Jump to content

yuyutsu

Members
  • Content Count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. I just started playing the "Terror of the mists" expansion and have a few questions: 1) The "Dire Influence" lore card mentions elite units, but no unit in this pack has that trait. Is there an elite unit, or why else was it mentioned? 2) the Drain and Cursed unit abilities: I presume that the lores are received earlier, during the "Commit Dice" stage (4), rather than at the "Gain Lore" stage (9), thus the attacker can for example draw the "Raise Dead" lore when the target is eliminated even if they previously had only 2 lores to pay. Right? 3) Morbid Grasp: it says "choose 2 enemy units", rather than the usual "up to 2 enemy units", so I presume that this lore cannot be used if the enemy has only one unit left? Also, I presume that it does not prevent movement after the move step, for example due to the Onslaught command card? 4) Swamp of Corruption: does the reroll of lore results occur before of after the effect of "Wall of Steel"? 5) Dark Ritual: if during the VP step I eliminate a minion unit by removing its last figure, can I then revive that unit in a graveyard? Can I use Desecrate at that point? Can I damage a Banshee (because it says: "You may remove 1 figure from the chosen unit") or must I remove the Banshee altogether to gain the VP? 6) The River of Fate: "During Setup" - should the banner marker be placed before or after placing fords, mustering armies and choosing cards? Thank you in advance!
  2. Just one observation: using portal, any Daqan unit can end up on a water hex ("Ignore terrain effects of hexes containing portal tokens"). Is this correct?
  3. Here is another case where I do not agree with Scott - I think that Pilum Pilum and yourself have got it right: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1404830/battle-cry-lore-card-vs-onslaught-command-card Though I don't find a final agreement there...
  4. Of course it does, but that, I understand, was about expansions whereas Scott must have been discussing core issues with them... But here is your chance to better Scott on a core issue because I meanwhile encountered a question where I disagree with Scott: Q: "Here's an Unstoppable question -- the last game I played, it was one unit against another unit. My two Obscenes were destroyed from an adjacent attack by some archers. I then played the Unstoppable card, which destroyed the archers. No one is left on the battlefield. Is there a winner?" Scott Lewis: "Hmm, that's a good question. I would either call that a draw, or give it to Daqan as their destruction of Uthuk happened "first" (it was just delayed to do the Unstoppable attack)." ... I would say the opposite: the Daqan archers were destroyed BEFORE step 6 and the Uthuk obscenes where only destroyed in step 6, hence this would be an Uthuk win - what do you think?
  5. Thank you for pointing me to the Boardgamegeek website: there is so much helpful material there which I am now sifting through and some of my other questions were answered there. If any are left, I will ask them here. So since Scott Lewis is a playtester who had contact with the developers, I accept his authority in the matter of BLOODTHIRSTY.
  6. I am afraid that I am unfamiliar with Blood-sisters, Blood-magic and Necormancers as I just bought and started playing the basic set. Still, if an ability says "after this combat" then that is unambiguously clear. Now if an ability/effect has an 'IF' in it, then it can always be chosen because the action can always be fulfilled - at worst, nothing will happen. So nothing should prevent a player from committing an heroic dice at stage 4 to "heal the Blood Sisters if the target has suffered damage": I don't know whether the extended rules/cards specify WHEN that healing takes place, but whenever that is, that's when the blood-sisters are to be healed IF the target suffered damage, as well as when nothing is to happen if the target has not suffered damage. In the case of the Necromancer, there is no 'IF' in the action and the grammar seems to speak of two different times, so I think that the intent is indeed to choose the unit earlier as you stated. The instruction is: "Influence: Choose a friendly minion unit within 2 hexes of this unit. After this combat, the chosen unit may move up to 1 hex and perform an attack." rather than: "Influence: After this combat, choose a friendly minion unit within 2 hexes of this unit and it may move up to 1 hex and perform an attack." This seems to be deliberate and further, because there is no 'IF', that action might be impossible - unlike BLOODTHIRSTY and BLOOD-SISTERS, where the action (IF X then Y) is always possible. As for "Blood magic", I would first need to read the exact text and also whether there are any related extended instructions. In summary, my view is that all actions of a type occur at the same step - both conditional and unconditional: damage at stage 6, retreat at stage 8, lore at stage 9 and healing... I am not sure when, perhaps there is extra information in the extension packs?
  7. So the question is about the nature of what it is that we "commit", prior to the die "disappearing": On page 3, "committing dice", it says: "Many unit abilities or game effects allow a player to commit one or more dice to trigger AN EFFECT". As I understand it, the HEROIC result may commit the BLOODTHIRST effect, rather than the DAMAGE effect, only then the BLOODTHIRST translates into damage, in step 6. The reason I think so, is the clause: "If there are multiple effects that commit dice, the player who rolled the dice chooses the order in which he commits them": Had the only effects been DAMAGE, RETREAT and LORE, whose order is predetermined (steps 6,8 and 9 respectively), then there would be no order to choose and the above clause would have been meaningless.
  8. I beg to differ: "committing" in step 4 only decides what shall be done with each dice-result as well as the order of the effects, so no action is taken at that step yet. The various damaging effects are then activated in step 6 and if STRIKE or CLEAVE were selected to precede BLOOD THIRST, then BLOOD THIRST causes further damage.
  9. In the "Barrow Mounds of the Gatesmen" scenario, Golems can only attack (from a hilltop) with range 2-4, so if they attack an adjacent unit, then it must be a melee attack.
×
×
  • Create New...