Jump to content

Grumbleduke

Members
  • Content Count

    520
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Smuggler in rules answers: arc & line of sight diagrams   
    Not quite. If you go back to this image, the blue line for checking range is measuring from the front hull zone of the CR90 to the front hull zone of the ISD.  Based on the geometry that's going to be the perpendicular from the front-left border of the ISD's hull to the front-right corner of the CR90. And that will go through the ISD's left hull zone.
    By itself that doesn't matter. We'd still measure range to the front hull zone - so the full length of that blue line. But with the extra FAQ ruling because the blue line goes through the left hull zone, the CR90 doesn't have Line of Sight to the ISD's front hull zone.
    The CR90 still has the ISD double-arc'd, with front-to-side and side-to-side shots.
    Yes. That's what it's meant to do. If you're behind a ship you shouldn't be able to shoot the front of it... you're behind it.
  2. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Helias de Nappo in rules answers: arc & line of sight diagrams   
    Not quite. If you go back to this image, the blue line for checking range is measuring from the front hull zone of the CR90 to the front hull zone of the ISD.  Based on the geometry that's going to be the perpendicular from the front-left border of the ISD's hull to the front-right corner of the CR90. And that will go through the ISD's left hull zone.
    By itself that doesn't matter. We'd still measure range to the front hull zone - so the full length of that blue line. But with the extra FAQ ruling because the blue line goes through the left hull zone, the CR90 doesn't have Line of Sight to the ISD's front hull zone.
    The CR90 still has the ISD double-arc'd, with front-to-side and side-to-side shots.
    Yes. That's what it's meant to do. If you're behind a ship you shouldn't be able to shoot the front of it... you're behind it.
  3. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from JgzMan in Aspiration & Projection experts   
    Would Aspiration be able to use a repair command to undo its effect?
    Let's say I use Aspiration to move 2 shields from the rear to the front.
    Then I decide I'm being attacked from behind, so I spend a Repair Token to resolve a Repair Command. I want to spend the 2 points to move the shields back. The second one works fine (by the time I want to add it to the rear hull zone I no longer have any hull zones with more than the maximum shields). But does the first go through, or does it just vanish? This seems to be the same "Move" v "Recover" issue.
    As a pointer, consider Capacitor Failure:
    That treats recovering shields and moving shields as different things. That suggests an intention for them to be different, meaning you could us Projection Experts (and a Repair Command) to move shields on Aspiration. But that's RAIish reasoning.
  4. Thanks
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Cactus in What's in the 2018 OP kits?   
    The rumour is that they won't be out until March - they've been pushed back a quarter, possibly due to the rush to get the latest X-Wing, Wave 7 Armada and Legion done over the winter period.
  5. Haha
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from DrakonLord in Can you stack Seventh Fleet?   
    From the RRG, page 5, "Effect Use and Timing"
    So you can only use the ability once per time you are defending. The ability lets you exhaust "a copy" of the card to reduce the damage by one. So only once per attack.
    Although if you get double-arc'd you'd be able to use a second copy on the second attack.
    ... and Drasnighta beat me to it.
  6. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Quarrel in rules answers: arc & line of sight diagrams   
    It only comes up in pretty weird situations. I think this would be one.
    The CR90 is trying to attack the front hull zone of the ISD with its front hull zone. The CR90 appears to have Line of Sight (yellow dot to yellow dot - no other defender hull zones in the way). It has arc. It has range - measured from the closest point on the ISD's hull zone to the closest point on the CR90's.
    But that range is measured through the ISD's left hull zone. So based on the FAQ, the CR90 doesn't actually have Line of Sight on the ISD's front - so no shot.
  7. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Helias de Nappo in rules answers: arc & line of sight diagrams   
    It only comes up in pretty weird situations. I think this would be one.
    The CR90 is trying to attack the front hull zone of the ISD with its front hull zone. The CR90 appears to have Line of Sight (yellow dot to yellow dot - no other defender hull zones in the way). It has arc. It has range - measured from the closest point on the ISD's hull zone to the closest point on the CR90's.
    But that range is measured through the ISD's left hull zone. So based on the FAQ, the CR90 doesn't actually have Line of Sight on the ISD's front - so no shot.
  8. Thanks
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Mad Cat in Compendium of UK Armada Events 2018   
    IBuyWargames has moved their Q1 Kit event to 14 April from 3 March, so it doesn't clash with the Dark Sphere Regional. Link still works, just the date that's changed.
  9. Haha
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Mundo in European Championships 2018   
    Except that's funded by the EU/EEA - and is an EU project.
