Jump to content

Orzed

Members
  • Content Count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Answered here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27560354#27560354
  2. After a few weeks of playing RtL with others, and also solo, I have some questions I can't find a definitive answer for. Some of these are no doubt answered somewhere, but I can't find that answer. Please help, thank you. All questions are Road to Legend-specific if that affects the answer. REPLIES - REQUESTED FORMAT Please reply without huge quotes of the questions to keep the post clean. Hopefully, "yes / no" answers are possible for all questions. E.g. "Q1: No." + any supporting text. There are currently 7 questions, questions 2 and 7 have more than one section. "Q2-A: Yes" + any supporting text. "Q2-B: "No" + any supporting text. "Q3: No." + any supporting text. etc. Thanks! QUESTION 1 - FATIGUE RECOVERY TRIGGER In general, the RtL rules support a zero figure as a valid result only for the purposes of targeting when based on figures without Attributes. However, an attack that causes zero damage is still a valid "hit" and surges can be spent. Surges can be spent even when the damage is zero. (Unofficial FAQ) Q: Can a hero... spend a surge to recover fatigue if there are no fatigue tokens on his hero sheet? A: The surge would be able to be spent regardless of whether or not the hero had suffered any fatigue. Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13687550#13687550 "The surge would be able to be spent regardless of whether or not the hero had suffered any fatigue. Thanks, Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games". Q1: If a player with no fatigue tokens on their hero sheet spends a surge to "recover fatigue", and thus recovers zero fatigue, does this trigger other abilities that rely on "recover fatigue" as the requirement is triggered at a value of zero? E.g. Elder Mok's hero ability. QUESTION 2 - RUNEMASTER'S RUNIC KNOWLEDGE AND SIMILAR EFFECTS The key to the official response is that the fatigue suffered is "indirect" and not part of the "cost" of the "skill". (Unoffcial FAQ) Q: Can Runemaster hero use Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer and suffer 1 damage instead? A: Yes he can. Source (1): https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13203575#13203575 "Justin Kemppainen wrote: Yes he can. Thanks, Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games" Source (2): https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20007611#20007611 "Rules question wrote: In 2013 someone on BoardGameGeek posted an apparant reply to a question submitted to you. In it, Justin Kemppainen is quoted as stating that a Runemaster can use the Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer by suffering 1 damage instead. I'd like to verify if you (still) stand by that ruling. This because it seems to be in contradiction with the general rule that a hero can not (voluntarily) suffer fatigue to use skills if his fatigue already equals his stamina. Thanks for the help! FFG reply wrote: Great question. It is true that fatigue cannot be voluntarily suffered if the fatigue is the cost to something else (such as a skill). In the case of Runic Knowledge, the surge is the cost to use that surge ability, and the suffering of a fatigue is an involuntary result, not part of the cost. So yes, a hero with Runic Knowledge could surge to use that ability, even while fatigued out, and then suffer a damage instead." I hope this helps clear things up! Thanks for playing. Kara Centell-Dunk, Game Developer." MAIN RULES PG 9 USE A SKILL When using a skill, a hero cannot suffer fatigue that would exceed his Stamina. If a hero has already suffered fatigue equal to his Stamina, or if the skill would cause him to suffer more fatigue than his Stamina allows, he cannot use the skill until he recovers enough fatigue. MAIN RULES PG 13 FATIGUE AND STAMINA ... When using skills or moving, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal to his Stamina. If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue that would have been suffered.... COMMUNITY RULES PG 9 CHARACTERISTICS Stamina A figure cannot voluntarily suffer more fatigue than his Stamina value allows. If any other game effect forces a figure to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, it instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue it would suffer. COMMUNITY RULES PG 13 FATIGUE A hero cannot voluntarily choose to suffer fatigue if the amount of fatigue he has suffered would exceed his Stamina. If an effect forces a figure to suffer fatigue that exceeds his Stamina, he instead suffers 1 damage for each fatigue he cannot suffer. COMMUNITY RULES PG 18 HERO ABILITY A unique Hero ability are not considered to be a skill. However, it is often confused with the term “hero abilities” in a general sense, which refers to all abilities on Class cards, Search cards, or Item cards of a hero. OTHER APPLICATIONS OF THE "RUNIC KNOWLEDGE" RULING Hero ability e.g. Sir Valadir. Not a "skill" as above, and does not require an action. There is no "cost" to activate the hero ability, which is also not a "skill". The hero ability has an "indirect" effect. Q2-A, Abilities: If Sir Valadir has max fatigue can he suffer damage instead to generate a surge? - If "yes", it's assumed he can then use that surge to recover a fatigue, effectively trading one damage for one fatigue. - As Steelcaster/Runemaster, it's also assumed he could instead suffer a damage to spend the surge on Runic Knowledge. So, for example (as a