Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Yank01

  • Rank

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Locks remain until something breaks the lock (like a jam or other ability) or the lock is spent. From the RR regarding end phase: “The End Phase is the fifth phase of the round. During the End Phase, all circular tokens are removed from all ships.” Since a lock is not a circular token, it persists over multiple rounds and while you have to be at range 0-3 to acquire the lock, it persists even if the object subsequently winds up outside of range 3.
  2. Understood that these rules are specifically for attack. It was in response to the post about rules for lock. Neither fits the bill entirely. Specifically, it says you may choose 1 ship in your firing arc at range 1-2. Under the most literal read you select a ship before you know if it meets the firing arc/range criteria. If the chosen ship is not there it doesn’t say to choose another that is. By that read it would mean the ability fails at that point. I don’t know that I love that either, but it doesn’t say you have to keep looking for something that does meet that criteria. I get that there is an advantage to measuring early, but at the point this triggers, high init ships are about to start measuring range to any number of enemy targets. The advantage is there, but less so than if it were at the beginning of the planning or movement phases. I definitely lean toward the interpretation that you don’t need to attack yourself, but I agree that there is enough ambiguity there that it could go either way. Thematically, it’s not like Vader hasn’t force choked a friendly (“I find your lack of faith disturbing”; “You are in command now, Admiral Piett”)
  3. Maybe. But the rules for attack state: Measure Range: The attacking player measures range from the attacker to any number of enemy ships and determines which enemy ships are in which of its arcs. If there is no valid target for the chosen weapon, or if the attacker cannot pay the costs required for the attack, the attacking player either chooses a different weapon or chooses not to attack. During an attack, you may measure range and then if there’s no valid target you could choose not to attack. You wouldn’t be forced to cluster missile or proton torpedo yourself if there wasn’t a valid enemy target. Under this logic Vader shouldn’t have to force choke a friendly either.
  4. If I could consistently answer this question, I feel like I’d be in pretty good shape 🤪 I’d say I lean aggressive Wedge. I love it when I’m getting hits through and Thane is able to flip those damage cards face up by spending an eyeball. There’s nothing better! But then, when I’m rolling blanks I start wishing I were defensive Luke.... I think I’ll play both lists in my next few casual games and see which way it works better for me. Thanks for the advice on this one!
  5. Thank you both. @Everyday Ace, I saw your post on the other Lando thread. I like the Luke sub for Wedge. What do you think plays stronger Luke/R2-D2 or Wedge/R3 with a 9 point bid?
  6. Hello all! I'll be playing in my 1st tournament next month and I'm trying to decide between these two lists. Any help selecting or making modifications would be appreciated. Thanks! Rear Admiral Chiraneau (76) Intimidation (3) Darth Vader (14) 0-0-0 (5) Fifth Brother (9) Ship total: 107 Half Points: 54 Threshold: 8 Zertik Strom (42) Fire-Control System (2) Ship total: 44 Half Points: 22 Threshold: 3 Maarek Stele (46) Marksmanship (1) Fire-Control System (2) Ship total: 49 Half Points: 25 Threshold: 3 Total: 200 OR: Lando Calrissian (80) Nien Nunb (5) Leia Organa (6) Ship total: 91 Half Points: 46 Threshold: 7 Thane Kyrell (48) R4 Astromech (2) Servomotor S-Foils (0) Ship total: 50 Half Points: 25 Threshold: 3 Wedge Antilles (55) R2 Astromech (4) Servomotor S-Foils (0) Ship total: 59 Half Points: 30 Threshold: 3 Total: 200
  7. RR pg 13. Maneuver ship then check difficulty. The ship moves first then the difficulty is checked and a stress token is added or removed depending on the color of the maneuver. Flying through debris gives a stress AFTER the check difficulty step.
  8. A ship can not perform the same action more than once during the round. Tua’s ability says to perform the action. This would be different if the ability said to “gain a reinforce token” RR PG 3: There is no maximum limit to the number of actions a ship can perform over the course of a round, but a ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single round, or perform an action it has failed this round.
  9. RR Page 9 (the rule I think @thespaceinvader is referencing): If an effect triggers after a ship is destroyed, the effect resolves immediately before the ship is removed. It seems that the first player triggers their Darth Vader "At the start of the engagement phase" and then the second player triggers their Darth Vader "At the start of the engagement phase" immediately before the ship is removed.
  10. I think I may be overthinking this, but if a ship takes its final damage from the Vader crew ability when is it removed from the board? 1. Immediately? 2. After all ships of the ship carrying Vader's initiative have engaged? 3. Some other time? For reference: Vader Crew Ability - At the start of the Engagement Phase, you may choose 1 ship in your firing arc at range 0-2 and spend 1 (force token). If you do, that ship suffers 1 (hit) damage unless it chooses to remove 1 green token. From the RR: After a ship is destroyed in a phase other than the Engagement Phase, it is removed from the game. If a ship is destroyed during the Engagement Phase, it is removed after all ships that have the same initiative as the currently engaged ship have engaged, which is called simultaneous fire.
  11. Awesome! Thank you. I know it was an old thread, but I had a Quickdraw question (which this thread answered nicely) and came across your post. Having not flown her before, I didn't want to mess it up.
  12. Totally agree that it's a max of one bonus attack per round. If she performs her normal attack out the front, why couldn't she perform her bonus attack out the rear turret if it is the only bonus attack she is using this round?
  13. I just read the insert that comes with the Resistance Transport. Interestingly, the verbiage in the insert is slightly different from that of the rules reference: The insert states: "Some abilities reference a ship's revealed maneuver outside of that ship's Reveal Dial and Execute Maneuver steps. If a card ability references a ship's revealed dial, use the maneuver shown on the ship's dial." Vs the Rules Reference: "Some abilities reference a ship’s revealed maneuver outside of that ship’s activation. A ship’s revealed maneuver is the maneuver selected on its dial, which remains faceup next to that ship’s ship card until the next Planning Phase." The insert verbiage supports that the R4/Cova combo working better than the Rules Reference. That said, I agree with @JJ48:
  14. This is a false equivalency. Han has a specific timing window “After you roll dice.” That triggers whenever he rolls dice. You are correct that this interpretation breaks Hera/Nien
  15. Camp A argument - There are multiple rules which describe how to modify difficulty of a maneuver. This argument requires a single interpretation to assign a timing to something that has no explicit timing. Viewed as insane by Camp B. Camp B argument - Since the timing is not explicitly stated the maneuver's difficulty is always reduced. This argument is not supported by anything written anywhere and requires the belief that if it's not prohibited, it must be true. Clung to with religious fervor by Camp B. I am willing to admit that either could be the FFG intended effect. While I lean Camp A, I think there is a solid chance that Camp B is correct. Why is Camp B so rooted in their belief that it can be only one way? What combo specifically are they trying to protect (because I might want to start flying that combo 😀). My concern is this: I want the answer to be the right answer. Not the answer of the people who spoke the loudest or most often.
  • Create New...