Jump to content

Harlaan

Members
  • Content Count

    27
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Harlaan

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thank you, I didn't know that the effect is considered resolved even if the action fails
  2. We all know the composure+afterburners combo to get a focus twice a game. Does it actually work though? From the RR: Paying Costs A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved. For example, GNK “Gonk” Droid’s ability says “Action: Spend 1 charge to recover 1 shield.” The ship cannot spend the charge if it has no inactive shields. So if you fail the afterburners action, is the effect resolved or not? Because if it's not, then you can't spend the charge and use composure. What am I getting wrong? For further reference: Afterburners After you fully execute a speed 3-5 maneuver, you may spend 1 charge to perform a boost action, even while stressed. Composure After you fail an action, if you have no green tokens, you may perform a focus action. X wing official rulings Q: Which effects are abilities? A: An ability is text from a card a player controls (such a ship card, upgrade card, damage card, remote card, device, condition card, etc). Q: When is the cost for an ability paid? A: The cost for an ability is paid when the ability is resolved. An ability cannot be added to the queue if its cost could not be paid at the time it is added. If an ability's cost cannot be paid when it would be resolved from the queue, the ability is not resolved and is instead removed from the queue. The ability's cost is not paid.
  3. So, just to be absolutely sure, on the second rock you wouldn't roll for damage from overlapping but you wouldn't be able to fire, because in the engagement phase you are not ignoring it anymore right?
  4. Grappling Struts Closed: Setup: Equip this side faceup. While you execute a maneuver, if you overlap an asteroid or debris cloud and there are 1 or fewer other friendly ships at range 0 of that obstacle, you may flip this card. Open: You ignore obstacles at range 0 and while you move through them. After you reveal your dial, if you reveal a maneuver other than a [2 straight] and are at range 0 of an asteroid or debris cloud, skip your Execute Maneuver step and remove 1 stress token; if you revealed a right or left maneuver, rotate your ship 90º in that direction. After you execute a maneuver, flip this card. Let's say you are a vulture landed on a rock with your struts open. You dial in a 2 straight which brings you to a new rock. Questions: 1- Do you suffer the effects of the obstacles? 2- After your activation, are the struts open or closed? I would say that 1) no, because if you reveal a 2 straight, you execute the maneuver, then the obstacles effect and card flipping both have the "after you execute a maneuver" timing so you would first ignore the obstacle and then flip the card 2)the struts are closed, because you already executed a maneuver so you can't follow the "while you execute a maneuver" trigger Right? Wrong? Clarification?
  5. "Leia Organa removes the drawbacks from Resistance Transport Pilot Cova Nell’s ability, allowing her to roll an additional die while defending or performing a primary attack without gaining the stress token from her revealed red maneuver." Doesn't this contradict the new ruling regarding revealed maneuvers? Since her revealed maneuver becomes white cova nell shouldn't be able to roll additional dice
  6. Rose Tico crew reads "While you defend or perform an attack, you may spend 1 of your results to acquire a lock on the enemy ship." Can I: 1 - roll attack dice 2 - spend 1 result to acquire a lock 3 - spend said lock to reroll dice 4 - spend 1 result to reacquire a lock? the last bit has me in doubt, because I think it conflicts with the "once per opportunity" rule. Can anybody confirm?
  7. Can you drop a loose cargo on an obstacle? It came up during our last local tournament and we could not find rulings forbidding it. For that matter, can you do the same with devices?
  8. Wedge's ability is bad, unless you are going against heavily modded defence dice
  9. Let's say i want to run a VCX with a shuttle docked from setup. Do I need both titles or only the Ghost? It could be an obvious answer but i can't find in the rules reference anything regarding the prerequisites to have a ship docked. For reference: Ghost You can dock 1 attack shuttle or Sheathipede-class shuttle. Your docked ships can deploy only from your rear guides. Phantom You can dock at range 0-1.
  10. Just had a blast at LGS small tournament and won 3-0 with this list. Between linked actions, pilot abilities and Jyn Erso almost every turn each ship has offensive and defensive modifiers. Cassian's ability helps in keeping dials open (most of the time Braylen's, since Ten easily sheds stress by himself) and Leia works wonders with the B-wings, whose role is to brawl close to the enemy and never die thanks to evades and selfless. Very, very fun to fly: Ten Numb (46) Selfless (3) Jamming Beam (0) Braylen Stramm (47) Selfless (3) Jamming Beam (0) Horton Salm (37) Ion Cannon Turret (4) Seismic Charges (3) Veteran Turret Gunner (6) Cassian Andor (47) Leia Organa (2) Jyn Erso (2) Pivot Wing (0) Total: 200 View in Yet Another Squad Builder 2.0 My 3 matches were against(probably i am forgetting some upgrades): - RAC(vader, FCS, advanced protons)/Sai(CD,title)/Scourge Skutu (crack shot) - Dormitz/Tavson/Stridan all with HTD and FCS - Boba Fett (Maul, Marauder, Jamming Beam, VTG)/Fenn Rau (crack shot)/Mining guild sentry I am actually debating whether to swap seismic charges for a hull upgrade because i hardly ever found good opportunities to use them, but that may just be my inexperience with bombs
  11. Let's say I have Leia on a VCX piloted by Hera. I use Leia's charges and reveal a red 1 hard. Does that still count as revealing a red maneuver for the purposes of Hera's ability or is it considered white, thus denying the opportunity to change maneuver?
×
×
  • Create New...