Jump to content

Maui.

Members
  • Content Count

    1,439
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from gadwag in Best Hondo Caddy?   
  2. Confused
    Maui. got a reaction from ClassicalMoser in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    why should the Empire get a Rebel ship? according to wookiepedia, the Star Wing was fielded by the Rebel Alliance and there isn't a canon source suggesting that it was ever an Imperial ship. and since we all know wookiepedia is the flawless arbiter of all information related to star wars, this begs the real question we should all be asking:
    FFG rebel star wings when
  3. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from ClassicalMoser in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    Ok, but if you're going to give Rebels the B-wing and the Star-wing, you probably have to give the Empire something as well, right?
  4. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from joeshmoe554 in Best Hondo Caddy?   
  5. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from Npmartian in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    Ok, but if you're going to give Rebels the B-wing and the Star-wing, you probably have to give the Empire something as well, right?
  6. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from dsul413 in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    Ok, but if you're going to give Rebels the B-wing and the Star-wing, you probably have to give the Empire something as well, right?
  7. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from Bucknife in Best Hondo Caddy?   
  8. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from RStan in Best Hondo Caddy?   
  9. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from 5050Saint in New squadrons packs ?   
    using my own extremely scientific method, i have deduced that the gauntlet's wingspan is 52.4m based on the irrefutable fact that wookiepedia = science
  10. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from Scum4Life in Best Hondo Caddy?   
  11. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from Odanan in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    Ok, but if you're going to give Rebels the B-wing and the Star-wing, you probably have to give the Empire something as well, right?
  12. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from CoffeeMinion in Star Wars: Squadrons - Assault class   
    Ok, but if you're going to give Rebels the B-wing and the Star-wing, you probably have to give the Empire something as well, right?
  13. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from LUZ_TAK in Playable Hyperdrive Docking Ring   
    The Ring looks like cancer for standardized play and excellent fun for casual/narrative play. I'm glad to have it and also relieved that I won't be seeing it in tournaments.
  14. Thanks
    Maui. got a reaction from 5050Saint in My thoughts on the points update.   
    Wait, you actually want triple upsilons back?
  15. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from Sunitsa in Red SLAM   
    We already know that "one action" opportunities don't extend to include additional action opportunities triggered by that first action (e.g. Sai and coordinate). There is no reason for us to interpret "the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step" as anything other than the single specific action opportunity granted by the standard rules governing a ship's activation.
    If FFG wants there to be red SLAMs they'll give us red SLAMs, either on a card or by making changes to the rules. We can't change the rules to make things work differently; that's FFG's job.
  16. Thanks
    Maui. reacted to meffo in Red SLAM   
    you're missing the ability queue, yeah. and the rules on SLAM. a linked action never has the same timing window as the action it was linked from. it happens afterwards. you can add effects and abilities to the front of ability queue, thus they resolve before other effects in the queue.
    i'm totally with you when you're questioning the perform action step and what happens during it, when it ends, etc., but in the context of the rest of the rules, it's irrelevant. this is the rule on when a SLAM action can be performed:

    there isn't much of a question left there. it can be performed only as the ship's one action during the perform action step. it's not just that it can only be performed during the perform action step, it can only be the one action during the perform action step.
    sometimes, the rules are actually very clear if you read all of them.
  17. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from gadwag in My thoughts on the points update.   
    Wait, you actually want triple upsilons back?
  18. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from Flurpy in Happy Friday - A tale of 2 Poes   
    New Poe should be a few points cheaper than old Poe, but then again old Poe should be a few points cheaper than old Poe
  19. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from gadwag in Playable Hyperdrive Docking Ring   
    The Ring looks like cancer for standardized play and excellent fun for casual/narrative play. I'm glad to have it and also relieved that I won't be seeing it in tournaments.
  20. Haha
    Maui. got a reaction from DR4CO in Happy Friday - A tale of 2 Poes   
    New Poe should be a few points cheaper than old Poe, but then again old Poe should be a few points cheaper than old Poe
  21. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from DR4CO in Red SLAM   
    We already know that "one action" opportunities don't extend to include additional action opportunities triggered by that first action (e.g. Sai and coordinate). There is no reason for us to interpret "the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step" as anything other than the single specific action opportunity granted by the standard rules governing a ship's activation.
    If FFG wants there to be red SLAMs they'll give us red SLAMs, either on a card or by making changes to the rules. We can't change the rules to make things work differently; that's FFG's job.
  22. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from DR4CO in Red SLAM   
    That isn't how it works, though. Pattern Analyzer does not create a Pattern Analyzer step before the Perform Action step; rather it simply specifies its timing as after the movement step and before the Check Stress step. When you use Pattern Analyzer to perform an action, any ability or effect that happens "after you perform an action" is also triggered, and because you have not yet reached the Check Stress step, such actions also happen before the Check Stress step.
    As it stands, it's quite clear that you cannot use any ability or effect to perform a SLAM action except for a) the one opportunity you get from the Perform Action step and b) the opportunity provided by Coaxium Hyperfuel, which specifically bypasses the rule.
  23. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from meffo in Red SLAM   
    We already know that "one action" opportunities don't extend to include additional action opportunities triggered by that first action (e.g. Sai and coordinate). There is no reason for us to interpret "the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step" as anything other than the single specific action opportunity granted by the standard rules governing a ship's activation.
    If FFG wants there to be red SLAMs they'll give us red SLAMs, either on a card or by making changes to the rules. We can't change the rules to make things work differently; that's FFG's job.
  24. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from nitrobenz in Red SLAM   
    We already know that "one action" opportunities don't extend to include additional action opportunities triggered by that first action (e.g. Sai and coordinate). There is no reason for us to interpret "the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step" as anything other than the single specific action opportunity granted by the standard rules governing a ship's activation.
    If FFG wants there to be red SLAMs they'll give us red SLAMs, either on a card or by making changes to the rules. We can't change the rules to make things work differently; that's FFG's job.
  25. Like
    Maui. got a reaction from nitrobenz in Red SLAM   
    That isn't how it works, though. Pattern Analyzer does not create a Pattern Analyzer step before the Perform Action step; rather it simply specifies its timing as after the movement step and before the Check Stress step. When you use Pattern Analyzer to perform an action, any ability or effect that happens "after you perform an action" is also triggered, and because you have not yet reached the Check Stress step, such actions also happen before the Check Stress step.
    As it stands, it's quite clear that you cannot use any ability or effect to perform a SLAM action except for a) the one opportunity you get from the Perform Action step and b) the opportunity provided by Coaxium Hyperfuel, which specifically bypasses the rule.
×
×
  • Create New...