Jump to content

Grumbleduke

Members
  • Content Count

    499
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Sad
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from ChavoGuerrero in Isn't anyone else gobsmacked at the price of the new large ships?   
    We understand, more than you know. UK.
  2. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from JJ48 in SSD and the Coolant Discharge Damage Card   
    Yes. Only one attack against a ship, the others can be against squadrons.
    If you are running an SSD you need some way to protect against nasty crits as they can be particularly crippling; either repair commands, upgrades against them (DCO, Lira) or Repair Crews nearby.
  3. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from richarDISNEY in SSD and the Coolant Discharge Damage Card   
    Yes. Only one attack against a ship, the others can be against squadrons.
    If you are running an SSD you need some way to protect against nasty crits as they can be particularly crippling; either repair commands, upgrades against them (DCO, Lira) or Repair Crews nearby.
  4. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Zamalekite in RitR just went Shipping.   
    And it is finally coming out in the UK. Weirdly Asmodee UK hasn't given it a specific release date, but it's in their "stuff coming out next week" booklet.
  5. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Bertie Wooster in Due for a New Rules Reference or FAQ update?   
    When they played it on the stream they had it scoring every other round. Which makes sense, otherwise the whole objective token thing is pointless (apart from for the first round). DTTs is a bit different as the second part is conditional on the first part ("If you do..."), so you have to do the first part first.
    The way to think of it is that it isn't two distinct effects that you resolve in turn, but a single effect you apply for each ship. For each ship you check if it meets either of the conditions and resolve the one that applies - and each ship can meet at most one condition
    Source times from the stream:
    14:14 - Introducing the objective (nothing relevant there), 28:09 - End of Turn 1 (two ships get Objective Tokens), 49:32 - End of Turn 2 (two ships spend Objective Tokens to get Victory Tokens), 1:08:22 - End of Turn 3 (ships get Objective Tokens again), 1:27:30 - End of Turn 4 (ships spend Objective Tokens to get Victory Tokens again). I get that the rule as written is ambiguous, but the intention is clear from the stream, so it's probably best to go with that interpretation.
  6. Sad
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Braddock76ie in RitR just went Shipping.   
    AsmodeeUK didn't include RitR on their "stuff coming out this week" document, so we're probably looking at 3-4 October at the earliest for the UK and Ireland.
  7. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Zamalekite in RitR just went Shipping.   
    AsmodeeUK didn't include RitR on their "stuff coming out this week" document, so we're probably looking at 3-4 October at the earliest for the UK and Ireland.
  8. Thanks
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Mad Cat in Compendium of UK Armada Events - *** 2019 ***   
    That page has been updated: Beanie Games on 9 February at 10am, Common Ground Games on 11 January at 10am.
  9. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from JJ48 in I already broke Surprise Attack with the SSD   
    Let's break down the rules, [large wall of text incoming]. The normal deployment rules:
    So three points, (1) on ordering/timing, (2) saying you place ships one at a time, (3) saying where they have to be. This last one is the important one.
    Surprise Attack has the following rule:
    This has three main parts; (4) flagship gets deployed first, (5) must overlap the station, (6) can extend beyond deployment zone.
    So (4) and (5) are rules to add on top of the normal rules (things you could do normally - in theory - but now have to do). (6) is the explicit qualifier to override normal deployment rule (3). Normally you cannot deploy outside the deployment zone, but Surprise Attack rule point (6) overrides this (following the Golden Rule on cards overriding the rules reference).
    Huge ships have extra rules for deployment:
    The relevant parts are; (7) the ship must touch the edge of the play area, (8) the ship can extend out of the deployment zones, (9) must be in the setup area, (10) cannot be deployed overlapping obstacles.
    So of these (7) and (10) are new restrictions on how a ship can be deployed, (8) removes the default deployment rule point (3), and (9) qualifies that [as an aside, note that the "in the setup area" restriction isn't included in the Surprise Attack rule - so a non-Huge ship could be deployed in Surprise Attack outside the setup area.]
    How does Surprise Attack interact with the Huge ship rules (noting that Surprise Attack will always win if there is a conflict)?
    (5) - must overlap the station - explicitly overrides part of (10) - cannot overlap obstacles. But nothing else is overruled explicitly (none of the other Surprise Attack rules necessarily breaks any of the Huge ship rules).
    So we have a few options:
    You can break the game; there is no way to deploy your Huge Ship, it cannot be deployed, it counts as destroyed, 0-400 loss (unless you have a different flagship) [similar to Fleet Ambush] Surprise Attack point (5) (must overlap the station) not only overrides rule (10) (cannot overlap obstacles) as far as the station goes, but as far as all obstacles go (i.e. it overrides the whole rule). Letting you deploy the huge ship overlapping other obstacles as well. Surprise Attack as a whole implicitly overrides other parts of the huge ship rules; either rule (7) (must touch the edge) or rule (9) (must be in the setup area). I don't like 3, because it is ambiguous as to which of those rules it overrides. If it overrides one, there's no reason it shouldn't override the other. It's also an implied thing - we have to read into the rules.
    I think 2 is a good solution for now. And might be part of the intention. The normal deployment rules don't stop you overlapping obstacles (although it rarely comes up), only the huge ship rules. Surprise Attack may have been written with that in mind, but forgetting about the Huge ship qualifier. Plus the rule is already being overridden, we're just implicitly extending it to cover all obstacles not just the station. But it is still adding stuff to the rules.
    1 is the safe approach (until we get confirmation from FFG); doesn't involve any implied changes to the rules, but does lead to boring games.