Steelcaster/Runemaster), if he hits max fatigue by using Blast he can use Runic Knowledge at a cost of two damage (one to add a surge, one to spend it). Q2-B, Items: Bard's Lute (and similar items) - Exhausting an item that does not require an action is not "use of a skill or a move action", or a Special action. This is an "indirect" result of the use of Lute and does not "cost" anything. The Item has an "indirect" effect. Can a Bard use the Lute at max fatigue and suffer a damage instead? From the Runic Knowledge answers, source (2): "the suffering of a fatigue is an involuntary result, not part of the cost". Q2-C, Triggers: Mordrog is a Steelcaster at max fatigue, has a surge, and uses Runic Knowledge to suffer one fatigue (as a damage, as per ruling) and uses that surge to add 2 damage to the attack. Mordrog "suffers 1 or more damage" and therefore recovers one fatigue from his hero ability. Correct? QUESTION 3 - ZERO RESULT & TRIGGERS UNOFFICIAL FAQ Q: Andira Runehand's hero ability reads: "Each time you suffer 1 or more damage from an adjacent figure, that figure suffers 1 damage." If Andira has fatigue equal to her stamina and suffers fatigue due to an ability of an adjacent monster, say an leech ability (or a master cave spider's web ability), does the monster take 1 damage from Andira? A: The damage in this case is suffered as the result of having suffered fatigue up to the hero's Stamina, so Andira Runehand's ability would not trigger. Q3: This appears to be incorrect. In the situation described Andira is suffering fatigue beyond her stamina not "up to". Previously we've assumed the text above is incorrect. Regardless, a recent question / nuance from my group that applies to other effects: The damage trigger is not coming from the monster, but from a Hero sheet, so Andira's hero ability still does not trigger. Correct? QUESTION 4 - START OF TURN ORDERING Q4: How are positives and negatives ordered? - e.g. disease condition vs Knight Inspiration The global rule is "active player decides", so the Knight could decide to roll for Disease first, or (for example) if on max fatigue with one health remaining, use Inspiration first. Is this assumption correct? QUESTION 5 - ENCOUNTERS DO NOT APPLY IN THE RtL APP (DELVE / TRIALS) Q5: Do encounter transitions apply to the app? The answer appears to be "no". e.g. in a Delve, it's assumed only one heroic feat per Delve is allowed. Feats are not mentioned in the Act II transition. Same for Trials, one Feat per Trial. Correct? QUESTION 6 - MONSTERS AND CRUMBLING TERRAIN Q6: What is monster behavior when adjacent to / on crumbling terrain? As per Community rules their ability scores "do not exist" apart from when establishing target. Therefore, monsters treat crumbling terrain as normal squares until the crumbling terrain is removed by a figure with ability stats that fails an ability test. Correct? QUESTION 7 - CLARIFY MONSTER AOE SKILLS & HALVING "SPLASH" DAMAGE / "SECONDARY TARGETS" NOTE: It is understood that skills or abilities with *separate attack targets* do not halve damage. DESCENT MAIN RULES, PG 13 BLAST On a Blast attack, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack pool once and applies the result to each affected figure, but each affected individually rolls its defense pool separately. Only the target space needs to be in range and in line of sight of the attacker. Blast attacks affect both enemy and friendly figures, and a figure can only be affected by Blast once per attack. Note: The usual term "figures" is also mentioned in RtL, here: RtL PG 6 BLAST When resolving an attack with the “Blast” keyword, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack dice once and applies the full damage to the target enemy and half of the damage to figures adjacent to that space, rounded up. Each figure affected by the attack (including any friendly figures) roll their own defense dice. However, this implies the rule benefit is biased towards monsters only: RtL PG 8 ATTACKING MULTIPLE MONSTERS When a hero performs an attack that targets or affects multiple monsters, the monsters gain an additional advantage when damage is dealt. Choose 1 monster to which you will deal damage first and resolve the step as normal. Then halve the damage results (rounded up), and apply that value to each of the additional ("secondary target") monsters, before applying damage. This rule applies to attacks with Blast but also actions such as “Whirlwind,” “Army of Death,” and Leoric of the Book’s Heroic Feat. Q7-A: Fire Breath, does the damage halve when applied to any valid "secondary target" figure that is not the original target, even Hero Figures? Q7-B: Do hero figures halve secondary damage from a monster's Blast attack? E.g. Lava Beetle. Q7-C: Is the halved damage for secondary targets affected by the same attack (dice) "splash damage", global? APPENDIX - RtL BUGS / BALANCING Agent vs Lieutenant Recent Trial (Bear) act I Serena spawned - Serena does not have an Act I Lieutenant card, Agent only possible, so spawned agent. Recent Trial (Bear) act II Alric Farrow spawned - no Lieutenant pack, therefore no Agent, so spawned Lieutenant. The Trials do not specify Agent vs Lieutenant, at least that I've seen. The RtL Campaign rule is only spawn the Agent when the text says Agent. This could just be a Trials bug for any Lieutenant without Act I cards, and we should always spawn the Lieutenant (if possible). Please clarify, thanks. Dispossessed Their activations need review in RtL Trials. Regular retreating, often out of Line of Sight, prevents use of their Ethereal Hold.
