Jump to content

Ysenhal

Members
  • Content Count

    67
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Ysenhal

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. I'm not sure what this would really add to the game. The current crits seem fine? They're still impactful on large ships. I'm actually much happier with the damage deck in 2.0 - the changes that were made mean crits are consistently annoying for most ships, instead of swinging wildly between devastating and "This might as well be blank" depending on what you drew and what you were flying. I feel like these all have the problem Munitions Failure did in 1.0: they're either horrible or do nothing depending on circumstance. Most games don't include ion weapons, but in the 2% that do Damaged Insulators is pretty bad. A bunch of ships either don't have a turret (YV-666, Lambda etc.) or have it permanently welded forward anyway (Dengar, Ketsu), so the turret ones are effectively blank for them. Large ships don't always run crew either (Dengar + Punishing One doesn't even have the slot).
  2. Lifting is merely upwards pushing. 😜
  3. To be fair to FFG, I think this can be harder than people sometimes assume. Ambiguity is still very much a problem in law and philosophy, let alone games about pushing tiny plastic spaceships around a table. Some fun examples: Is sponge a cake or pastry for tax purposes? (and Round 2: Are Jaffa Cakes actually biscuits for tax purposes?) Is a hotdog a sandwich? A labour law case decided by lack of Oxford comma
  4. Agreed. If you want more durability you might be better off taking Hull Upgrade, but I don't think that's particularly good either. With those sort of upgrades really work best on expensive ships whose terrifying power is offset by their tendency to explode as soon as they start taking shots. Drea is a good suggestion since your list is all generics with multiple attacks. In addition to dropping Expert Handling and the astromech from both Y-wings, you could also consider dropping the Hired Gun to a Crymorah Goon. That and one of the Crack Shots would give you enough points for VTG on Drea, if you want it.
  5. An interesting question! Consider the case of Static Discharge Vanes, which received an errata: Original text: "If you would gain an ion or jam token, you may choose a ship at range 0–1. If you do, gain 1 stress token and transfer 1 ion or jam token to that ship." Amended text: "Before you would gain 1 ion or jam token, if you are not stressed, you may choose another ship at range 0–1 and gain 1 stress token. If you do, the chosen ship gains that ion or jam token instead." The amended text adds a requirement that you are not stressed, but also makes gaining a stress token part of the first sentence instead of the second. Perhaps it's just for readability or consistency? There are certainly ways you could phrase abilities like this to make it less ambiguous where the line between requirement and effect is, but it would often make them sound awkward or hard to read. I'd actually be curious how you and @Frimmel interpret Static Discharge Vanes. With the amended text, it seems as if gaining a stress is part of choosing a target. Do you agree? If you have to choose before an ability goes on the queue, does that mean you become stressed when SDV is added to the queue, before any abilities actually resolve? (And yes, fingers crossed they clarify it in the AMA).
  6. As I said earlier, I don't think you choose a target when those abilities enter the queue, only when the ability is resolved. This would mean you can use the Ketsu tractor to push someone into Old T's range or use fine-tuned controls before C1-10P, provided you choose to put them into the queue in that order, but there would be no "change" of target as you only choose a target once. E.g. If you have both Old Teroch and Ketsu, I would expect the process to go like this: 1. It's the start of the engagement phase. 2. Old T and Ketsu's abilities both read "At the start of the engagement phase, you may [do something]". Since it's the start of engagement they both go into the queue; you can choose the order since they're both your ships. For this example, let's say you put Ketsu at the front of the queue. 3. Once everything has been added to the queue, start resolving it. Ketsu is first. 4. You may choose a ship in your mobile and front arc at range 0-1. If you do, it gains a tractor token. If you don't or there are no valid targets, nothing happens. 4a. If you just tractored a ship, resolve the tractoring. 5. Ketsu is done. Old T is next in the queue. 6. You may choose an enemy ship at range 1. If you do and you're in its front arc, it removes its green tokens. If you don't or there are no valid targets, nothing happens. 7. Done!
  7. Yeah, I can see an argument for keeping it separate. Although there are some which seem to include conditions in the timing, like Resistance Chewie: Chewbacca (Resistance pilot): After a friendly ship at range 0-3 is destroyed, before that ship is removed, you may perform an action. Then you may perform a bonus attack. Chewie's ability could have been written as "After a ship is destroyed, if it is friendly and at range 0-3, before that ship is removed, you may perform an action." But that's not very easy to read! Correct, if there's no may I don't think you can cancel it. There are a few that seem to have requirements as part of the timing, like Chewie above. Other than those I can't think of any.
