Jump to content

rees263

Members
  • Content Count

    142
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About rees263

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. I don't like the proposed change to Glorfindel to be able to discard a card. Based on his low threat he should have a definite downside (even if that was able to be mitigated). Now that he has Noldor synergy, not only can you mitigate his downside, but you can actually turn it into an upside, which makes him better than he was before.
  2. You're determined to have quested successfully the moment that you calculate that your committed willpower is greater than threat. This naturally comes before the actual placement of progress, so you resolve triggers like Hirgon's first.
  3. If I remember correctly the players divide those cards between the encounter decks as they like. I'm pretty sure this is addressed in the box somewhere (probably in the rules insert or on the campaign card).
  4. Luckily there is no need for a ruling as this is directly addressed in the Rules Reference:
  5. I don't think it's as much an oversight, more an early attempt at templating quest cards. They switch back and forth in the early cycles between having 0 or 1 on quest cards with alternative win conditions and it doesn't look like they settled on "-" until the Against the Shadow cycle. Yes, this is one of the complaints with this quest, that it feels arbitrary whether the key (and purse) come out early or late in the game. The only semi-consistent method I have found is to stall out the first stage until both objectives are in play before advancing. Side quests are ideal for this if you have them, but scrying the encounter deck can work as well. The quest does fight against this somewhat because there are a lot of cards which raise threat and it's not ideal being forced to engage the trolls in stage two all at once.
  6. Aside from the Fellowship Frodo, you're also not supposed to use the other Fellowship sphere cards outside of the LotR saga quests (from the Black Riders that's only Frodo's Intuition), and the white Boon cards are for the Saga campaign mode only. All the other "normal" player cards are fine to use however you like. The same (broadly) applies to all other expansions too.
  7. Hirgon and Theoden is a simple combo that works for this, and it works how you would want it to. Hirgon can bring the ally cost down to one, then Theoden can reduce it further to zero.
  8. I agree, if you play the card then you have to follow the text. However, some events can end up doing nothing, for example, Man the Walls does nothing by itself and there is nothing stopping you from playing it even if there can't or won't be any allies played in the same phase.
  9. I think that Saruman will interact unfavourably with the card. I think it's clear that in your example that the card is reducing your threat. The reason is on the card itself - you get an extra effect if the card raises your threat. If the card can raise your threat, then it can also reduce it. Presumably the reason the word reduce isn't on the card is because it can do either, unlike other similar cards that set threat to certain amounts.
  10. Thanks to Dungeon Jailor it is possible for an objective to end up in the encounter deck which is extremely awkward. If it comes up as a shadow card then it gets discarded just like any other shadow card and you have to wait for it to shuffle back into the encounter deck to get it back in the stagin area - or as I would most likely choose, give up and start again.
  11. This is correct, but when you engage an enemy with Tireless hunters neither of these applies (barring enemy or quest specific effects) - the enemy will just get a regular attack during the combat phase so it won't get a shadow card. If it did there would not be much point in the discard effect on the card.
  12. This is in the Rules Reference under Table Talk:
  13. I enjoy the deck building aspect, but laziness is what keeps me from optimising for every quest. Well, I suppose that's a bit unfair - there are only so many hours in the day and only so many that people can dedicate to deck building. Depending on my mood, I'll probably just think "If this deck can beat the quest, what do I gain from further optimisation" and the answer is usually not enough to justify the time. But if a deck does need extra work I am quite happy to do so.
  14. It feels like it's been done to death at this point, but as I was just reading the rules booklet for The Road Darkens, I thought I'd share what it has to say about setup instructions: Not that an expansion rule necessarily translates to the rest of the game, but I think it's pretty clear that at least originally, cards with Setup were intended to come out of the deck before draw/mulligan.
  15. The relevant distinction is that effects only function on in play cards unless it's obvious from the effect that they are meant to work out of play. The One Ring's effect says to put it into play, so it obviously must work from out of play. As far as I know, this is the only card where there is any uncertainty about where it might come into play from, but I see no reason why this effect shouldn't function from anywhere - deck, hand, discard whatever. Having said that, I'm in the camp that will be doing setup effects in step 2 until someone comes up with a compelling reason why I shouldn't and I'm not currently finding Caleb's ruling particularly compelling.
×
×
  • Create New...