  3. Yep, true. But if you're interested mainly in Road to Legend and are generally aware of the rules, this post should solve or short-cut many rules questions that occur. 86 pages of info spread across several sections can be difficult to source answers! Edit: Link to the full community rules added to post, and thanks.
  4. Reserved for future corrections, updates, clarifications.
  5. Hi! I've been lurking around these forums for a while now and thought it would be useful to share this post. I was introduced to D2E by a friend playing co-op vs the app when we lacked more players, and liked it. Since then I've played a lot of RtL and have needed to clarify or collate or realise a lot of the finer points of the rules. Here's the text I've compiled as a reference guide, shared in case it's of use to others. It's intended to be a one-stop list of anything that can be misunderstood, misinterpreted, assumed or missed without the specific official text / answer. It is not a fully comprehensive list of all rules, the post assumes you understand anything clear and unambiguous in the official rules provided. Suggestions for additions or corrections are welcome but need to be official rules text or an answer to a question by a FFG representative. Thanks. (Obviously it's from various sources, once I see the post I'll sort out any formatting issues) **General RtL rules: clarifications and collations** ROAD TO LEGEND RULES RtL PG 8 ATTACKING MULTIPLE MONSTERS When a hero performs an attack that targets or affects multiple monsters, the monsters gain an additional advantage when damage is dealt. Choose 1 monster to which you will deal damage first and resolve the step as normal. Then halve the damage results (rounded up), and apply that value to each of the additional monsters, before applying defense dice results. This rule applies to attacks with Blast but also actions such as “Whirlwind,”“Army of Death,” and Leoric of the Book’s Heroic Feat. RtL PG 6 BLAST When resolving an attack with the “Blast” keyword, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack dice once and applies the full damage to the target enemy and half of the damage to figures adjacent to that space, rounded up. Each figure affected by the attack (including any friendly figures) roll their own defense dice. OFFICIAL FAQ PG4 FIRE BREATH Q: When tracing a path for the Fire Breath ability, does the path have to be a straight line? A: No, the path can be traced in any direction and can even change direction. RtL PG 8 HEALING KO'D HERO The hero can be the target of any game effect that causes damage recovery, which immediately places him back on the map and makes him no longer knocked out. This includes the stand up and revive actions but also includes potions, Class cards, hero abilities, and anything else that allows that hero to recover damage. RtL PG 16 MONSTER ACTIVATION If players get to the bottom of the list, they cycle back through it until the monster’s activation ends. The monster’s activation ends after it has resolved 2 actions or when it cannot resolve any actions in the list. Normal restrictions and special abilities still apply. For example, most monsters cannot attack more than once per activation, so any actions that contain attacks are skipped if the monster already attacked...... If a hero has a skill or ability that stops an action from having an effect, but that skill or ability is already in effect, the monster skips that action. For example, if a Terrified monster (cannot spend surges) is instructed to attack an adjacent hero, but the only adjacent hero is a Thief who has used “Unseen” (must spend a surge or miss), then that action is not attempted. RtL PG 18 MONSTER MOVEMENT CLARIFICATIONS When players are resolving movement instructions from the app, they should keep the following in mind: • A monster that is Immobilized cannot perform actions with spot or engage and skips those actions. • When moving, a figure always takes the route to the target space that requires the fewest number of movement points. • When ending a large figure’s movement, it “expands” in a direction that facilitates the instructed movement (either toward or away from the target). • Monsters always avoid pit spaces and will not move through hazard or lava spaces if doing so will damage them. Monsters only move through water and sludge spaces if doing so requires fewer movement points, and monsters always avoid ending their movement in sludge spaces if possible. Heroes being forced to move in this manner have no such restrictions. • If a hero interrupts a monster’s activation with a skill or ability, take a moment to reevaluate the monster’s priority if necessary. For example, if the Wildlander is the closest hero, but he then uses “Nimble” so that another hero is the closest hero, a monster that is engaging the closest hero should target the new closest hero instead. RtL PG 19 MONSTER SURGES / MONSTER ATTACKS Road to Legend uses the core rules for resolving attacks with one major exception: how surges are spent. If a monster has multiple different types of surge abilities, the order in which it spends surges is displayed in its info panel. To display the info panel, either select the monster’s portrait and select “Info” or select the skull icon in that monster’s activation window. When a monster has multiple surge abilities, it follows the order in its info panel. For each surge ability, if that ability will have no effect, or the monster does not have enough surges, skip it. Otherwise, trigger it and continue spending surges in this manner until the monster is out of them, cycling back through the list if necessary until out of surges or if none of the abilities will have any effect. Note that surge abilities with a numerical value associated with their effect are shown with an