  8. I don't think the word "if" is necessarily associated with an ability requirement. It often is, but not always. I think the overall structure / grammar is more important - are you being told do something or that you may do something (including choosing things)? If so it's part of the resolution. A good rule of thumb is that if you remove the requirements from the start of the paragraph, you still have a complete sentence in the form of an instruction. Regarding the cards you mention, I've put what I would consider the requirements in italics: Shadow Caster: After you perform an attack that hits, if the defender is in your front arc and your mobile arc, the defender gains 1 tractor token. Advanced SLAM: After you perform a SLAM action, if you fully executed the maneuver, you may perform a white action on your action bar, treating that action as red. Composure: After you fail an action, if you have no green tokens, you may perform a focus action. These are all in the "After X, if Y, do Z" format and are fairly straightforward IMO. Note how they form an instruction if you remove the requirements - "The defender gains 1 tractor token." "You may perform a focus action." Old Teroch: At the start of the engagement phase, you may choose 1 enemy ship at range 1. If you do and you are in its [Front arc], it removes all of its green tokens. Concordia Faceoff: While you defend, if the attack range is 1 and you are in the attacker's [Front arc], change 1 result to an [Evade] result. Ketsu Onyo: At the start of the engagement phase, you may choose 1 ship in both your [Front arc] and [Mobile arc] at range 0-1. If you do, that ship gains 1 tractor token. 4-LOM: While you perform an attack, after rolling attack dice, you may name a type of green token. If you do, gain 2 ion tokens and, during this attack the defender cannot spend tokens of the named type. These are slightly less clear, but I don't consider anything after "you may" to be part of the trigger, because it's telling you to do something (and you explicitly have the option of not doing it). Note they still form an instruction if you remove the requirements: "You may choose 1 enemy ship at range 1. If you do and you are in its [Front arc], it removes all of its green tokens." Another one to consider is Feedback Array: Feedback array: Before you engage, you may gain 1 ion token and 1 disarm token. If you do, each ship at range 0 suffers 1 [Hit] damage. This follows the same structure as the ones above, but in this case I think it's clearer that the text following "you may" should be considered part of the resolution, since it has an immediate effect (adding the tokens). Similarly Static Discharge Vanes, which has double the "if": Static Discharge Vanes: Before you would gain 1 ion or jam token, if you are not stressed, you may choose another ship at range 0-1 and gain 1 stress token. If you do, the chosen ship gains that ion or jam token instead. This actually has the "you may choose another ship" wording, but you get a stress token as a result of the choosing.
  9. Scum currently has the most ships of any faction, and it seems likely they'll get more in the future. Are you concerned they might end up with too many ships, making it difficult to find a niche for each one, or to balance all the possible combos? If so, how do you plan to avoid such problems?
  10. And what I'm saying is that because they didn't revise or remove those examples, we have to assume they're still correct. I don't think you can just throw out part of the rules on the assumption that FFG are incompetent and forgot to update them. Maybe if the rules outright conflicted and it was impossible to find an interpretation that was consistent with both, or the only consistent interpretation was completely impractical or nonsensical, but I don't think that's the case here. There is an interpretation which is consistent with all the rules and which is still practical: that "requirements" means the timing and explicit conditions for the ability to trigger (e.g. "At the end of the Activation Phase, if you are tractored" for Ensnare). In any event, I see there's an AMA scheduled for next week and someone has already asked for clarification on this in the relevant thread, so hopefully they'll clear up any confusion then.
  11. That might be interesting. If nothing else it would mean the turret would have to actually be used as a turret, instead of just for the VTG double-tap in the front arc.
  12. However, this is inconsistent with both examples of using the ability queue given in the rules reference appendix. In both, abilities are added to the queue without specifying a target, and choosing targets is described as part of resolving the ability. Also, in the second, Old Teroch's ability is added to the queue, and then later said to do nothing when resolving because neither of the two enemy ships available are valid targets - which suggests that if either were valid he could choose that one at the time of resolving the ability. Also, if we're playing MTG rules, I'm going to insist that instead of engaging in initiative order all my ships rotate 90 degrees and then attack simultaneously. 😜
  13. I've never really seen it as being the responsibility of a particular player. Often the person who moves the ship will do so especially if they're moving other tokens, but just as often the other person will. If you're cleaning up templates etc. after proxying a ship so you can do maneuvers or to sort out a bump it's faster for whoever's not doing that to move any tokens across.
  14. After reading the examples in the rules reference through again I'm 99% certain it's 1. Specifically, this part: Important points to note: Firstly, Jake's ship ability ("After you perform an action, you may perform a red boost action") is added to the queue even though it cannot resolve. At the time it is added Jake has already performed a boost action and is stressed, and you cannot perform the same action twice in one round nor perform actions while stressed (except via certain upgrades). This completely rules out option 3 - an ability can be queued even when it can't be resolved, and the resolution of the ability is separate from the requirements to trigger it. Secondly, "While resolving his pilot ability again, he chooses..." implies that choosing is part of the resolution of the ability. Since we have just established that whether you're able to resolve an ability does not impact whether it goes into the queue, this means that abilities with similar phrasing to Jake's pilot ability ("After X, you may choose Y") always goes into the queue after X, because choosing is part of the resolution and not the requirement. This rules out option 2. This is also supported by the second example: Note that range, arc, and whether anyone has any green tokens are not considered or even mentioned until after the abilities have all triggered and are being resolved. This implies that they are not relevant to whether the abilities actually go into the queue.
  15. I will laugh so hard if Jumpmasters win it again. The monster that no nerf can stop! Not even edition changes can prevent its inevitable victory! (Seems unlikely though 🤣)
×
×
  • Create New...