Jump to content

MockingBird ME

Members
  • Content Count

    150
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Sephlar in does "all" include zero?   
    That's an assertion not backed up by the rules and is one of the two main contentions in this thread. 
    Garvan triggers "after you spend a focus token." and focus tokens specifically can't be used to modify zero <eyeball> results. Ten spends a stress and nowhere does it ever say that stress specifically or tokens, in general, can't modify zero dice when they are instructed to "modify all" dice. 
  2. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Sephlar in does "all" include zero?   
    I don't believe these are anything to go on, they are both specific rules applying to specific token use and one of them doesn't actually add anything to the rules because it's rendered redundant by the "spend one or more to change an equal number" base rule in calculate. 
     
    Oh 100%, yes please!! I know FFG takes their time responding to common issues in their rules but at this point, I really wonder if they pay any attention to their own rules forum at all .
  3. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Sephlar in does "all" include zero?   
    There is. The Golden rule that cards take effect over the RR. The card says "chance all" and while you've nicely defined those terms to mean one or more in your above post the RR never does. "All" can, but doesn't always, allow for the inclusion of zero; as FFG has not stated what they mean by all we, as a community, are left discussing it. 
     
    Because cards are allowed to make their own rules and break the RR's rules we don't need a rule that does the same thing or something similar, if we had one the card would reference that not be forced to make its own. Cards being able to do these is what makes them so cool and interesting, and also what prevents some 50% of them from not working. 
     
    Not trolling, I just think your wrong. I am contending that Ten can spend his stress to change zero <eyeball> results because the card says "change all" and not "change one or more" or "if you have at least one <eyeball> change all" or "you may spend your stress as if it were a focus during the modify attack dice or modify defense dice steps." There are a lot of ways they could have worded it that would limit it to being used only if at least one <eyeball> was rolled but that's not what they did, they said "change all." 
  4. Thanks
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Sephlar in does "all" include zero?   
    Because there is an additional rule that specifically says focus cant be used with no <eyeball> results. 
    Because the rule for calculate specify at least one: "spend one or more calculate tokens to change that many of its <eyeball> results to hit/evade result"
     
     
    Because the rule for lock specifies at least one: "spend a lock token that it has on the defender to reroll one or more of its attack dice"
    Because, you guessed it, the rule specifies at least one: "spend one or more evade tokens to change that many of its blank or <eyeball> results to <evade> results"
     
    You're right it's not explicitly stated but the idea that just because other abilities have explicit wording that prevents them from working this way somehow means a card effect works the same way is nuts. No other card that has its own unique rule is somehow subject to rules from other things that are kinda similar but not the same why would Ten be an exception? It's possible that FFG intends that "all does not include zero" or that "no change to the game state means the effect can't be triggered" but none of that is stated anywhere in the rules.
  5. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from nitrobenz in Escape pod and damage to Lando's Falcon   
    Even if we agreed that in this case the intent was obvious I think that's a terrible precedent to set for the community to claim that "when I think the intent is obvious it works the way I think they intended."
    As can already be seen in a number of threads on this forum, there are people making this obvious intent argument as if everyone is required to agree with them even when there is no consensus. 
  6. Like
    MockingBird ME reacted to Hiemfire in Range 0   
    Ships are never in their own arc though. Just to cover that base just incase it pops up.
  7. Like
    MockingBird ME reacted to emeraldbeacon in Rebel Han Pilot Ability   
    But what if Wedge or a ship with Outmaneuver attacks Han (Rebel Pilot)... can he reroll all zero dice?  Can "all" mean "zero" too?  Is zero a nu- (gets thrown out the window)
  8. Haha
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from meffo in Krassis Trelix + Outmaneuver   
    Twice now something like this has been said in this thread, if you want to continue the conversation on that please do it in the Ten Numb or Does All Include Zero threads. 
  9. Confused
    MockingBird ME reacted to Damo1701 in Krassis Trelix + Outmaneuver   
    Here's another nit to go pick at.  It was in reference to a specific point, in a specific post.  Not a draw for a different discussion.  If you want to draw people there, go post links elsewhere.