X in place of the value (such as +/- X damage or Pierce X). The value of X is determined by the value displayed on the Monster card corresponding with the current Act. Generally, a monster attempts to use surges on special abilities (such as inflicting a condition), followed by additional damage. However, the following rules take priority over the order provided in the info panel: • The figure always spends any surges that prevent the attack from being a miss. This includes gaining additional Range when necessary but also game effects that require surges to be spent in order to not miss. • The figure always spends surges to defeat a hero, if possible. This can cause it to ignore surges with special abilities in favor of those that cause additional damage. • The figure will not spend a surge that has no effect. For example, a monster will not inflict a condition upon a hero who already has that condition. • If a figure, such as a hero, doesn’t have an info panel for its surge order and is forced to perform an attack, it focuses upon dealing the maximum amount of damage, still following the other instructions in this list. **Familiars & Figures Treated As Figures / Heroes** MAIN DESCENT RULEBOOK MAIN DESCENT RULEBOOK PG 17 FAMILIARS ... Activating a familiar does not require an action, but it may not interrupt any other action. Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first. Familiars treat any special terrain (other than obstacles) as water during their movement. The familiar may perform additional types of actions during its activation, as noted on its Familiar card. These additional actions, unless otherwise noted, may be performed in addition to the move action and may interrupt the move action in a way similar to hero move actions. MAIN DESCENT RULEBOOK PG 17 FAMILIARS TREATED AS FIGURES Some familiars, such as the Reanimate, are treated as figures (as indicated by its Familiar card). These familiars block line of sight and movement, but are considered friendly figures for hero movement. Unlike normal familiars, these types of familiars are susceptible to the effects of terrain during their movement and may be affected by conditions. When a familiar is defeated, remove it from the map. RtL PG 11 FAMILIARS Most familiars are treated as Figures, which is specified on the Familiar card. A familiar treated as a figure has the following rules: • It can be targeted and attacked by monsters as if it were a hero. • It is affected by hero and monster abilities. • It blocks line of sight and movement. • It can gain conditions and other tokens that heroes can gain. • It is affected by terrain as normal. Familiars that are not treated as figures do not block line of sight and movement and can occupy the same space as other figures. These familiars cannot be affected by most game effects except those specified on their cards. They also treat any special terrain, other than obstacles, as water during their movement. For more information about monsters attacking familiars, see “Appendix II” on page 23. RtL PG 19 Peril effects only affect the heroes themselves and not figures treated as heroes (such as some familiars and tokens). RtL PG 22 The Delve Note: Nothing remains on the map in between stages, including familiars and special class tokens. The only exception relates to Challara, whose familiar, “Brightblaze,” is placed adjacent to her when the heroes are placed on the map of a new stage. RtL PG 23 Appendix II FIGURES TREATED AS HEROES Figures treated as heroes, such as familiars, follow the same rules as a normal game of Descent, with the following additions. Familiars treated as figures are not affected by quest rules or perils. When a monster is instructed to target a hero, tokens that can be targeted by attacks and figures treated as heroes are included as possible targets. For the purpose of targeting, if a familiar or attackable token does not have the statistic the monster is targeting, that familiar or token is considered to have a value of 0 for the corresponding statistic. Example: A Barghest is instructed to attack the hero with the lowest Might. Widow Tarha and her Reanimate are both adjacent. The Reanimate does not have a Might value listed, so it is considered to be 0. Because Widow Tarha’s 2 Might is greater than the Reanimate’s 0, the Barghest attacks the Reanimate. OFFICIAL FAQ 1.6 PG3 FAMILIARS Q: Can a hero activate a familiar while knocked out? A: Yes, a familiar can be activated before the knocked out hero performs a stand up action, but not after (because standing up immediately ends the hero’s turn). Q: Can monster abilities that are not attacks affect familiars that are treated as figures? A: Yes, any hero or monster ability, monster attack, or Overlord card that targets a hero can also target a familiar that is treated as a figure. Quest special rules that refer to heroes do not include familiars that are treated as figures unless specifically stated. Q: If the Necromancer is defeated, is his Reanimate defeated and removed from the map as well? A: No, the Reanimate is not defeated when the Necromancer is defeated. Unless specifically noted otherwise, familiars treated as figures are only defeated when they suffer damage equal or greater than their Health. Q: Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of his turn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a new Reanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of his turn? A: No, a familiar can only be activated once per round. Even though the Reanimate was removed and placed again, it is still the same familiar. Q: Can a hero spend a surge rolled during a familiar’s attack to recover 1 fatigue? A: No. Q: Can Widow Tarha use her hero ability on attacks made with her Reanimate? A: No, Widow Tarha’s hero ability only affects her own attack