Jump to content

Sir Reginold

Members
  • Content Count

    31
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Sir Reginold

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    I'm really not pushing the power limit of the game. His GMPC is the most combat oriented character, and more powerful than mine in combat, I focus more on social and force powers, and spy stuff. Also we have gone far higher in power before. Also it doesn't particularly matter anymore now that I know about the rule that you reduce the difficulty by 2 for modding attachments on a lightsaber. Combining that with personalized inlay I'll be able to do 6/7 mods without risk, and I just won't do the 7th, I can live with one +1 less than optimal.
  2. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    That's pretty fair, the crafting system is pretty broken, but the mod system is a bit different. Also I don't think the schematic option takes double triumphs, also you can only ever take it once per type. Perhaps I'm mistaken.
  3. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    If ship things have tens of mods, and you aren't in general allowed to make impossible rolls, how is it supposed to work?
  4. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    Ah ninja'd a bit by Sarg01, that tidbit about decreasing the difficulty is something we didn't know. We always thought the only advantage a jedi got was his force rating for modding crystals. I built my current lightsaber with a personal inlay, so that reduces it further by 1, I'll be able to do 6 risk free. As far as I'm aware if you increase difficulty past 5 you upgrade instead, I always thought that was a rule. Maybe I was wrong?
  5. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    There isn't really a way for me to do that diplomatically enough, but I'll think about whether or not it is important enough to me.
  6. Sir Reginold

    Avoiding Dispair while modding

    I know he's wrong, it doesn't matter, I need a work around.
  7. So you know where it says if you fail to mod something, and roll a despair the attachment is rendered useless? Well my gm interprets this very clear passage as if you roll a despair the attachment is rendered useless, regardless of success failure. I find these kind of house-rules very annoying, especially because he doesn't acknowledge that it is a house-rule, and I can't really challenge him on it without being an *******. Long story short I need a one time low to no xp cost way to avoid at least one despair on lightsaber crystal modding roll on an illum crystal. Any ideas?
  8. Sir Reginold

    Magic item question

    I think what I'll do is give two items, but review the ones they choose, and veto any that I feel might break the game.
  9. Sir Reginold

    Magic item question

    Thanks those are some interesting ideas, but yes it is a focal point in the campaign and the equivalent will never occur again narratively. I think I have an idea of what I might do instead of a second magic item, but then again, I prefer certain things to be done in game. If you don't think it will break the game, then well I still have time to think about it. It is less what is ballanced, and more what is appropriate, I don't want to flood them with magic items and find that they will never want for another magic item. I dunno.
  10. Sir Reginold

    Magic item question

    So I'm going to be GMing a campaign of Terrinoth soon, and the details of this campaign are... irrelevant by and large for the purposes of this thread. Suffice to say I really like the occasional combat, so I put them in, but by and large my campaign's focus will be other. Probably a large social focus, social combat, intrigue, etc. Now the question I have: Early on(around 3rd session) an NPC is going to give the PCs each a magic item / rune bound shard of their choosing (the choice is meta, he only has one for each PC, but he chose with their specific needs/wants in mind when acquiring them ) Now that is going to happen, but my question is what would happen to game balance if he game them two? Personally I think thematically one is fine, but two would also be fine, I just want to know if game balance will be destroyed if they get two each, or can the system handle this? I'm especially interested in the opinions of people who have already played the game despite it being new. Thanks
  11. Sir Reginold

    Optical Camouflage System

    Cool, I agree that I should roll, but I can see secret rolls being made in this case. I know that in principle secret rolls shouldn't be made in this system, but sometimes they can be useful. Thanks guys.
  12. So this attachment upgrades the ability of stealth twice. That's great. I asked my GM if that applies to when it's perception vs stealth, he said yes at the time, but I'm not sure, and this answer is obscure enough that I haven't been able to find anything one way or the other. To clarify if I have this attachment and an NPC rolls his skill vs my skill, as in my skill is negative dice, does the upgrade still happen? Clearly it should work, it would make no real sense if it didn't I just wanted to make sure I wasn't cheating when I go to buy it.
  13. Sir Reginold

    Augment durration

    Thanks!
  14. Sir Reginold

    Augment durration

    Wow, I am such an idiot, I didn't fully read concentrate I realize, so I thought it had to specify that it could be concentrated on, but if Augment can be concentrated on baseline, that's great! What about my other question? Can a character with a stat at 5 benefit from Augment for that stat's rolls?
  15. Sir Reginold

    Augment durration

    Also can augment effectively raise a stat to 6? I think it isn't really raising a stat it's just increasing your roll, so it should work with a stat at 5 right?
×