    Perhaps the best option is not to choose Surprise Attack if you have an SSD Flagship.
  10. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from benskywalker in A New Age of Battle - Starhawk and Onager Preview   
    I think the brackets and timing are also important.
    While a friendly ship is attacking a ship, if the attack is obstructed by a ship or obstacle, the attacker does not remove a die (even if the attack is also obstructed by a card effect), and may add 1 red die to the attack pool. Part one tells us the timing for this effect. When does it happen? While a friendly ship is attacking a ship.
    Part two tells us the condition. When can this happen? "...if the attack is obstructed by a ship or obstacle." This condition does not cover EWS, Cracken etc.
    Part 3 tells us what the effect is. What happens? The attacker doesn't remove a die.
    Part 4 puts a qualifier on that. It is in brackets (so an aside like this, not the main rule). It tells us that we do this even if some second criteria is met. The key word there is "also." And the placement is important. It isn't "also if the attack is obstructed by a card effect", it is "if the attack is also obstructed by a card effect." It is two ways of being obstructed, not two conditions. The "even if" is also important - it means this is an addition to the main rule, not replacing it. So we still need Part 2 to be true.
    Part 5 then adds a second effect.
    ------------------
    Even if the card text wasn't clear (which it is), the intention would be really clear. If it was meant to cover all obstruction in all circumstances, it would simply need to read "While a friendly ship is attacking a ship, if the attack is obstructed the attacker does not remove a die and may add 1 red die to the attack pool." Which is much, much simpler (and how things like Jaina's Light are worded).
    They've deliberately restricted it to ship or obstacle obstruction in part 2, and explicitly covered the situation where an attack is obstructed by a ship or obstacle and a card effect in part 4. Which means they're not covering when an attack is just obstructed by a card effect.
  11. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Mad Cat in Compendium of UK Armada Events - *** 2019 ***   
    05/10/2019 - Bromley, Warboar Games. 3 rounds, 11am start. https://www.facebook.com/events/553763351830350/
    Tickets here (£10).
  12. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from mcworrell in Article Predictions. Mostly General Discussion. But there's definately some Predictions scattered throughout.   
    Talking of Articles, RitR preview article tomorrow, perhaps?
  13. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from eliteone in Time to name our new pet Starhawk   
    It's already got a nickname: Starhawk.
    It's not like it's got a boring name like an MC30c Torpedo Frigate, or Assault Frigate Mk II B, or Imperial-class II Star Destroyer.
    Starhawk is pretty short on its own - only way to make it shorter is to go down to one syllable; but hawk is already taken.
  14. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Gilarius in Ship attack range (noob question)   
    The easy way to remember is that the "hull zone" is the bit marked out on the cardboard (because that's the bit that is split into zones), but the "ship" includes the plastic. So if anything references the distance to the hull zone it must be the cardboard, but if it talks about measuring to a ship it is to the plastic.
    Then you have the shield dials and the plastic around them - but they only count for overlapping obstacles, ships and squadrons. The rest of the time you can pretend they don't exist. And the ship model itself is just for decoration.
  15. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from AdmiralOldOwlz in Task Force Rules?   
    Depending on the rules you are playing by, you may need to kill flotillas. The flotilla-killing rule is in the Tournament Rules, not in the normal game rules.
    At 400 points it doesn't really matter (because who plays non-tournament style 400-point games), but at 200-points that rule might be a little unfair, as flotillas are a much bigger chunk of the fleet. In RitR or CC games you still need to kill flotillas unless it is house ruled.
  16. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Mad Cat in Task Force Rules?   
    Depending on the rules you are playing by, you may need to kill flotillas. The flotilla-killing rule is in the Tournament Rules, not in the normal game rules.
    At 400 points it doesn't really matter (because who plays non-tournament style 400-point games), but at 200-points that rule might be a little unfair, as flotillas are a much bigger chunk of the fleet. In RitR or CC games you still need to kill flotillas unless it is house ruled.
  17. Haha
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from DScipio in Isn't anyone else gobsmacked at the price of the new large ships?   
    We understand, more than you know. UK.
  18. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Realadmiralsdoitinspace in Isn't anyone else gobsmacked at the price of the new large ships?   
    We understand, more than you know. UK.
  19. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Maturin in Strategic and the new objectives   
    The FAQ addresses this.
     
  20. Haha
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Maturin in Isn't anyone else gobsmacked at the price of the new large ships?   
    We understand, more than you know. UK.
  21. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from idiewell in ONAGER and STARHAWK Upgrade Cards   
    Experimental Retrofits would like a word.
    Maybe one day we'll get the CC-7700; it is canon now.
  22. Thanks
  23. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Zamalekite in ONAGER and STARHAWK Upgrade Cards   
    Experimental Retrofits would like a word.
    Maybe one day we'll get the CC-7700; it is canon now.
  24. Thanks
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from Zamalekite in Rebellion in the Rim cards spoiled!   
    Has anyone seen the rules for overlapping exogorth and purrgil posted, or otherwise know what they are?
    And here they are - thanks to TallGiraffe.
  25. Like
    Grumbleduke got a reaction from LostFleet in The New Expansions   
    According to Leland Chee on Twitter, FFG didn't design the Starhawk. Lucasfilm "had an existing design" (which is presumably code for "has a design ready for something new, perhaps Rise of Skywalker, but can't tell us what") and FFG used that.
×
×
  • Create New...