rolls. PG 6 LABYRINTH OF RUIN “Elixir Tokens”: Add, “Allies and familiars treated as hero figures can also gain elixir tokens. Each time an ally or familiar gains one elixir token, place it on their card. Allies and familiars treated as hero figures can discard elixir tokens to recover damage just like heroes. Allies and familiars treated as hero figures discard all elixir tokens on their card when they are defeated, when they are summoned, and at the end of each encounter.” PG 9 MANOR OF RAVENS Q: Can monsters attack the Geomancer’s Summoned Stones since they’re not familiars? A: When determining the target of an Activation card, Summoned Stones are considered to be heroes. UNOFFICIAL FAQ Familiars Q: What happens when a familiar is summoned when there is no valid space to place it? A: Unless otherwise specified, if a figure cannot be placed because there are no empty spaces, that figure is instead placed in the closest empty space. Q: According to rules, only 3 effects can affect Characters Treated As Heroes: monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero. Can monster actions (e.g. Throw) affect them? A: Skill cards and monster abilities are able to affect "characters treated as heroes". Q: What about items (e.g. "Staff of Light" [action])? What about overlord cards: "Word of Misery," "Word of Pain," "Word of Despair," "Diabolic Power"? Do they affect something treated like a hero? A: Yes to "Staff of Light" (assuming quest rules allow any healing effects). "Word of Misery," "Pain," "Despair," all yes. "Diabolic Power" could be quite devastating to a group of NPCs, but affirmative to that as well. Q: What is considered "entering a space". A: If the figure was already on the map before the event that caused that figure to be moved/placed into a new space, that figure is entering that space. This explicitly includes abilities like "Remove your figure from the map and place it ...". If the figure was not on the map, that figure is not entering that space (e.g. placing reinforcements, summon familiars, standing up)." A large monster that expands into an empty space is not entering that space. Q: Familiar activation rules state: "A hero player may activate each familiar his hero controls once during his hero turn (either before or after resolving all of his heros' actions). Activating a familiar does not require an action, but it may not interrupt any other action. Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar Is it possible to use fatigue points to move, then activate the familiar, then activate the hero to perform his 2 actions? Can hero use some abilities that are not actions before familiar's activation, then activate familiar, then activate himself? A: Yes. As long as the actions of the familiar and the actions of the hero player do not intermingle (unless otherwise specified in card effects), you would be able to use non-action skills or suffer fatigue before activating a familiar and then themselves. Q: What happens when a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate gets stunned? A: As with anything else, a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate would have to spend an action to remove the Stunned condition. This might be the move action granted by familiar rules, or it might be the attack action granted by specific Skill cards. Q: When a familiar (e.g. Skye) is below another monster (1 space big) is its "adjacency" requirement fulfilled? A: When occupying the same space as a monster, it is unfortunately not the same thing as being adjacent. Q: When familiar (e.g. Skye) is below a large monster which occupies more fields, is it adjacent? A: Yes. Q: What are the movement rules of Summoned Stones? A: Summoned Stones: Can move through spaces occupied by heroes and other familiars that are NOT another Summoned Stone. Can not move through blocked spaces, be it special terrain and/or enemy figures. Treat all special terrain that is not an obstacle space as a water space (costs 2 movement points). Are not defeated on hazard/lava spaces if they end their turn there. Also can freely move out of a pit space. Are obstacles spaces to all heroes, monsters, and familiars. Q: Do Summoned Stones act as a group when it comes to activating them? A: Yes. If a hero has two different familiars (e.g. Brightblaze & Summoned Stones), he could activate them at both the beginning and end of his activations. Q: Can Summoned Stones receive healing? A: No. Q: Can Summoned Stones receive tokens and conditions? A: Conditions - yes, tokens (elixir, valor, insight) Q: There are some situations when a figure may spend 1 movement point to move from one space to another, as if they were adjacent (like entering a secret room or moving between spaces containing objective tokens, in few quests) - does it mean that familiars not treated as figures (i.e. Summoned stone, Skye) cannot move between these tokens? A: Yes. Heroes Q: Do familiars still get their bonuses from skill cards of a hero that has been KOed? A: If the skill card does not require use (i.e. “Use this card …” “Exhaust this card…” or a fatigue cost) than the familiar still gains its bonus from knocked-out heroes’ skill cards. Q: Can heroes trade elixir tokens with allies and familiars treated as hero figures like they can with each other? A: Yes, they can trade elixirs like heroes. Q: How does Sahla's heroic feat work with familiars summoned by class cards? A: Sahla summons his own familiar. This does not stop the original owner from also using this card. Once Sahla’s turn is over, he loses access to the summoning card and familiar itself, which means he reduces his allowable familiars (granted by the card) from one to none, thus discarding his familiar Q: The Skye familiar states that an adjacent monster may be forced to reroll. If a monster occupies the same