    You are just picking a small paragraph, about a GENERAL statement and moaning.
  10. Confused
    MockingBird ME reacted to cwh008 in Stealth Device   
    ugh.  nothing worse than wrong rules advice
  11. Haha
    MockingBird ME reacted to MrParsons in Krassis Trelix + Outmaneuver   
    I fail to understand why there is any confusion here.
    When Krassis performs his front arc special attack from the rear arc I don't see anyone saying it's no longer a special attack.  So why make up rules that it's no longer a front arc attack.
    There is no point referring to the rules reference or the faq as there is nothing in the rules reference or the faq that explains how this is intended to work.  All we can do is read what is on the cards and play it the way it is written.
    A front arc special attack is a front arc special attack.  It doesn't matter if it's performed out of the rear or it's performed with me standing on one leg with a a sock on each ear singing a Wizard's Staff Has Got a Knob On The End.  If the card doesn't say "change it be a rear arc attack" then it's not a rear arc attack.
  12. Thanks
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Maui. in Primary and turret arc and abilities   
    For Jan and the rest of the HWK pilots, their ability triggers off their turret arc AND if equipped with Moldy Crow their fixed forward arc primary weapon.
  13. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from nitrobenz in Stealth Device   
    A stealth device only gives you the extra evade die while defending but is removed when you first take damage regardless of source.
     
    Specifically for your question, the stealth device is removed from a homing missile and you are defending when you take that damage. 
     
    Other cases that are good to know about: stealth device loses its charge when you take damage from an obstacle, bomb, mine, or any other source that inflicts damage. 
  14. Like
    MockingBird ME reacted to AramoroA in Krassis Trelix + Outmaneuver   
    You've inferred wording here which does not exist in the rules. 
    When performing an attack as part of the declare target step you choose an attack arc which matches the arcs on my ship or upgrades.  So you select your Ion Cannon, now Krassis says you can perform this out of your rear attack arc, Karrais doesn't change the arc on the weapon, it's still a [Front Arc] attack. All he changes is the arc you get to select a target in.  When you're seeing if your Outmanoeuvre triggers, you check if you made a [Front Arc] attack, which is defined by the arc printed on the ship or upgrade you're using. Nothing is checking the attack arc that you actually used, just the arc on the weapon corresponding to the attack you made.  Attack Arc is a defined game term, if they meant attack arc then they would have said that, but they didn't. The little [Front Arc] symbol just means front arc, nothing to do with your attack arc. 
    If Krassis added a [Rear Arc] to the weapon or something like that you'd be right, but he doesn't. He just lets you do something which must explicitly be a [Front Arc] attack from the rear. 
  15. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Dax12387 in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
  16. Like
    MockingBird ME reacted to AramoroA in Krassis Trelix + Outmaneuver   
    See this is where you are wrong. the YV-666 cannot use outmanoeuvre on it's primary weapon as it simply cannot perform [Front Arc] attacks with it, the arc you actually use for the attack it irrelevant, only the arc printed on the weapon. 
  17. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from jftanner in jam on a ship with multiple green tokens/ target locks   
    Oops, I totally did; my bad. 
  18. Thanks
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Maui. in Stealth Device   
    A stealth device only gives you the extra evade die while defending but is removed when you first take damage regardless of source.
     
    Specifically for your question, the stealth device is removed from a homing missile and you are defending when you take that damage. 
     
    Other cases that are good to know about: stealth device loses its charge when you take damage from an obstacle, bomb, mine, or any other source that inflicts damage. 
  19. Thanks
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Waldorf28 in Rotate turret   
    The RR states "During setup, a ship with a primary (or special) ? or ? weapon adds the corresponding turret arc indicator to its base. The turret arc indicator points toward one of the ship’s four standard arcs." So while it doesn't explicitly state what direction or option of directions the turret can be set up in it seems like you get to choose as there only restriction specifically stated is that it needs to point toward one of the ships four standard arcs. 
  20. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from nitrobenz in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
  21. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from DR4CO in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
  22. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Quarrel in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
  23. Thanks
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from BCvalor in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    Even some effects that don't feel game breaking necessarily are being limited a lot in second edition. I suspect to prevent the possibility for future abuse with unforeseen combos. 
  24. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Icelom in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
  25. Like
    MockingBird ME got a reaction from Opsmason in Cluster Missiles Requirements   
    The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.
×
×
  • Create New...