    Now if the EU were funding/running the European Championships, sure. But sadly I don't think the EU Government is that interested in miniature table-top games. Hmm. Could it count as part of culture? Maybe there are some EU funds available for it somewhere...
  10. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Democratus in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  11. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Ardaedhel in What will Wave 8 bring?   
    Even though they could be controlled remotely, the Katana Fleet ships still needed crew to keep things running and actually do stuff - but due to the heavy automation and slaved systems, only needed a crew in the region of 2,000 rather than the 16,000 a full dreadnought needed. So somewhere between the 1,000 ish a Neb B needs and the 40,000 on an ISD (just to use the other ships at the Battle for the Katana Fleet).
    Dreadnoughts aren't nearly big enough to take on an ISD; in the Thrawn books 3 Katana-fleet ships can keep an ISD busy with all their ion batteries, but aren't a match overall. To give a sense of scale, the AFMkI is a heavily-modified dreadnought, and the AFMkII a heavily-modified AFMkI. So a dreadnought should be a medium-base ship at most.
  12. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Helias de Nappo in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  13. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Muelmuel in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  14. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Villakarvarousku in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  15. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from GhostofNobodyInParticular in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  16. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from idiewell in Casual: Do you play to MOV or just win/lose?   
    When I get a chance for a game, I tend to just play for the sake of playing - to see what happens. Winning is a nice bonus, MOV is a technicality/curiosity. Mostly I want to have fun pushing around little starships. So outside tournament games (and even then in not-so-serious ones) I'm happy to talk through things, point out alternatives, let opponents take things back and so on if they're Ok with it.
    But maybe I'm in a minority there.
  17. Thanks
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from GhostofNobodyInParticular in What will Wave 8 bring?   
    Even though they could be controlled remotely, the Katana Fleet ships still needed crew to keep things running and actually do stuff - but due to the heavy automation and slaved systems, only needed a crew in the region of 2,000 rather than the 16,000 a full dreadnought needed. So somewhere between the 1,000 ish a Neb B needs and the 40,000 on an ISD (just to use the other ships at the Battle for the Katana Fleet).
    Dreadnoughts aren't nearly big enough to take on an ISD; in the Thrawn books 3 Katana-fleet ships can keep an ISD busy with all their ion batteries, but aren't a match overall. To give a sense of scale, the AFMkI is a heavily-modified dreadnought, and the AFMkII a heavily-modified AFMkI. So a dreadnought should be a medium-base ship at most.
  18. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Alpha17 in What will Wave 8 bring?   
    Even though they could be controlled remotely, the Katana Fleet ships still needed crew to keep things running and actually do stuff - but due to the heavy automation and slaved systems, only needed a crew in the region of 2,000 rather than the 16,000 a full dreadnought needed. So somewhere between the 1,000 ish a Neb B needs and the 40,000 on an ISD (just to use the other ships at the Battle for the Katana Fleet).
    Dreadnoughts aren't nearly big enough to take on an ISD; in the Thrawn books 3 Katana-fleet ships can keep an ISD busy with all their ion batteries, but aren't a match overall. To give a sense of scale, the AFMkI is a heavily-modified dreadnought, and the AFMkII a heavily-modified AFMkI. So a dreadnought should be a medium-base ship at most.
  19. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Odanan in Wave XII release on Dec 7?   
    My FLGS (in the UK) has just announced 7 December for all 5 Expansion Packs. They did seem to be trying to rush them to get them released at the same time, and in time for The Last Jedi.
  20. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from eliteone in ACM, Defensive Tokens, and Total Damage   
    The damage from ACM is done when you resolve the critical effect (as it says to do the damage).
    This happens before you total up the damage, and before brace and redirect defense tokens have their effect.
    Crits are resolved after scatter and evade, at the same time as contain, and before brace and redirect. The only reason the default crit appears to work differently (after brace and redirect) is because it has its effect some time after it is resolved - if/when the first damage card is dealt.
  21. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Palanthas in Countering Avenger's Boarding Troopers. Is it feasible?   
    I ran an ISD-II BTAvenger at UK Nationals this weekend and went 3-2, so it is possible to defeat. Mainly through careful flying and making sure it never gets a good front shot into something big at close range.  I think they only made a difference in 1 of my games, and there more as a threat, forcing my opponent to make a bad decision to stop getting AvengerBT'd.
    The first game I lost was against another BTAvenger but theirs had more defensive upgrades; so I chased after their other ships, but that let their ISD get behind mine, while I could never get into close range of anything big of theirs. I don't think either of us got our Boarding Troopers off in a meaningful way.