space as Skye is that still considered adjacent? A: No Q: If a Treasure Hunter is adjacent to a familiar treated as a figure (such as the Reanimate, Wolf, etc.) but not adjacent to any other hero, does he receive the +1 damage bonus from Delver? A: No. Items Q: Can "Fortuna's Die" be used on the Necromancer's ability, "Army of Death"? A: You cannot use "Fortuna's Dice" with "Army of Death. The "you" on that card (and any equipment card) really must refer to the hero, since it's a piece of equipment on that hero and requires exhausting and a fatigue suffered to trigger its effect. Thus, it cannot be used for re-rolling dice of the Reanimate or any other familiar a hero controls. RtL ****PG 23 Appendix I Clarifications****** When playing Road to Legend, some Hero Abilities, Heroic Feats, and class abilities do not function as written. This section lists all of those abilities and clarifies how they should be resolved. HERO CLARIFICATIONS Elder Mok – Heroic Feat: This Heroic Feat has no effect. Grey Ker – Hero Ability: After suspending Grey Ker’s turn, another hero immediately begins their turn; do not select Grey Ker’s “End Turn” button. Grey Ker resumes his turn after another hero ends their turn, selects the “End Turn” button, and resolves the subsequent monster activation (if any). Grey Ker then completes the rest of his turn and selects the “End Turn” button as normal. Roganna the Shade – Heroic Feat: When a monster is instructed to spot a hero who is protected by Roganna the Shade’s Heroic Feat, it engages that hero instead. Seer Kel – Heroic Feat: This Heroic Feat has no effect. CLASS SKILLS CLARIFICATIONS By the Book (Marshal): This card has no effect. Cloud of Mist (Spiritspeaker): While Cloud of Mist is exhausted, a monster that attacks a hero within 3 spaces of the Spiritspeaker spends its first ± to not miss. Danger Sense (Wildlander): This card has no effect. Grim Fate (Prophet): This card has no effect. Just Reward (Marshal): This card has no effect. Payday (Bounty Hunter): Instead of the overlord choosing the search token, choose the search token closest to the Bounty Hunter’s figure. Prayer of Peace (Disciple): While Prayer of Peace is exhausted, monsters only engage spaces that are not adjacent to the Disciple’s figure. In other words, if possible, monsters choose their targets and move so that they are not affected by Prayer of Peace. Summoned Stone (Geomancer): Although Summoned Stones are not heroes or treated as hero figures, they are still targeted by monster actions as if they were. Unseen (Thief ): While Unseen is exhausted, a monster that attacks the Thief spends its first ± to not miss. Zealous Fire (Marshal): This card has no effect. Appendix IV Monsters and Conditions Some conditions require additional instructions when determining how a monster with that condition behaves. Bleeding: If a Bleeding monster cannot perform any action in the current activation and has at least 1 action remaining, it performs the special action to discard “Bleeding.” Burning: If a monster cannot perform any action in the current activation and has at least 1 action remaining, it performs the special action to discard “Burning” from itself or an adjacent monster. If a monster has multiple monsters from which it can discard “Burning,” it discards “Burning” from the monster with the least Health remaining. Cursed: A Cursed monster skips all actions that require it to perform a special action on its Monster card. Doomed: If a monster performs an attack and has one or more surges remaining after spending all of the surges it can (ignoring surges that have no effect and are not needed), it spends one surge to discard “Doomed.” Immobilized: An Immobilized monster skips all actions that require it to perform a move action. At the end of each Immobilized monster’s activation, discard this condition. Stun: When a monster is Stunned, the next action it performs must be to discard “Stun.” If that monster is starting its activation, it discards “Stun” and then proceeds down the list of actions as normal. If a monster becomes stunned in the middle of its activation, it finishes resolving its current action; then, if it has an action remaining, it discards “Stun.” Terrified: When a Terrified monster retreats, it ends its movement so that it is not in line of sight of all enemy figures if possible. This direction overrides the monster’s behavior to move as far as possible from the closest hero if doing so finishes the movement out of line of sight of all enemy figures. Appendix V Monsters and Terrain Some terrain requires additional instruction when a monster is on or near that terrain. Pit: Monsters always avoid moving into pit spaces. A large monster will move into and through a pit space if it does not end its movement so that all of the spaces it occupies are pit spaces, and so it not affected by the pit spaces. If the heroes manage to force a monster into a pit space, it will spend its next action to move 1 space, placing its figure on the closest empty space that is not a pit space. Elevation: Melee monsters attack heroes across elevation lines, even though they have a disadvantage. If a monster is adjacent to its target and the target is across an elevation, the monster does not move around or away from that hero in order to move into a space that is not across an elevation line - it stops its movement as normal, having moved into an adjacent space. Hazard and Lava: A monster always avoids hazard (and lava) spaces, unless that monster will not suffer damage for entering that space; if a monster has movement points remaining, but cannot move any further toward the target space without moving through hazard terrain, the monster does not move. Water and Sludge: Monsters only move through water and sludge spaces if doing so requires fewer movement