Jump to content

Amanda the Panda

Members
  • Content Count

    62
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Amanda the Panda

  1. I have read every issue of every Star Wars comic since the buyout and I stand by most of the things Archlyte says. Ultimately Aphra's arc always consists of her building up to a colossal disaster, and then narrowly averting that disaster. My issue is that watching her avert those disasters is not compelling, because she is not a likable or sympathetic character.
  2. I suspect that the Clone Wars starter pack will be Anakin 2 Units of Clone Troopers 1 vehicle Ahsoka (Operative) Vs Dooku 2 Units of Battle Droids 1 vehicle Ventress (Operative) I also suspect we will see an Obi-Wan and Grevious commander pack fairly soon after. Along with maybe an Arc Trooper and Super Battle Droid specialist pack.
  3. Gosh spooky! Have you never heard of death of the author? Just kidding, loved the story!
  4. Actually, you compared them directly, implying that if they were good at one, they should be better at the other. Nobody put words in your mouth but you. To further complain that people calling you out are 'better than this' is just poor behavior.
  5. durable katana and wakazashi that require an extra op to use the snaring condition I guess
  6. I think that it is mentioned somewhere that when exchanging gifts, the two refusals do not have to be done. The refusals are a tradition for when one party offers a gift to another. Of course, like many many things in Rokugan, this is muddy over different editions and fictions. EDIT: Of course other sources show that in addition to the refusals, the recipient of a gift is supposed to offer something in return for the gift they have been given, so perhaps one does not refuse this 'gift-gift'. Generally though, I trust that there is a reason for the author's choice!
  7. I think I am going to house rule that any attack action can crit. It buffs the Kakita's ability to win at low levels a little. Earth stance is still a bit good though
  8. In a standard Iaijutsu duel, no way is the horse getting involved. If he does, the Shinjo is disqualified for interference
  9. That's fine, but what you quoted was nothing to do with the Kakita and everything to do with the Utaku.
  10. If the Shinjo Outrider gets to be higher than Kakita because of their horse, I think that the Utaku should be too. Whilst the Shinjo does not need to be mounted to use their ability, 99.9% of the time they will be mounted if their horse is a factor in a duel. Whilst mounted, the Utaku gets bonus success equal to her school rank, and her warhorse grants skilled assistance on martial rolls.
  11. Void Kakita is dueling king rank 2 on. You can't crit at all if you can't attack I think that balanced stats are the duelists best friend. It is all about game theory, and unless you are using it as bait, one stat that stands out above the others is going to be a target
  12. If he is going second though, he is in water, and you water stance swing at him next turn, with the possibility of critting Edit: Or another cool thing could be battle in the mind at rank 3. I honestly like dueling in this edition. It is a game of predicting what your opponent is going to do, not any one solid tactic. If you can out think you opponent you can win, regardless of stats
  13. I don't disagree, but I also don't think three attacks before the Hida does one is the best tactic to deal with an earth based duelist. Much more profit from predict on the first turn
  14. For DUELS I prefer air to fire (not at the point of dumping fire). The stance benefit of Fire seems to be a shortcut to unmasking, whereas being harder to hit is universally useful, even if it is not always enough. In a skirmish though, gimme that sweet sweet fire
  15. Air is not the best combat ring, I agree. It does boost focus though, which is an important part of hitting someone more times than they hit you
  16. By the time the Hida can buy an Iaijutsu technique, this is irrelevant, as we can buy what we like. I can counter with - The Kakita bought some Water, he is not stupid. EDIT: In response to your edit, I agree - As stance is such an important factor in duels I might even go so far as to say that the Hiruma is the best duelist in the game
  17. Hida sitting in earth stance could easily get hit by a Kakita 3 times for the Hida's one. That is if he doesn't unmask first, even with his impressive composure. Hida has to spend the first turn drawing his weapon. Kakita can be in whatever stance he likes, to dump damage on the Hida. Next turn Kakita is in earth, and drops a single ring dice, a worthwhile trade off for not losing there and then. Unless the Hida bids a lot of Strife (Probably 3) he is getting hit again before he hits the kakita. Turn three, same story. Can the Hida tank 3 hits from the Kakita before he goes down? Considering they likely have the same endurance?
  18. It isn't about access, it is about it counting towards your school advancement. It does seem to be a unique case though
  19. The official Errata gives Rising Blade a tiny bit more use as a finishing blow. The TN of rising blade is equal to the targets vigilance. A Compromised Target is always vigilance 1. This means it is easier to hit with Rising Blade than it is Crossing Blade or a standard Strike
  20. Custom kata maybe? Kakita's first stance: Activation: When you make a martial arts (melee) check using a razor-edged weapon in a one handed grip you may spend opportunity in the following way *-You may sheathe your weapon after the attack. Just spitballing, as has been said, Water Stance lets you do it just fine
  21. Got an answer back from FFG for my rules questions. Full text here But the long and short of it is that 'Crossing Cut' can be used to deal a finishing blow. Because of my second question - So possibly can 'predict' and 'wait'
  22. Okay, I got some answers from FFG myself. 1) If an effect allows you to take an action (such as a finishing blow allowing you to take an attack action in a clash or a duel) does that action have to have all the subtypes allowed, or only one of them. In the example above, a Finishing Blow allows an attack action. The Crossing Cut kata is and attack and a movement action. Would the Crossing Cut kata be invalid for the Finishing Blow as it has more than one subtype, or would it be valid because it has the requested subtype? 1). When an effect allows a character to perform an "X action" (such as the Attack action allowed by a Finishing Blow), it means they can perform any action that possesses that type—even if it possesses other types as well. So Crossing Cut can indeed be used for a Finishing Blow (and so can any other Attack and [another type] action). 2)If a critical hit is reduced to a strength 0 critical hit, has a critical hit still taken place for effects that track them? 2). A critical strike that is reduced to 0–2 still counts as a critical strike, and thus can be used to end a duel to First Strike or activate the Matsu Berserker's school ability. Think of this as the classic samurai trope of the two warriors withdrawing and then a sleeve being cut, or a bit of one's hair falling to the ground a moment later.
×
×
  • Create New...