that ship's activation), the revealed maneuver is the maneuver selected on its dial, which remains face up next to that ship's card until the next Planning Phase. Han works outside the RR dice modification because his card explicitly says so “After you roll dice...” It's not a stretch or a twist. It's applying an effect in the only window that is textually written in the rules.
  22. I'm not sure that making the argument that cards which affect the difficulty of a maneuver should apply at the check difficulty step of maneuver qualifies as "convoluted hoop-jumping" A ship can execute a maneuver by resolving the following steps in order: 1. Maneuver Ship: During this step, the ship moves using the matching template. 2. Check Difficulty: During this step, if the maneuver is red, the ship gains one stress token; if the maneuver is blue, the ship removes one stress token and one strain token. (From "Check Difficulty") If an effect increases the difficulty of a maneuver, blue increases to white, and white increases to red. If an effect decreases the difficulty of a maneuver, red decreases to white, and white decreases to blue. This argument is equally valid if abilities such as R4 astromech essentially reconfigure the dial before the ships are placed on the board until they are destroyed and removed. The bottom line is that we won't know until FFG answers the question or there is a preponderance of tournament rulings to see how this is handled in the wild. Calling someone out for not understanding it or claiming they are trying to twist the rules is counterproductive. Both arguments have merit.
  23. I agree that it can’t be both ways. Either Hera/Nien work or Cova/R4 work under this logic. It is possible that we’ve been playing the Hera/Nien combo wrong since the RR change. This needs either an FAQ or change to the RR statement about “revealed” maneuvers because it’s not as clear as FFG thinks it is. I definitely read the revealed maneuver verbiage as pre-dial modification (believing that R4 doesn’t kick in until the “check difficulty” step), but I will concede that the camp which believes that R4 changes the dial from jump street makes a compelling argument.
  24. While I see the point that R4 Astromech is always "on", I'm not convinced, as written, that Cova and R4 don't work together. The essential question is when is the difficulty of the maneuver decreased? It seems logical to me (and what the rules reference is saying) that the revealed maneuver is what is on the printed dial. The difficulty of that maneuver is not decreased until step #2 of the maneuver rules, the check difficulty step. At the step of reveal, the maneuver was red. During the check difficulty step it was reduced to white. Does this break Lando and Nein Nunb? I don't think that it does, as Lando executes after fully executing a blue maneuver (post check difficulty step). Follow-up question (only semi-related), does R4 Astromech decrease the difficulty of a white 2 straight maneuver executed as a result of attempting to execute a red maneuver while stressed? I don't know that it does...
×
×
  • Create New...