points than any other path. A monster avoids sludge whenever possible, but will end its movement in a sludge space when necessary. MAIN RULEBOOK + EXPANSIONS Surging for Stamina Up to ONE (and only one) unused Surge may be used by an attacking hero to recover one fatigue. Monsters cannot use a Surge to recover fatigue. TERRAIN ALL EFFECTS Some spaces on the map have a terrain type as defined by the color-coded line around the space or spaces. These spaces have effects on gameplay as listed below. Sometimes a colored line will surround multiple spaces. All spaces surrounded by a colored line follow the rules for that terrain type. Many map tiles also feature artwork that does not directly affect gameplay. All spaces on a map tile that are not surrounded by a specific colored line as listed here are treated as normal spaces regardless of the artwork. Hazard Any space defined by a yellow line surrounding it is a hazard space. Hazard spaces follow the same rules as lava spaces as described on page 18 of the Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition rulebook. Any effect or ability that applies to lava spaces applies to hazard spaces, and any effect or ability that applies to hazard spaces applies to lava spaces. Lava Lava spaces are defined by a yellow line surrounding them. A figure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage. Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated. Heroes that are defeated in this way place their hero token in the nearest empty space (from where they were defeated) that does not contain lava. A large monster is immediately defeated only if all spaces it occupies are lava spaces. Obstacles Obstacles are defined by a red line surrounding their spaces. These spaces are treated as blocked spaces; they block movement and line of sight. Pit Pit spaces are defined by a green line surrounding them. If a figure enters a space containing a pit, that figure falls into the pit, suffers two damage, and ends its move action. A figure in a pit only has line of sight to adjacent figures, and only adjacent figures have line of sight to a figure in a pit. While in a pit, the only action the figure can perform is a special action to climb out of the pit. After performing one action to climb out of the pit, place the figure in the closest available empty adjacent space of the controlling player’s choice. Figures cannot jump over a pit space. Large monsters are only affected by pits if they end their movement and all spaces they occupy are pit spaces. Water Water spaces are defined by a blue line surrounding them. A space containing water costs two movement points to enter (instead of the normal cost of one). Any figure entering a water space must spend two movement points to enter or it cannot enter that space. When a large monster ends its movement adjacent to a water space, it may freely place its base in the water spaces without suffering any movement penalty. Sludge Any space defined by an orange line surrounding it is a sludge space. Like water spaces, a figure moving into a sludge space must spend 1 additional movement point or it cannot enter that space. Additionally, when a figure starts its turn or activation so that each space it occupies is a sludge space, its Speed is 1 and cannot be increased above 1 until the end of that turn or activation. Elevation Elevation is represented by a dotted red line along the edge of certain spaces. These lines, also known as elevation lines, block movement but not line of sight. A figure cannot move across an elevation line, but it can trace line of sight over one. Adjacent spaces separated by an elevation line are still considered to be adjacent. However, when a figure declares a Melee attack targeting a figure on the opposite side of an elevation line, the target figure adds one additional black defense die to its defense pool. If the attacking figure’s attack has the Reach or Extend keyword, the target does not add the additional black defense die to its defense pool. When determining movement for large monsters, elevation lines block movement. However, when ending or interrupting movement for large monsters, the monster figure may be placed on spaces containing elevation lines, as long as those spaces are empty. For example, a large monster may occupy two empty spaces separated by an elevation line. A figure with the “Fly” ability may move through elevation lines. Note: A figure cannot move diagonally across elevation through a shared corner of an elevation line and a wall (the black edge of a map tile). Portcullis A portcullis is set up similar to doors in a quest and are shown as gray doors in the Shadow of Nerekhall Quest Guide. Figures cannot move through a portcullis, but figures may perform attacks, trace line of sight, and count spaces through a portcullis. Spaces separated by a portcullis are considered to be adjacent. A figure may perform an open or close a door action to open or close one adjacent portcullis. When a figure does this, it is considered to be opening a door. Overgrowth Overgrowth are set up similar to doors in a quest and are shown as green doors in the Labyrinth of Ruin Quest Guide. Figures cannot trace line of sight through overgrowth. Even though adjacent spaces separated by overgrowth are still considered to be adjacent, figures cannot attack through overgrowth. However, figures can move through overgrowth. In addition, when counting spaces for an ability, players can count spaces through overgrowth. Large monsters cannot occupy two spaces that are separated by overgrowth. A figure may perform an open or close a door action to remove one adjacent overgrowth from the map and return it to the game box. When a figure does this, it is considered to be opening a door. Old Wall An old wall is set up similarly to doors in a quest