    Second game was against a Rebel Cracken MSU list (a bunch of CR90s, and MC30 and some transports); again they were able to stay out of the front arc at close range, so I ended up using my  BTs on a rear arc obstructed shot against a CR90... not really worth the points. I ended up winning 56-54; we both killed two flotillas but theirs had more stuff on.
    Third game was against a Mon Karren, Neb-B and some Hammerheads. Here I was really lucky with the Mon Karren getting two front arc, close range shots off at one of my flotillas with 0 accuracies (after re-rolls) - forcing them to decide between staying double-arced by a Demolisher, coming into close front arc of the BTAvenger, or flying away and doing nothing (they chose the third option). My fleet was then able to mop up the Corvettes and Frigate without needing the BTs.
    4th was an Ackbar Defiance + CR90s. I screwed up and brought the ISD into long range of Defiance once too often, so it went down, but not before it was able to clean up some of the CR90s (again, not really needing the BTs) - and my Demolisher finished off the third CR90 with its final shot, just winning me the game. Again, BTs not much use.
    5th was double MC30s and some transports. Again, the MC30s flew around the ISD; and while I blew up a few transports I made the mistake of trying to chase down a damaged MC30 with my Demolisher, and it didn't end well for me (2nd player).
    -----
    So, yeah... BTs are a lot of points, but you have to fly it well to get off a good shot. It is most useful as a threat; forcing the opponent to fly in ways they don't want to to stay out of arc. I also had a Suppressor in there, which was useless against the MC30s, but did let me kill off the odd flotilla by exhausting their scatters. I don't think I'll be running BTAvenger in the future; I don't think it is worth not having Gunnery Teams. Slicer Tools did cause problems in general, but with Comms Net flotillas nearby and a Veteran Captain on the ISD, there was never any risk of me not getting the BTs off as needed.
  22. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Kendraam in Is there a UK Nats thread?   
    There's something very British about the biggest thread discussing the nationals being the one about breakfast.
    From what I saw there was a good balance of Rebels and Imperials, but a lot of large ships - ISDs and MC80s (the odd Liberty). A couple of lists with 2 large ships. Also a decent range in activations.
  23. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Ginkapo in UK Nationals Breakfast   
    From a Facebook post a couple of weeks ago:
    Given that tickets closed on Monday and they've agreed to open them again (any time now - I still haven't decided whether to get one - I should do that soon) there's a good chance they'll sell 12 more tickets by Friday morning - so maybe 5 rounds.
    If they are doing 5 rounds I really hope they agree to push at least one round to Saturday; 11 and a quarter hours of Armada seems a bit much for one day...
    [The schedule stuff is here.]
    [Apparently some emails went out to people this evening - not sure what that included.]
  24. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from ShoutingMan in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    A while back I tried to put together a flow-chart for attacks, but there was just too much stuff going on to fit in much about how crits, damage and damage cards work. Armada has a lot of rules.
    Defense tokens are declared and spent before crits are resolved - which is important for crits that affect defense tokens.
    Yes. Or even in an attack where the attacker chooses not to resolve a crit at all, despite rolling one (the circumstances are pretty rare, but it can happen - I think I've had it happen once when against a ship with Medical Team).
    This one is quite important as sometimes a crit effect can take out shields. Similarly the damage done by a crit (if it deals damage) is done before the regular damage is applied. A defender might find they've spent a Redirect Defense Token only for a crit (e.g. APT giving a Shield Failure or Projector Misaligned, or ACM) to knock out the shields they were planning to redirect to.
    Further thought: If you are defending with the Devastator title you may even want to spend Defense Tokens knowing they will have no effect on the attack, because you want to burn them.
  25. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    A while back I tried to put together a flow-chart for attacks, but there was just too much stuff going on to fit in much about how crits, damage and damage cards work. Armada has a lot of rules.
    Defense tokens are declared and spent before crits are resolved - which is important for crits that affect defense tokens.
    Yes. Or even in an attack where the attacker chooses not to resolve a crit at all, despite rolling one (the circumstances are pretty rare, but it can happen - I think I've had it happen once when against a ship with Medical Team).
    This one is quite important as sometimes a crit effect can take out shields. Similarly the damage done by a crit (if it deals damage) is done before the regular damage is applied. A defender might find they've spent a Redirect Defense Token only for a crit (e.g. APT giving a Shield Failure or Projector Misaligned, or ACM) to knock out the shields they were planning to redirect to.
    Further thought: If you are defending with the Devastator title you may even want to spend Defense Tokens knowing they will have no effect on the attack, because you want to burn them.
×
×
  • Create New...