and is shown as a blue rectangle in the Mists of Bilehall Quest Guide. Old walls cannot be opened and closed like doors. Figures cannot trace line of sight or count spaces through an old wall. Spaces separated by an old wall are not adjacent. Crumbling Terrain When placed near an old wall, the tokens may need to be rotated to fit optimally. A space that contains crumbling terrain loses all other terrain types except for obstacles. Each time a hero enters a space that contains crumbling terrain, that hero may test Knowledge or Awareness, his choice. If he fails or chooses to not test, he removes that crumbling terrain token from the map and suffers the effects of the other terrain in that space as normal; if the revealed terrain requires 1 additional movement point to enter, that hero suffers 1 fatigue instead. If a figure is in a space that contains crumbling terrain, other figures cannot enter that space. Note: All info is taken from purchased copies of game materials and not ripped from anywhere LoS & Image Compilation OFFICIAL FAQ PG3 LINE OF SIGHT AND ADJACENT SPACES Q: When tracing line of sight to the corner of a space containing a figure, does the figure occupying the target space block line of sight? A: Yes, if the line passes through any blocked space (a space containing a figure or obstacle) the target space is not in line of sight. This includes the target space itself. Q: Are spaces that are separated by a wall (edge of a map tile) adjacent to each other? A: No, spaces that are separated by a wall (the black edge of a map tile) are not adjacent nor are they in line of sight to each other. Although the two spaces technically share a corner, the wall blocks both movement and line of sight between the two spaces on either side. Q: When counting spaces for skills and abilities, such as the Thief skill “Greedy,” do other figures block the path? How about doors? A: When counting spaces like this, players ignore all other figures on the path. Unless line of sight is specifically stated as a requirement, figures only need to be in range for these skills or abilities to work. However, doors do block this path. A Thief cannot use “Greedy” through a door because he cannot count spaces through the door. Q: Should gaps in a map (areas where there are no tiles) be defined as blocked spaces when considering other rules, such as line of sight? A: Areas between map tiles do not contain any spaces because they are not on map tiles. In addition, the black borders found on the edge of map tiles represent impassable walls that block line of sight, movement, and any path when counting space. UNOFFICIAL FAQ LINE OF SIGHT AND ADJACENT SPACES Q: Line of sight is blocked when it "passes through the edge of a map tile, a door, or a blocked space" or "passes along the edge of a blocked space". Some people argue that it is not explicitly blocked if it passes along the edge of a map tile or a door, even though the topology is almost identical. Are you allowed to fire along a wall, but not past a figure or obstacle? A: You cannot trace line of sight along the edge of a map tile or along the edge of a blocked space. Q: When counting range for an attack, is there any difference between spaces containing figure and obstacle-spaces? Is counting through obstacles forbidden? A: Figures are not considered obstacles by the rules [when counting spaces for attack range or skills], so you could count through those spaces but not through obstacles. [Note: Don't confuse counting spaces with drawing line of sight - Spaces containing figures cannot have line of sight drawn through them per the Line of Sight rules on page 12 of the Rulebook] Q: Do the thick black borders on the outside edges of the tiles prevent line of sight from being traced to/from them, or in the case of single points at corners, through them? Here's the image people are arguing about, wondering whether the north Villager and/or the south Villager have line of sight to the Flesh Moulder: A: It's a yes to both. The wall there is still considered to be a shared corner that line of sight can be traced to, from, and through. Q: Is a large monster adjacent to itself? A: No, a large monster is not adjacent to itself, even though it counts from any of its spaces when referring to things outside of itself (like Search tokens). Q: When a monster/player is in a pit, does it block line of sight of someone who is outside the pit? A: No, this will be reflected in the next errata. Q: Can attacks that "affect" adjacent targets attack an figure on the other side of the overgrowth? For e.g., can Leoric's feat or Blast affect figures on the other side of the overgrowth? Similarly, can attacks that trace spaces (for example, Fire Breath) be traced through overgrowths? A: Blast and Fire Breath can affect targets on the other side of overgrowth. Leoric’s heroic feat cannot affect figures on the other side of overgrowth. The attack needs LOS, which is lost because of the overgrowth. Q: Can a figure on the other side of an overgrowth be "affected" by an attack? For example, can Leoric's feat or Blast affect figures on the other side of an overgrowth? Similarly, can attacks that trace spaces (for example, Fire Breath) be traced through overgrowths? A: Blast and Fire Breath can affect targets on the other side of overgrowth. Leoric’s heroic feat cannot affect figures on the other side of overgrowth. The attack needs LOS, which is lost because of the overgrowth. Q: Can a figure climb out of a pit space across a elevation lines? A: No. Q: If a hero is knocked out adjacent to an elevation line, another figure is in the same space as that hero's hero token, and that hero uses a Stand Up action or is revived, can that hero appear in a space across the elevation line? A: Yes. FULL COMMUNITY RULES LINK by Sadgit
×
×
  • Create New...